We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Substitutions!!”
Review of Phillips Seafood

Phillips Seafood
Reserve with OpenTable
Phillips Seafood is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #38 of 2,039 Restaurants in Baltimore
Price range: $12 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Pratt & Market Streets
Description: Classic Casual Dining: Phillips' new Baltimore location is an exciting and easy blend of vintage and modern, with a nod to the longstanding tradition of Phillips restaurants. Phillips at the Power Plant sits directly on the water, just a few steps away from the old Light Street Pavilion location, in the iconic renovated Power Plant industrial building. The innovative redesign of the interior by Carl Myers and Marcie DeLaRosa shows off gleaming, rich woods and jewel toned stained glass fixtures, distressed finishes and antiqued mirrors juxtaposed with a modern, open kitchen.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“No Substitutions!!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Our waitress was pleasant. The only issue that we had was that you couldn't subsitute anything. For example: I got the fried seafood platter it came with fried shrimp, crabcake and fish of the day. The fine print read as 'salmon, haddock, or flounder'. I asked the waitress for salmon. She said tonight " it is flounder, no subtsitutions, it slows down the kitchen". My father in law got the boiled seafood platter, he ask for fried oysters with it. Of course the response from our waitress was 'no substitutions'. My mother in law got the crab salad, there was flakes of crab meat not very much at all. My husband got the pork chop, it was terrible. Our children were happy with their cheese pizzas. I was disappointed very little effort to make us happy was made on the behalf of our waitress. The food was good, pricey considering we could NOT change or alter any of our selections. Just keep in mind when ordering - you get whats on the menu...no substitutions!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mamaof4littleones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    673
    737
    453
    165
    103
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brick, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“OK, pricey for the food quantity”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Went on a Saturday afternoon. Had an hour wait and they sit us outside in 95 degree weather. We were too hungry to wait longer for an indoor table. Service was the best part. Waiter was on top of us and got us everything we wanted. All entrees were about $30 for 2 small crabcakes. The broiled seafood platter gives you an even samller crabcake (just alight), 2 small pieces of fish, and 2 shrimp and 2 scallops. I was expecting to take some home as I am not a big eater, but was able to eat the whole thing. 5 people no booze=$200 for lunch! and one was a child who had a cheeseburger from the kids menu. Should of ate at Fell's Point. Had my first raw oyster which I did like however.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jersey1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holt, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great outdoor seating”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

After being inside all day for work, we were glad to sit outside, despite the heat. The service was great, the people watching was fun, and the conversation was nice. The food? Excellent! We dined with a world traveler and he much enjoyed the oysters and the broiled softshell crab. The rest of us had the mini crab cakes (better price per crab than the entree or the larger appetizer option) and all of us liked it. The salads were large and the sauteed spinach was very tasty. For drinks, I recommend the house-made sangria. It was refreshing on a very hot day.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicolle Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County - PA
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

My wife and daughter went here after a day touring the inner harbor. We were not impressed - the food was over priced for the quality. Not good taste for $30 entrees - the local Italian places by me make better calamari. I knew from reading the reviews we should have stayed away, but our daughter was hungry and this was easy.

Just very bland and expensive - we wouldn't recommend this place, nor return.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bunch91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OH
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good, but pricey.”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I started with the crab cakes, which were absolutely delicious. We also enjoyed the bucket of seafood and steak (which we all shared). Nice place, but a tad pricey.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank OPELorain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phillips Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Phillips Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing