We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious”
Review of The Helmand

The Helmand
Reserve with OpenTable
The Helmand is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 2,016 Restaurants in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Afghani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Mount Vernon
Cross street: Monument
Description: Providing Baltimore with fine Afghan cuisine for over 23 years.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

It had been 15-20 years since we had eaten at The Helmand and now I'm saying what a loss for us. We were 6 for dinner on Sunday, started out half empty and within a half hour it was packed! and we tasted why. the bread starter, appetizers and main meals were delicious and tasted home made... what a treat. My only gripe was that, probably because they were so crowded service tended to be slow and unattentive at times, but they made up for it by the food. Definitely will not be a long interval again before we return.

Helpful?
Thank soma90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    152
    29
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Fun Night Out”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The place is lively and fun, but a tad loud for our tastes, though it was a Saturday night. The pumpkin appetizer is a "must have," sweet and creamy, with just a touch of garlic to keep it from tasting like pie filling. The rest of our meal was very good, and the service was very fast. Turkish coffee.... really strong and very hot... quite good. If you are looking for something different but good, give this place a try!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phroggue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Be adventurous! You won't regret it.”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

The Helmand was recommended to me by a friend who used to live in Baltimore. Never having had Afghani food, I had to try it. Everything was delicious! We took the servers suggestions for the best appetizers and entrees. They were very knowledgable about the menu and the wine list as well. There was a tremendous selection of vegetarian options, which I appreciated. Dinner was so good, we even tried dessert. I would absolutely recommend The Helmand. Even if you aren't familiar with the food, try it!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank momonbusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very good experience”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Would give it 4.4 stars. I've no idea whether the Helmand is authentic Afghan food or not, but the atmosphere in the restaurant is warm and welcoming and the food was wonderful. Very nice spicing, not terribly expensive, decent array of vegetarian as well as meat-based dishes. We talked to a couple of locals who were regulars and singing the restaurant's praises. Takeout was easy, and we returned a second time in our short stay because the first dinner was so flavorful.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sweetwater12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Chef's Dream Come True”
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

As a Chef of almost 30 years I am always seeking out great food. Wow did I ever find it here!

We were in town visiting a college with our daughter and kind of stumbled upon this gem. We each had three courses and were blown away by every dish. The flavors were simply outstanding. It was truly an amazing dining experience.

This was hands down one of the best meals of our lives!

OUTSTANDING!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brett H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Helmand also viewed

 

Been to The Helmand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing