We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating”

Baltimore Civil War Museum
Ranked #80 of 226 things to do in Baltimore
Attraction details
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

This little museum is very tightly focussed on the Baltimore Riots and has done amazing work in evoking Baltimore-of-the-time with information boards and a very few interactive displays.

It was an absolute treat to find and did a much better job at connecting me with a past-event than many larger and more well-funded museums.

Kudos.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirsten R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    14
    8
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
86 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Baltimore riots”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

If you read Civil War history you should check this out. Not excellent, but puts you at the scene. Friendly staff helps with all info.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank WacoWoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stumbled upon this museum while walking to Fells Point and it was the highlight of the day. Small but interesting displays with great information. It was originally a rail road station and has a lot of history. Abe Lincoln walked in this station. It played a big part in the Underground Railroad (read the stories of some of the more unusual escapes through here). If Robert is there, be sure to take the time to talk with him. He related fascinating stories to us about the station and the history of Baltimore. What we thought would be a quick stop, turned into an hour's stay. Excellent little museum.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank divinganddogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Republic, MD
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice Place for Learning about Maryland's Stand in the War”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We were across the street and notice that the Baltimore Civil War Museum was there. The family went in, and to our surprise there was no admission (donation box was on counter, no pressure to give). Inside had many touch and see items, very interesting facts on the Mason Dixon Line and some touch items. The clerk was very helpful in answering questions, and gave us any information we wanted. Please visit this if your in town.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie3668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottsville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
107 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not Worth the Time”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

I was very disappointed in this museum. It is extremely small and has very few artifacts and interactive displays that are quite rudimentary. You can do the museum in a half hour but it isn't worth it. The woman on duty told me and another customer she'd be back and then went outside to talk on her cell phone, leaving the museum and gift shop unattended. The Maryland Historical Society on Monument Street has a Civil War section which absolutely overwhelms this.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RJN612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baltimore Civil War Museum also viewed

 

Been to Baltimore Civil War Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing