We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Dining with Art at your elbow (some gluten free, too)”
Review of Gertrude's

Gertrude's
Reserve with OpenTable
Gertrude's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 2,026 Restaurants in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $80
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: N. Charles St.
Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fine Dining with Art at your elbow (some gluten free, too)”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I dined here for lunch with family and friends, sitting in the outdoor patio. Service was excellent. Food was superb. I had crab quiche and salad, with the Sorbet Sampler for dessert. There were several gluten free options for my wife and daughter: my wife had the crab omelet; apple/rhubard cobbler for dessert. We enjoyed an hour in the art museum before lunch, then another hour after. This place is about ten minutes from Inner Harbor, well worth the visit!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank skionVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    126
    39
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Food/ Atmosphere. and good service but Expensive”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This place was beautiful, right by the museum of art sculpture garden and had outdoor seating. I had the Maryland Style crab cake with the 3 mustard sauce. It was excellent! Perfect blend. I also had a side Caesar salad and that was authentic, with anchovies and it also tasted great. Service is good, but not perfect and also it is a little pricey. However I would return again to Gertrude's.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hughgpauwels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
90 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice location, nice bar, good food, reasonable prices”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Have been here several times when visiting my daughter and I always enjoy this restaurant. The atmosphere is so nice and the service has always been impeccable. You do need a reservation however you can eat at the bar in a pinch. They serve some unique cocktails with infused liquors and unique ingredients that we always try out. The food is very good. They usually have a special crabcake in additional to the regular Maryland cake which is always delicious. They have a nice assortment of meats, fish, poultry and vegetarian dishes. The desserts are always fabulous. Just a very nice restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
252 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Gertrude's”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The charming and delicious restaurant in the Baltimore Museum of Art. Surprisingly large and varied menu. The drinks were excellent (Mimosa) and non-alcoholic rosemary lemon drink. Caesar salad was fine with home made dressing. Cream of crab soup was velvety and luxurious. Crabettes delicious. Desserts also wonderful. Highly recommended. Get a reservation. It's always full it seems!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bcobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cherry hill,nj
Level Contributor
253 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“best museum food”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Get a reservation. Food is inexpensive and very good. Lots of choices. Excellent table service. Gertrude's is always great.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank misty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gertrude's also viewed

 

Been to Gertrude's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing