We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good souvlakis, will go again”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Samos Restaurant

Samos Restaurant
Ranked #64 of 2,007 Restaurants in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
142 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good souvlakis, will go again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

We ordered the chicken souvlakis. Very good. The pita is a little on the thick side, but not too thick. Has tsiziki sauce. lettuce, and tomatoes with some nice parsley mixed in. The avgolemono soup was too thick.

Will definitely go again. Other folks had great looking platters with grilled veggies and rice pilaf. Want to try the grilled octopus.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CookWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    66
    15
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
183 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
“Best Greek lunch in Baltimore!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Have been to Samos more times than I can remember over the years. It is not a fancy place, just a comfortable, low key, neighborhood restaurant with unbelievable Greek food. The salads are delicious, topped by their homemade dressing. Keep in mind that the large Greek salad is huge....enough for several to share. The Neptune salad is a personal favorite, topped with grilled shrimp. Salads come with warm pita, so get a side of their tzatziki sauce to dip it in. This is the best tzatziki I have ever had....anywhere...and is my favorite part of the meal! Other wonderful dishes are the shrimp and feta pie, spanakopita, chicken souvlaki, and grilled veggies. The waitresses have worked there for years, and are always nice and very efficient. I appreciate the large cups for drinks, so that you don't have to keep looking for a refill. It gets super busy at lunch, so go early(1130ish), or you will be waiting quite some time. Fridays always seem to be the busiest. I believe they are closed on Sundays for a well deserved rest. If you want excellent Greek food, at a fair price, this is the place!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank InternationalSuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tasty fish and Greek salad”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Restaurant is very clean and foods was tasty and prices are less than you think.

We visited there twice and enjoyed.

Thank you,hope to see you at 2014 too..

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcanum, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun dining experience with a great flavor packed meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

Be prepared to wait on a weekend night, but sooo worth it. Also, bring your own wine, they'll open it for you and you can be enjoying it while you wait. Husband and I shared a combo platter with chicken and gyro meat. We also tried the triple sample spread, great idea. Baklava you have to make room for and Terrific coffee. Service and staff helpful. Patrons are returning neighbors and very friendly. Loved it all.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Flavorful family authentic Greek food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

I was in Jamaica and met someone that recommended this place. She still works there after 20 yrs. even though she has another job because she just loves it there and I can see why. We had a wonderful, delicious meal in a family, neighborhood setting. We had a combo platter that had lamb, chicken, dolmades,roasted veggies, pita bread.The meat was tender and flavored just right. The shrimp feta pie was a nice start. Everything is fresh and authentically prepared. Dolmades were different than I had before, with rice, and was tasty.Nice atmosphere, local gem standard. Everyone knows everyone, expect us, we are from NOVA, but by the time we left, we felt at home. Make sure you bring cash or ATM card, no credit card machines.They also opened up a new chain restaurant Samos ISland Creek, which has different items and that is on the agenda to taste soon. We will be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen-Cascades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samos Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Samos Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing