We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, but service????”
Review of La Scala

La Scala
Reserve with OpenTable
La Scala is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 2,039 Restaurants in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Little Italy
Cross street: S. Central/Exeter
Transit: We offer a complimentary shuttle service to and from all downtown hotels.
Description: Chef owned and operated Italian casual fine dining restaurant located in historic Little Italy. Home of Baltimore's only indoor bocce ball court. We offer a complimentary shuttle to the surrounding area and in walking distance to Harbor East, Inner Harbor and Fells Point.
Elkton, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food, but service????”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We visited this restaurant on Sunday, September 1, 2013. The restaurant is very nice. great atmosphere. We sat on the upper level. It was not a busy night so we figured the service would be great. Since this restaurant and past review boast great Italian atmosphere and food, I figured Italian servers. Wrong. I guess diversity hits everyone. We had a Mexican server. He was pleasant and explained the specials with quite an accent. We waited a while for him to take our order. Then when we finally got served, it was by other people, not our server. It was good that the food was excellent and delicious because no one ever stopped by our table to ask is everything was okay, especially since the entrees were expensive!!! Overall, it was okay, but unless the service is improved based on the price of the entrees, we would probably not return anytime soon,

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    414
    181
    45
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“As good as meals we had in Italy”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We ate at La Scala during a stopover in Baltimore on a return flight from Italy. We had a meal that was every bit as good as the best we had in Italy. The Antipasto Originale was superb, wonderful olives meats and cheeses. The pasta was penne in a very light and fresh-tasting tomato sauce. My wife had grouper in a lemon cream sauce over a bed of spinach. I had a butterflied veal chop in a brown 3-mushroom sauce, both of which were delicious. Dessert was peaches with an amaretto sauce glaze and topped with mascarpone, which I've put in my "recipes to try" file. The service was excellent. The only thing that was better in Italy was the Chianti; the same quality, but quite a bit cheaper.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NW_Happy_Feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cool Place”
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Ate here with a large group while in town for a seminar. Cool Italian theme in a old neighborhood. The calamari for an appetizer was great. Had the filet for dinner it was good as well. If I end up in Baltimore again I will definitely eat here again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank NMStack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exton, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fresh and friendly”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We found this restaurant online while visiting Baltimore. Although we didn't have a reservation we were immediately seated. Our food was delicious and promptly served. The owner checked in with us a few times to see if we were pleased; which we were. Upon leaving we asked the valet to call us a taxi. Instead, we were driven to our hotel by the valet! A great experience with great food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Getsmart12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful night at LA Scala”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband, son, and I enjoyed a delicious meal on their outdoor terrace. The food was great and our waiter, Carlos, was very attentive. I would recommend this restaurant to others while in the Baltimore area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon13131313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Scala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing