We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was the worst of time, it was the best of times!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pabu - CLOSED

Pabu
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: The Charm City Circulator has a stop for the Orange and Green lines located 1 block away from the restaurant entrance.
Description: In the cool, casual tradition of Japanese pubs, or izakayas, PABU offers sushi, robata and small-plate menus complemented by more than 100 premium sake selections and a wide variety of wines, cocktails and Asian beers. Kick back in the lounge with sake hand-picked by the restaurant's master sommelier or savor fresh sushi infused with local ingredients beneath the dining room's bamboo ceilings ~ located adjacent to Four Seasons Hotel Baltimore in the city's lively Harbor East neighborhood.
Annapolis, MD
Level Contributor
122 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“It was the worst of time, it was the best of times!”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

What a shock to find out the evening I finally got around to visit Pabu to have the waiter announce it was closing night for this Japanese restaurant associated with the Baltimore Four Seasons Hotel. Consequently it really didn't matter how our meal went, we would not be coming back! And indeed the meal was excellent, the service was perfect, the cocktails tasty and unique.... Darn, is all I can say. There' another Pabu I hear in San Francisco, but that's a bit of a commute from Annapolis, MD.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    16
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I'd definitely eat here again next trip to Baltimore”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

No regrets coming here for dinner. Service was excellent, sake list impressive, and the food was very, very impressive. The selection of 5 skewers on garlic rice is a must have. We didn't go for the tasting menu but ordered that, and several items from the ala carte menu. Pork ribs were delicious. Ramen bowl was pretty good too. And the pricing is pretty reasonable. All in all, a great meal, and the best we had on this visit to Baltimore.

The only problem was when I initially tried to book a table on opentable, it showed no availability for the next 8 weeks! Luckily I decided to try booking via our hotel at Four Seasons, which is just next door.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WKH68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“View and service Great”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Group of 9 going out for dinner. Valet parking $8.00 great for the area. Service was great from the beginning to end. We went with recommended cocktails ; Mr Miyagi, Cobra Ki, and few more that impressed the whole group. Small plates were really small:), spicy wings and ribs were a hit as well as the steak large plate and ken's roll. Chesapeake small plate was excellent. Great place to talk and chill with friends. We missed the wow factor on the salad and small plates. kitchen closed at 10pm and bar at 11pm, so not a late late place to be if you are hungry.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Piragua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pabu'tastic Night in Harbor East”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Wanted some great Japanese food and decided to have dinner at Pabu on The Wine'tastic Mile of Baltimore. The restaurant had some awesome reviews. Started with some seaweed salad and Pubu Wings. They were excellent. Didn't do wine but enjoyed Japanese beer and saki. The rainbow roll and California roll were delicious. My wife and I also split the Steakidon. Again everything was on point. The service and atmosphere was top-notch. Next time in Baltimore will try another one of the top restaurants in Harbor East. This is indeed the trendy restaurant area of the city.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Franklin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bluefin ahi tuna! The Brussell sprouts are amazing!”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

This resaurant has everything I love, ahi bluefin tuna, sushi, sashimi, and brussell sprouts! The service was the best, the manager is cute, We loved the experience of Pabu.
We drink wine and the wine offerings are good. If you love sushi and Japanese food then this is the place for you, but if you want steak then you wont be as happy. I cant wait to go back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yummmmmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing