We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Beer Selection” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Liam Flynn's Ale House

Liam Flynn's Ale House
Reserve with OpenTable
Liam Flynn's Ale House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,108 of 1,999 Restaurants in Baltimore
Cuisines: Bar, Irish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Beer Selection”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Located in a rather dicey area, this bar has a pretty extensive beer list, which is really the only reason I go here. There isn't really much happening otherwise. Staff is friendly and attentive.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Meredith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    5
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Irish Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Go to this pub for the true Irish experience. Great drinks and the bartender was very friendly. I wish I could be there on St. Patricks Day.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikkis67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
254 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Mmmmm.... cider.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Doug's review is really spot on, but this place is too tasty to only have one review, so here goes another. Being a cider drinker, I haven't found any spots in Baltimore better than Flynn's. They have Crispin on tap and then at least a dozen others in bottles including my personal favorite Angry Orchard. Beyond the drinks, you have to respect what Liam is bringing to the community. In addition to the Irish music he has had a variety of interesting events like a night of poetry readings and traditional Scottish food (i.e. haggis) on Robbie Burns' Day. His support of the community is also very apparent in that you can get a natty boh for 1 B Note (the Baltimore currency that's designed to support local businesses). Regarding the issue of parking, I've learned that your best (and safest) bets are anywhere on North Ave between Charles and Howard, in the garage on Charles Street across from the Charles Theater (although I think the lot closes at midnight so just be aware of that), or on Charles Street between Falls Road and North Ave.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle River, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Cask Ale and Irish Music!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

My nephew, Phil told me about a new place called Liam Flynn's Ale House, start up by the same guy he knew from a cool place called the Pint Sized Pub. I checked it out with friends, the wifey, and of course my nephew and his wife, and it's become my favorite American pub! The location in the Station North redevelopment area can be a bit off-putting to some, being that North Avenue has been far from a destination for a long, long time! However, in all of the time I've been there (most of which I parked in my free secret parking spot!) I've never run into any trouble at all.

Liam Flynn's is a good sized place with a very good selection of draught and bottled beers and ciders, and best of all TWO cask ales, which are always flowing... unlike many places with multiple casks, Liam's always seem to have cask ale in them!!! The atmosphere is nice and relaxing, and pretty eclectic. The Maryland Institute College of Art is right around the corner, so a good number of the "regulars" are the artsy types rather than your everyday rotting-on-his/her-barstool types. The staff are always friendly and helpful, and quite efficient to boot!

Liam's has become increasingly involved in supporting and serving as a venue for local activities, including - I am VERY pleased to say - Irish traditional music! They host music sessions every Wednesday evening, recently began the site for a series of Irish Set Dance lessons on Thursdays, and were one of the main venues for the first (and excellent) Baltimore Irish Trad Fest. Cask ale and Irish music... that's 5 stars in my book right there!

One thing to be wary of is that, as of this review, Liam's only has some chips and very light snacks, and does not offer food service. They are, however, extremely accommodating of patrons that bring food with them whether from a local place or elsewhere. One other very positive note-- prices are very good. A cask ale at Liam's is nearly half the cost of numerous other places! Give Liam Flynn's Ale House a try... my bet is you'll like it!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psmcdoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Liam Flynn's Ale House also viewed

 

Been to Liam Flynn's Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing