We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Spartan” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mt. Washington Conference Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mt. Washington Conference Center
Ranked #42 of 65 Hotels in Baltimore
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
361 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Spartan”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

This picturesque setting offers spartan comforts that reflect the institutional management. Our bathroom is not even pretending to be clean, furnishing in the college residence style room is broken, and don't even dream of eating here, food is processed and pre packaged. Nostalgic of college dorm days.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank sola123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    32
    25
    7
    8
See reviews for
36
14
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Great, low cost alternative if you're visiting Johns Hopkins University. At $89 to $119/night, this is a great value for a hotel. While the rooms are somewhat spartan (and probably needs an update) my double bed room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. It included a flat screen TV (most of the channels were analog though), a refrigerator and a large work space. The shower / bath was also larger than normal.

The hotel/conference staff were very friendly. During my one night stay the hotel wasn't that crowded. They also provide a free shuttle to Johns Hopkins Univ, which is about 15 minutes away.

Room Tip: all the rooms should be very quiet. no street noise whatsoever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChooChoo4427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

I recently stayed here for a couple of nights during a visit to Baltimore. The staff (when I did interact with them) were very courteous and helpful, but the facilities on the whole needs an upgrade. Don't get me wrong: the conference center is useful, the rooms neat, the beds comfortable, and the bathrooms are clean. However, the whole place feels in need of sprucing up. I did notice that some of the carpet was going to be replaced in the conference center as a whole - but the rooms could use it as well. The furnishings have a "Contemporary 1980s" feel to them. Again, all very neat. But the place could use a much-needed facelift.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Don't let the reviews scare you off! My husband and I stayed here for two nights while bringing our son back to college. This hotel is off of the beaten path and offers no frills but it was wonderful. The rooms were clean and smelled fresh. The beds were comfortable and our room had a small balcony. The staff was very helpful. We requested shuttle service to a local restaurant and they were there in less than five minutes. Kind of uncomfortable because it was a Johns Hopkins security van but it got us to our location just fine. The hotel offers continental breakfast which was small but fine for us. On the down side, no restaurant or lounge on premises. The grounds were beautifully manicured. My husband used the workout facilities and said they were fine. If you are looking for a four or five star resort with all the amenities - this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a clean, no frills, safe hotel you should stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hods93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Had to return to Baltimore for a minor surgery at Union Memorial hospital. Looked for a hotel that was close and had free parking. Mt. Washington Hotel turned out to be a very pleasant surprise. Grounds ( part of Johns Hopkins) were just beautiful. Hotel was clean and quiet. Staff was very accommidating and helpful. Hotel is close to the light rail line and in fact grounds security took us and picked us up from the rail line. Easy ride to the Inner Harbor. Two complaints though. One, air conditioning was very cold and we had to sleep with blankets on. Second, there was really not much in the way of restaurants in the area immediately close to the hotel. Hotel does provide a decent continental breakfast. All in all, I would definitely recmmend Mt. Washington as a very nice and reasonably priced option in northern Baltimore.

Room Tip: All rooms have very nice balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jakOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

Beautiful grounds, awful accomodations and service. NOT comparable to a Marriott as the advertisement stated. This is a converted dorm with outdated everything! Bathroom shower/tub was so dirty you could grow black eyed peas in it. Continental breakfast was the pits. NEVER STAY HERE!

Room Tip: Choose another property!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank strammi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed here for a visit to the Johns Hopkins Homewood Campus. This property was listed as near the campus, it is not. About a 15 minute drive. The rate was good, setting is lovely and grounds are beautiful, the rooms were fine too. The front desk service is poor. We only had 2 towels in our room for 3 people, when I asked for more, I was told that they did not know where the clean towels were. I called again and was told that I could come down to get them. Also, there was no dinner available at the property and the suggestions listed were either closed or permanently gone. We went back to the front desk to ask for help and they could not tell us where to eat???? We ended up using our GPS and found a great place, Donna's. Would choose a hotel closer to campus next time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelsby3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baltimore
Radisson Hotel at Cross Keys
#28 of 65 in Baltimore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Baltimore Downtown/ Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt. Washington Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Washington Conference Center

Property: Mt. Washington Conference Center
Address: 5801 Smith Avenue Suite 1100, Baltimore, MD 21209
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Mt. Washington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 65 Hotels in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mt. Washington Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Baltimore, Maryland, a city abounding in business, leisure and cultural resources, Mt. Washington Conference Center offers superb meeting and event space and overnight accommodations. Relax in an attractive, comfortable guest room with a picturesque view from a private balcony or retreat in luxury to a richly decorated and appointed suite in the historic Octagon. Both accommodations afford an abundance of lifestyle amenities and business conveniences. ■48 Newly renovated guest rooms in the Baltimore Conference Center with personal touches including voice mail, Internet access, spacious work area, coffee maker w/complimentary coffee, hair dryer, iron with ironing board and complimentary access to a washer and dryer; dry cleaning services available ■8 luxurious suites in the historic Octagon building featuring a kitchenette tucked inside an armoire, two telephones, voice mail, Wifi, hair dryer and iron with ironing board ■Dining room and terrace, cafe and private dining (Monday through Friday, Breakfast and Lunch) ■Complimentary Wireless High-Speed Internet access in all guestrooms ■Complimentary Continental Breakfast ■Complimentary Parking ■Complimentary Shuttle to JHU's Homewood Campus (Monday - Friday). ■Complimentary Shuttle to Johns Hopkins Hospital Campus (Monday - Friday). ■Fitness center, indoor basketball and volleyball courts, game room and jogging trail ■Shopping, Spa's, and restaurants within walking distance in the Mt. Washington Village ■Within walking distance of the light rail station ■Extraordinary location minutes from Downtown Baltimore and the Inner Harbor; one hour from Washington, DC ■Baltimore/Washington International Airport (BWI) within 25 minutes; 10 minutes from Penn Train Station ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Mt. Washington Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mt. Washington Hotel Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing