We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch”

Charleston Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Charleston Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 2,016 Restaurants in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $150
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Little Italy
Cross street: Exeter Street (in the Thomson Prometric Building)
Transit: Next to Harbor East Marina, close to water taxi stops.
Sinking Spring, Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top notch”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

It's was amazing. My wife and I each went with the 4 courses but she had trouble finishing the last one because she was so full. We each ordered different dishes and there was zero complaints about all of them. Like everyone else says its pricey and its not an every night out type of place. But its a helluva nice place for your special night out.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kyle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    545
    76
    30
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Phenomenal”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This has to be the premiere dining experience in Baltimore. Yes it is expensive but worth every penny. Outstanding food and service. The wait staff is attentive without being intrusive. Ask the head waiter for recommendations and the sommelier to help pair your dishes with the wine. Formal setting, beautiful decor, flavorful foods using only what's in season, and courteous friendly service. All done without pretentiousness. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DRDELEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
156 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“What a treat!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was an exceptional experience. We did the "four course with wine pairing". The food was fabulous. We did our best to try different meal with different wines so the we maximize our experience. Each meals were full of flavor and I was amaze to taste the freshness - specially in the fresh artichoke soup, Yum! The pairing was perfect with each meal. They took the time to explain to us each wine and why they are paired with the specific food.

I need to mentioned that the service was incredible. At no points, we missed anything. Pulling chairs, refresh the napkins, water glasses were always full and to our surprise, better each customers, they changed the table cloth and even ironed it on the spot for a prestine table!

We even got the opportunity to meet the Chef Cindy Wolf. She stopped by our table to make sure we were enjoying our evening. What a treat!

It is fancy, a bit pricey as you can imagine for a restaurant of this class but so well worth it! have to go at least once in your life!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore, md
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Charleston in Baltimore..the north wins again”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

If this is heaven then give me a knife to fall on..i am on the way. What an amazing experience Saturday night. The food was outstanding, the service is as good as anywhere in the world and what was so special, what made the experience memorable was that the staff called me by my name. The restaurant differentiated itself from so many fine ding restaurants by allowing the staff to address me as Mr E... and my wife as Mrs E... even though they didn't know us. Its more common for a maitre'd, but when the servers do it, it adds a level of the restaurants desire to succeed at making my experience special. AND THE FOOD WAS GREAT!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zweigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of My Top 5 Restaurants”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Charleston is a fabulous restaurant. It's expensive, but at the end of the night, you feel it was worth it, unlike so many other $$$/$$$$ restaurants. The décor is rich yet comfortable, and the food is amazing. We got the prix fixe last time, and every course was moan-worthy. And it has my favorite service of any restaurant. The waiters are super knowledgeable and attentive, with a certain level of formality, but are also friendly and comfortable--not always the easiest combination to achieve but exactly what any diner wants.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LynnWinMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charleston Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Charleston Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing