We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent? Yes! Best meal ever? No.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Helmand

The Helmand
Reserve with OpenTable
The Helmand is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 2,006 Restaurants in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Afghani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Mount Vernon
Cross street: Monument
Description: Providing Baltimore with fine Afghan cuisine for over 23 years.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
329 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Excellent? Yes! Best meal ever? No.”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

The restaurant has been amazingly keeping up to the standard of excellence for 20 (?) years. It is highly unlikely that you can get in without a reservation. Most of the praises have been given here. We had a very good meal: two appetizers and a main course, plus one desert for both of us, and it was plenty. Portions are generous. Service is great: listen to what your waiter has to recommend and you will not be disappointed.
Atmosphere is a bit too Vanity Fair-ish: aging grandpas and moms showing off. Constant stream of people entering and exiting, people sizing up other people. It was obvious that this is a certain social mingling place. Relaxed but not chill.
Verdict: although there were no amazing culinary surprises, we had a wonderful meal minus the nosy restaurant visitors.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dmitri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    149
    29
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Once again, still fabulous”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

12/2013- another fantastic meal at the Helmand- Always busy, make reservations- and always fantastic. Went there for my Bday with husband and daughter- great food, great service and still love it. Go there. Just go there.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BaltoGal333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockeysville
Level Contributor
92 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Meals”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

This is my favorite restaurant that I recommend to everyone to try. If you want a gluten-free meal or vegetarian meal, they have excellent choices. The aroma of the place is intoxicating. So glad that this restaurant exists and whenever I am tired out from attending a festival in the Mount Vernon neighborhood, this is where I eat dinner. Save room for the homemade ice cream, it is incredible. They do allow walk-ins but reservations are strongly recommended or go early for dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joyce19561111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent service and excellent food”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

The lamb was very delicious and moist. It did not have any gamey taste to it at all. The service was very good and fast.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank writersblock42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An excellent find that won't dissapoint”
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Stumbled on The Helmand while visiting Baltimore. It was packed which is a good omen. Had a drink at the bar while we waited (didn't have a reservation). No beer on tap but other than that comfortable, lively and fun. Once seated service was prompt and the food was incredible. Plenty of selection for vegetarians but we both went for lamb dishes. The food came maybe a little too quickly but we were never rushed to clear the table. Will return to try different dishes next tim mini town.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank USPhotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Helmand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing