We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food Not Worth Bad Attitude From Owner and Cost”

Charleston Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Charleston Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 2,025 Restaurants in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $150
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Little Italy
Cross street: Exeter Street (in the Thomson Prometric Building)
Transit: Next to Harbor East Marina, close to water taxi stops.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food Not Worth Bad Attitude From Owner and Cost”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

On May 22, went to the Charleston to celebrate my daughter’s graduation from Johns Hopkins University. We arrived about 15 minutes early for our 6:30 reservation. We waited about 30 minutes, now 6:45, when another graduation party arrived (15 minutes late for their 6:30 reservation) to find out that there wasn't a reservation for the party. They became irate, threatening, and belittled the hostess and maitre d'. Their sense of entitlement was an absolute embarrassment. Since we were waiting so long, we witnessed the entire argument. When the co-owner finally sat our party, 45 minutes later, his only words to us were that the party in question had a woman in a wheelchair so she took precedence over us, despite waiting already 30 minutes to be seated before this graduation party made their entrance. If we were seated within a reasonable amount time upon arriving, we would not have seen the embarrassing tirade and received the insulting excuse for not seating our party. The hostess and maitre d' handled the situation quite well especially given the negative treatment they were subjected to. However, the owner was another matter and should have apologized to us for being subjected to this temper tantrum and for not seating us in a timely manner. So, if you are willing to spend $$$$$ for mistreatment then go to the Charleston for dinner.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Mueller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    549
    76
    30
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
251 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Second time left us wanting”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

This was our second time to Charleston and if left us wanting. The food as always is exquisite. The portions are really sized nicely so that if you order 3, 4, or more courses you are appropriately sated. The wine list is exhaustive, but very pricey compared to market value. What we were mostly disappointed with was the atmosphere. The first time we dined there, it seemed like we were dining in one of the finest places in the world. This time not so much. The tables were so crowded that the servers had trouble negotiating around them. The clientele were loud and dressed like they were at the local burger joint. Just brought the whole experience level down.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank awfountain3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Haven't been this excited about a restaurant in a while!”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

First, we didn't have a reservation but we got seated in 10 minutes! Thank you for accommodating us. Service is outstanding as is the food. An interesting menu as you pick the number of small plates for your meal.....we both picked 4. So between the two of us were 8 different choices and they were all fantastic. The bread offerings were also fantastic. And dessert comes with the meal so no deciding if you want dessert or not. All in all this is one of the best restaurants that we have ever eaten in and we will definitely return. Next time, we will make a reservation as it looked very busy.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
534 reviews
284 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Nah!”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

This is supposed to be the best restaurant in Baltimore. Stop! Not true. We made the mistake of celebrating our big birthdays there, thinking we were in for a treat. It's pretentious alright, being located next to the a Four Seasons Hotel in the Inner Harbor. But whatever you've heard or read about this restaurant was exaggerated. All the sauces in our entrees were too salty. The so-called manager who was circulating around the restaurant did nothing when we complained. We should have sent the dishes to the kitchen. You pay a lot for mediocre cooking. No acknowledgement was made about our birthdays (informed over the phone with the reservation). It seems the staffing in this supposedly upscale restaurant is clearly déclassé. Don't go.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good food, but so expensive.”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

I've eaten in restaurants all over Baltimore and this is not my favorite place. For the cost, it should be far and above all others. Don't get me wrong, it was good. It wasn't perfect, though. One of my courses was far too salty. It was not worth $250 for two people. Not in the slightest.

Honestly, if I had all the money in the world to use for dining out, I would not choose Charleston. Check out one of the other Forman Wolf restaurants (I like Chingale and Petit Louis better than Charleston). You might also choose something in Little Italy (La Tavola is my favorite) or try Woodberry Kitchen. You'll spend less than half as much at all of those choices.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charleston Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Charleston Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing