We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of SoBo Cafe

SoBo Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
SoBo Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 2,007 Restaurants in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: We pride ourselves on preparing our from-scratch menu with fresh seasonal ingredients and a whole lot of flavor. Our cozy, intimate dining room is the perfect setting to enjoy a seasonal dish and a glass of carefully chosen wine or beer. A favorite among neighbors and visitors, we go out of our way to make everyone feel at home. Weather permitting; delight in dining al fresco at one of our outdoor tables. We serve lunch daily, brunch on Saturdays and Sundays, dinner seven days and “SoBo Hour” at the bar and outdoor tables Monday through Friday, 5 pm to 7 pm. We’re a short walk from the stadiums and the inner harbor. SoBo Cafe follows sustainable practices by composting food waste and by recycling glass, metal, plastic & paper products. We look forward to your next visit.
Lebanon, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Food was healthy, fresh and had unique combinations. Fun, trendy atmosphere. Make a reservation so that you can get a table this place is small but that adds to the vitality of the restaurant. This is in a happening location in Baltimore. You could even walk from the Inner Harbor, all be it a healthy walk.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 5yearsSedona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    41
    13
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fallston, Maryland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant Week value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

$20.14 for a three course dinner was a bargain. SoBo has an excellent chef! Appetizers of mussels were plentiful and delicious. The mac and cheese was generous and scrumptious. Grape leaves had the taste of real lamb but were small and only two to a plate. Entrees: excellent salmon on white bean puree and salmon, a thick perfectly done pork chop on shaved brussels sprouts, and a huge juicy burger were all appreciated; chicken pot pie looked like the winner, however! Desserts. Four were offered and we got one of each: butterscotch pudding with delicate home made marshmallows on top was amazing comfort food, flowerless chocolate cake was rich although the pear with it was average, the cheese plate looked lovely and the parsnip cake was reportedly tasty. Service was impeccable and the decor was cheerful. We will definitely go back during Ravens' season--maybe stop for dinner there to let the traffic thin out.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
185 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Excellent food, trendy vibe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Went here for restaurant week just to check it out and we were not disappointed. The food is elegant yet simple and it tasted divine. I got the impression that the menu changes, but if you get the chance to try the stuffed grape leaves, definitely do. It was completely packed and we were lucky that we got there early because they had reservations for every table, so we managed to get a seat at the bar. It's very small and maneuvering is tight - also makes for things to get very loud when the place is full. I'd say if you're going during regular "busy" times, a reservation would be a good idea. Service was prompt and pleasant and we're very likely to return next time we're in the area.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cristal0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owings Mills, Maryland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“So fresh and tasty!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

I love it here...started with the always yummy sangria. They only serve wine, beer, sangria and a few sake drinks. First we had a threesome of hummus, spicy feta and salmon which is served with veggies and the crunchiest cheesy toasts ever! For dinner I chose the pork chop with a sweet potato and veggie pancake with applesauce. Cleaned my plate! My husband had the very popular chicken pot pie and he loved it. The flaky pastry topping was obviously home made and looked great! (their hamburgers are the juiciest!). So warm and friendly here! Make reservations...not many tables and always full!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Oasis in Pubfood land”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Staying in Federal Hill was great and very convenient but the majority of the restaurants around there serve pub food. Which is fine and I don't mind it, but after a while there are so many burgers and fries you want to eat. This place was a great find! Locally sourced food! Fresh! Vegetables! Family run! Had a roasted pepper bisque that was light but somewhat spicy and an heirloom tomato flatbread that was full of flavorful meaty tomatoes. In fact it was so good, we went back the next day for lunch. If you are looking for a little something off the beaten path that has really solid food, go here!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MacAttack67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SoBo Cafe also viewed

 

Been to SoBo Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing