We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice Stay for a Great Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor
Ranked #10 of 61 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Robbinsville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice Stay for a Great Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My friend and I stayed here from April 6-8 for a girl's getaway trip. The hotel staff was very friendly - the front desk staff was cheerful, helpful and accommodated us staying on a higher floor. We stayed on the 5th floor and the noise was minimal. We did hear other doors closing on the floor and once I heard fire truck sirens in the middle of the night. Our view was of an abandoned building, not the best, but we weren't in the room long enough to care much or notice. Valet did take a while, but not a terrible wait, maybe 20 mins each time. The only disruption we had to our stay was the lobby was being worked on while we were there, and we had to pass through the construction to get to breakfast. At one point the paint fumes were so strong, we had to hold our breath while using the public restroom! The work was supposed to be completed by the time we arrived but apparently they weren't finished. However, work didn't go on during the weekend so it was just for the morning that it was an issue. The breakfast was good, and the staff there was very attentive. Overall, the room was clean, the location was great. And even though on Saturday night there were police cars stationed at every corner from the Inner Harbor to the hotel, there was a helicopter with a search light on, and the valet said 'Oh yeah, this happens every Saturday night, welcome to Baltimore, I liked the hotel and would stay here again.

Room Tip: I would wait to stay here again until the lobby work is completed; the paint fumes were strong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunflwer711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnerHarbor, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Sunflwer711,

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites Inner-Harbor on your recent trip to the Baltimore area.

After reading your comments regarding your time with us, I wanted to apologize that the lobby upgrades impacted your stay. We look forward to having you back once the refresh is completed.

We will use your feedback to improve our overall level of service and ensure current and future guests experience the best possible accommodations when choosing our property and Baltimore.

Thank you for your business, and taking the time to provide feedback on your stay.

Please feel free to reach out to me directly for any future reservation needs.

Best Regards,
Ryan Urgo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    281
    98
    35
    12
See reviews for
291
206
31
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Had a great stay. Family enjoyed it. The room was a nice size. It was updated and very clean. The staff was very helpful. Breakfast was ok. It's very close to many attractions, so once you park you don't have to move your car again. The Lobby is in the middle of being renovated, nevertheless it was still clean and not a major eyesore. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnerHarbor, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites Inner-Harbor on your recent trip to the Baltimore area.

We are glad you had a great stay and your family enjoyed their visit.

We look forward to completing our refresh and welcoming you back.

Please reach out to me directly if I can be of service.

Best Regards,

Ryan Urgo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Clean room and good price for a family of 6. We were walking distance to the inner harbor and the hotel staff was very friendly. Had a good internet connection in the room and very good breakfast every morning. Good value for the money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnerHarbor, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
We are thrilled you had a great stay and your family enjoyed their visit here with us in Baltimore, and appreciate the opportunity to serve you.

There are many wonderful attractions within walking distance, and we are glad you had the opportunity to enjoy them.

Please reach out to me directly if I can be of service.

Best Regards,

Ryan Urgo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Very spacious king room, with small fridge and microwave. Staff very friendly. Instead of paying a higher rate to eat with all the tourists on the harbor, eat in the Gallery Mall food court across from harbor on Pratt street, and you can save money and have a good view.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weezee42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnerHarbor, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear weezee42,

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites Inner-Harbor on your recent trip to Baltimore. After reading your comments, I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and team.

We feel as if our Hotel is in a wonderful historical property in a great location with a responsive staff.

I will share you positive comments about the hotel.

Please feel free to reach out to me directly for any future reservation needs.

Yours in Hospitality,

Ryan Urgo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I recently stayed at the Hampton Inn Baltimore Inner Harbor pre-cruise. The hotel is in a great location, only 2 blocks from Inner Harbor. The walk was easy and not too congested.
The main disadvantage is parking - there is none, and valet is $31 per day! That being said, valet service was very fast.
The hotel itself is very clean. They were refurbishing the lobby, but this was not a problem, nor did it cause any trouble.
The building is old, perhaps an old bank or something. The rooms were spacious enough, and extremely clean. Front desk service was excellent. The bathrooms were very large.
The morning breakfast was ok, nothing special. Typical Hampton Inn fare.
Overall, a great stay that was clean, efficient and great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PSBChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnerHarbor, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear PSBChris,

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites Inner-Harbor on your recent trip to Baltimore.

After reading your comments, I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed our service, location and historical charm. The valet team works hard to provide service and convenience.

Our building was built in 1906 as the United States Fidelity & Guarantee Building, and opened as a Hampton Inn & Suites in 2004.

I will share your positive comments with the team.

Please feel free to reach out to me directly for any future reservation needs.

Yours in Hospitality,

Ryan Urgo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn, ny
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights over the past week. Picked this hotel as it was relatively affordable (Baltimore hotels seem to be expensive) and close to the Inner Harbor. The location certainly was great, it was only a 2 block walk to the Harbor and there are many, many drinking and dining options located within a short walk of the hotel. It is also one block away from bus stop for Circulator Purple Line (Circulator is a free bus that will take you all througout the areas in Baltimore that are worth visiting).
Hotel is currently undergoing renovations and when we first arrived at hotel entrance, we could not even enter hotel as there were ladders and scaffolding blocking the entrance and we had to wait a few minutes for the workers to move equipment so that we could enter. It looks like lobby of hotel has a large sitting room but it was closed off during our stay due to renovation work. Our 2 queen bed room was very large with a flat screen tv, microwave and fridge. Unfortunately, the room and furniture were also worn. Bed not comfortable as mattresses clearly need to be replaced, sofa not comfortable as sofa was very soft and also needs to be replaced. Carpet in room appeared worn and old, there were also some stains in bathtub that appeared to be result of wear and tear. Also, many of the channels on the TV were analog rather than digital and the analog stations had poor reception.
Hotel has a small indoor pool which we did not use, also has small fitness center we did not use. Hotel offers your standard free Hampton Inn breakfast with hot eggs, one hot meat, and hot breakfast potatoes, as well as pastries, waffle station, cereal, yogurt, etc. Breakfast room was very, very crowded on the 2 occassions where we ate at the hotel and we had to wait a few minutes before we were able to sit down.
If your main priority is proximity to Inner Harbor at a relatively affordable price and you're not picky about where you stay, you'll be fine here. I do believe that when we return to the area, we will pick another downtown Baltimore hotel as there are alot of hotel options at or near Inner Harbor.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronnoc30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnerHarbor, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear ronnoc30,

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize that you were not completely satisfied with your experience here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor.

Your satisfaction is very important to us, and we strive to ensure that all of our guests enjoy an exceptional stay. I will share both your positive comments about the hotel and thoughts about the service.

We appreciate your feedback regarding our facilities and will continue to make improvements. Our goal is to exceed expectations for each guest that chooses to stay with us.

I hope that you will consider us the next time you are visiting Baltimore. Please reach out to me directly if I can be of service.

Yours in hospitality,

Ryan Urgo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed 2 nights over spring break (March, 2013). The pros...nice staff (even the worker carrying a plunger looked happy), good free breakfast including waffles, eggs, sausage, cereal, pastries, yogurt. Good location just 2 blocks up from the harbor across from Marriott Springhill suites. This is a safe quick walk. There is lots of traffic on the streets of Baltimore's inner harbor but it felt very safe because of the electronic signs indicating when it was safe to cross. There is security and police everywhere. Almost made me wonder why so many? There are free buses that travel all over the city (different lines) called The Charm City Circulator. Parking is expensive so it's a great way to travel til about 7pm. They were clean and nice. There is a map of where the bus routes go at the visitors center next to the Maryland Science Center. Fort McHenry was cheap.. 7 dollars for adults, kids free. It was cool to walk around. The Constellation ship was also cool to see. The Power plant live was quiet when we were there because it was cold but it looked like a fun place to hang out.

The cons....There are spots in the city where it didn't seem so safe but close to the inner harbor felt very safe. We saw panhandlers all over but they kept moving and didn't bother anyone. The hotel lobby was under construction so there was dust in the air. There was a lot of noise all day long. It was amusing to see water pouring out of the light fixture one morning. Perhaps a new water feature in the lobby? The hotel made the best of dealing with the construction and set up the lower level conference room for breakfast/lounge. Valet parking was expensive at $32 but it's expensive everywhere and I don't think I would want to walk too far away from hotel with all of our bags. This hotel was fine, not great. Would not pay more than $130 to stay here.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 3kidstogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnerHarbor, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear 3kidstogo,

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize that you were not completely satisfied with your experience here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor.

Your satisfaction is very important to us, and we strive to ensure that all of our guests enjoy an exceptional stay. I will share both your positive comments about the service and thoughts about the hotel.

We appreciate your feedback regarding our facilities and will continue to make improvements. Our goal is to exceed expectations for each guest that chooses to stay with us. The new lobby provides a wonderful setting for breakfast and really enhances the hotel.

I hope that you will consider us the next time you are visiting Baltimore. Please reach out to me directly if I can be of service.

Yours in hospitality,

Ryan Urgo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Inner Harbor
Brookshire Suites Inner Harbor
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Regency Baltimore Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor
Address: 131 E Redwood St, Baltimore, MD 21202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#10 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#15 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor Hotel Baltimore
Hampton Inn And Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor
Baltimore Harbor
Hampton Inn Baltimore
Baltimore Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing