We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really Fun!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bengie's Drive-In Theatre

Bengie's Drive-In Theatre
Ranked #8 of 23 Fun & Games in Baltimore
Attraction details
Baltimore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Really Fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is such an awesome place! Great atmosphere and just an all around good time. The food was good and prices were reasonable. I only wish they'd get rid of the "game machines" they have that tempt little eyes to want to spend time at the machines instead of watching the movies. It had an "old time-classic" feel to it and it was just PERFECT. We will continue to go back!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank beach_fever_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    7
    3
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Outdoor movie.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Another good activity for family. I very busy location so get there early. They follow you to bring your own food for a fee, which I think is nice.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tayuh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham
Level Contributor
133 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great night out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We wanted to experience the great American drive in tradition and were not disappointed. Bengie's is easy to find especially as pretty much everyone has Satnav or Google maps these days and you cant miss the huge sign by the turn for the entrance the staff were extremely courteous and allowed us to park wherever we wanted but suggested their favourite place to us. Yes there are rules which are reiterated but it is amazing how many stupid people still choose to ignore them, so maybe they do need repeating!
The food at the concession stand was varied and no more expensive than major cinema chains.
There were 3 movies including the recently released Gravity and all for $9 per person and you can get out and walk around or bring you own seats and sit in front of your car.
Bengie's fully lived up to our expectation and we will be back.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“what happened to the good ol days ?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

I been to drive -ins since the 60's an yeah things change an you must roll with um , but too many rules can ruin a classic moment in your love life with guards walking though .Its still a very nice place , but must tell you ....BRING A RADIO with you ! You don't wanna drain your battery . Its not like the old days when they had speakers . Don't be loud or they will toss you out . If you have a pick up truck , park backwards an watch the movie with folding chairs in the bed ! Bring your own drinks an foods an snacks to save $$.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great movie theatre but signage reminded me of elementary school”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

This movie theatre really reminded me of those you hear about from the 50's. it was fun and relatively inexpensive but the 3-movie lineup wasn't all that great. The first movie had no cursing and was a children movie (despicable me 2), while the following 2 movies had obscenity which i found was not a good combination of movies because there should be some kind of consistency. This is the perfect place for a date night though since it was much easier to hear the sound of the movie when seated in the car as opposed to sitting on beach chairs outside. It would be nice and cosy sitting in the front seats of the car and viewing the movie through the front screen of the car. You have to bring your own fold-up chairs and you have the option of bringing your own food but you must have a permit to bring your own food. I think that the permit costed 10 dollars but with that permit you can bring in how much food you want. There is food selling at the concession area but I don't know about the prices since I didn't check it out. The signs about warning people not to walk here and there was as if people are little children and I thought that was unnecessary. I felt that the language used for the signs could have been a little less harsh and maybe with less exclamation marks so that people would not interpret that as shouting. The commentator who spoke before (and during the movies sometimes) was very annoying. I didn't like that the movies went into early morning (3am) but I guess that was the point of it. It was a great experience that the commercials were very original and had a fifties feel because it gave you a vintage experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbutterfly897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bengie's Drive-In Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Bengie's Drive-In Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing