We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As good As It Gets!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charleston Restaurant

Charleston Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Charleston Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 1,999 Restaurants in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $150
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Little Italy
Cross street: Exeter Street (in the Thomson Prometric Building)
Transit: Next to Harbor East Marina, close to water taxi stops.
Parkville, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“As good As It Gets!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Who says you can only get food like this in NYC or Washington DC? Who says you can only get hospitality like this in the south?
I have had the good fortune to have dined in some of the finest restaurants on the east cost as well as in the southern US. Charleston is truly a gem, right here in Baltimore.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DeniseMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    527
    74
    30
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“In a word... exquisite.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

The decor is warm, the light flickering. The staff is knowledgeable and unobtrusive. The real mark of their perfect training is their warmth and genuine concern for your pleasure. It reminds you how essential hospitality is to fine dining.

The food was also perfect-- artfully presented and delicious with a seasoning profile that delighted without being timid, affected or heavy-handed. Do not miss the curried lobster bisque. I could not describe my favorite course. What I will tell you was that 3 courses was the perfect choice for moderate eaters. A 2-course dessert accompanies either option-- some of the surprises along the way that I will not spoil for you.
It was the sort of meal that created indelible memories among friends-- made you laugh a little more, maybe love them a little more if that's possible... I will return as soon as I can. Thank you Lyn and Louisa. Thank you Chef.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Still the Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

We think Charleston is the best restaurant in Baltimore AND Washington DC. It is that good. The service is superb without being stuffy like you might find in some Michelin 3 star restaurants. The food is wonderful. We can order anything on the menu and be totally happy. The wine list at 20+ pages is somewhat over powering, but it is complete to say the least. The sommelier was very helpful and spot on. What we call the "wine room" is a great place to dine, but we will take any table in Cindy Wolf's outstanding restaurant.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike71md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Exceptional!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Charleston is simply one of the finest restaurants in the country. The location, ambiance, wine selection and service are all exceptional, but the food is exquisite. Decide how hungry you are, choose the number of courses you want and if you have special dietary concerns leave your selections to the chef, and you’ll be very happy. Everything is exceptional but I especially enjoyed the Foie Gras I adored this restaurant when I lived in Maryland and still love it when I visit Baltimore.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank flyingcolonel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Oh my ... heaven for foodies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

I went with a small group and low expectations. Our resident foodie had done her research and we had a chef's choice ... several courses with a few options for several of the courses. I did not want to eat rich yummy food late at night ... but I did. There was a lobster bisque with lobster in the middle; rockfish, duck; misc vegetables, and a very complete sampler of cute mini-sized dessert items. It is very paced service, so a very nice place to go when you have a lot to talk about!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank rotator101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Charleston Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing