We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, excellent ambiance” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Creme - CLOSED

Creme
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Centre Street
Wallace, North Carolina
Level Contributor
191 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Went to Creme last weekend w/ my family. It is located in Mt. Vernon area, in the space previously occupied by Ixia. The atmosphere and decor are still very impressive. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food. We had the short ribs, lamb, crab cakes, and flat iron steak, all were cooked to perfection and all were very well presented. My son had the shrimp and grits, while everyone else had various salads. All were fresh and extremely well done, the appetizer and salads are quite large, so think about sharing them. We didn't have dessert, as we were too full. It is important to note that we dined late in the evening (8:45 pm) so we were the only patrons, but never felt rushed. All in all, a delightful meal.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hyeykysy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    3
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
176 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Historic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

bar, restaurant on Charles Street in Mt. Vernon district. Stopped for happy hour and had some great appetizers plus good, reasonable wine. Would return.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank SadieMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Talk about good! My husband and I just happened upon this location while in town overnight for an event. We both had the roasted chicken and are still talking about it! The atmosphere was very nice and relaxing. Service was sufficient and the waiter was very friendly. We would certainly recommend and can't wait to return. A great find!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jaytam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely find in Mt. Vernon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stopped in after shopping at a used book store across the street and wanted a glass of wine for Happy Hour. The place was quiet (mid-week) but lovely and elegant, nice on a hot afternoon. We ended up having dessert with our wines and it was a housemade coconut cake with berries and heavenly cream...scrumptious! There was jazz that evening but we were too tired to return after a day at the Inner Harbor. Will try a real meal there later!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gracenote77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of THE best in Mt Vernon and Baltimore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Just ate here once and shared with my wife. I had the shrimp and grits. She had the roasted chicken. Mine was really good with a generous heap of grits and shrimp and diced veggies with an étouffée type moat surrounding everything. Very buttery, flavorful and filling.

Spouse's chicken was even better! It was a half chicken done to fall off the bone perfection. Tasted just wonderful! Came with rice and buttery sautéed veggies. A great dish!

Corn bread is served and was very yummy. Jazz is played some nights too! Good service.

Folks this place is really worth checking out. I travel to Baltimore occasionally and will be back when I can. Only bad thing is I think they're only open Wednesday through Sunday.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank zzrsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing