We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - their rooms need to be renovated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor
Ranked #19 of 67 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great location - their rooms need to be renovated”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The location of this hotel could not be better, you are in Harbor East, which is the cleanest, most safe area of Baltimore and you are next to the harbor. There is a Whole Foods, as well as many great shops in the area. I travel to Baltimore on a weekly basis and this is the only area I stay. The Courtyard, I understand they just completed a renovation, unfortunately, my room was not renovated. As someone who does not hang out in hotel lobbies, that is unless they are gorgeous or hip or have some other attraction, I could really care less about a lobby renovation. The room is where you spend the most time. My bathroom was gross, the caulk was cracked and it didn't feel clean. It sort of reminded me a weird motel bathroom. The beds, however, were comfortable. Will I stay here again, no.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Champuga81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickMcmanus, General Manager at Courtyard Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
I wanted to thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at our hotel. I also find the Harbor East area to be a great location for our hotel giving our guest easy access to restaurants, shopping, and of course Whole Foods. I also saw your comments about our recent renovations. As you stated, all of the public spaces were just finished in March as were all of our guest rooms, but from your comments I can see that your bathroom needed some more attention. I truly am sorry that you encountered this issue and if you would like to talk about it more please contact me directly. I would for you to give us another chance so that we can be your preferred hotel when coming to Baltimore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    241
    56
    12
    6
See reviews for
146
122
29
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beacon, New York
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I and our daughter stayed here for three nights the last weekend in June. The location of the hotel is fantastic. Both the inner Harbor and fells point are short walks in the hotel is right by the water. The convenience of having a whole foods cannot be understated for us. The room was very clean & seemed very modern and the staff were very friendly. The problem however was in the fact that the walls were paper thin. It was not that the people on the other side of us were particularly loud but because the walls are so thin we heard every word and getting to sleep was very difficult two of the three nights. Additionally, On Saturday night we had to endure a number of people coming upstairs and howling as they had exited the elevator. Again, had the walls not been so thin, this most likely wod not have been a huge problem. It is a shame too as we would love to stay there again next year but we just can't do it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigPeteNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Loved the hotel it was spacious and clean and even had lovely bath and body works toiletries which were lovel. The Hotel had its own private garden on the terrace and a gym the only let down was the breakfast which luckily was not included as otherwise i would have been very disappointed. Would recommend to go somewhere local for a bite to eat. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Would defo use this hotel again and its walking distance from the inner habour restaurants and shops. The neighbouring hotel is not so bad ... not the usual baltimore street people hanging around and there are some nice restaurants around too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheetal k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickMcmanus, General Manager at Courtyard Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. I was happy to see that you like our location and found our staff to be friendly and helpful. You also mentioned one of my favorite parts about our hotel which many guests don’t even realize we have which is the roof top garden area. It is located on our 4th floor along with the pool and exercise room. It gives our guests a place to unwind and get some sun and fresh area away from the hustle and bustle of the street. I was sad to see that you did not find our breakfast to your liking. We just opened our new Bistro a few months ago with the goal of giving many options to our guests for both breakfast and dinner. Hopefully the next time you are here we can find something that will satisfy your breakfast needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Comfortable stay within walking distance to Inner Harbor. Surrounded by restaurants and stores, you are a ten minute walk to the Aquarium on the Inner Harbor. Friendly front desk staff. Near Fells Point and Little Italy.would come again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CarTrip13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed here last weekend for 2 nights to explore Baltimore before moving on to a destination wedding. The hotel is renovated and very nice. The front desk was very helpful and treated us great. We had a mishap that showcases the great staff at this hotel. We left on Saturday morning to attend the wedding. On Sunday evening my husband noticed he didn't have his wallet. He remembered leaving it in the room on Friday night and then didn't retrieve it before we checked out. I called the Courtyard Sunday evening and explained the problem to the front desk. She wasn't able to help because she was alone and couldn't leave her post. I left a message with housekeeping and they called first thing the next morning. Found the wallet! They sent in UPS and it was received in 2 days. Nothing missing! I want to thank the housekeeping staff for great work.

The pool area is very nice here if you have time to explore.

Room Tip: We had a corner room that was very large and a little bit of Harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickMcmanus, General Manager at Courtyard Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. I was delighted to read that our staff was able to locate your wallet for you and also get it back to your husband safe and sound. We do try our best every day to provide excellent service to all of our guests and I was happy to see that we were able to do that for you. I have also shared your review with our housekeeping staff so they can hear firsthand how their work directly impacts our guests on a day to day basis. Hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Although this property is not on the waterfront, it is close to it. Surrounded by lots of downtown activities and good restaurants, the neighborhood has a young energy to it. The hotel itself is clean, looks newly renovated, with pleasant and welcoming staff, a coffee shop on the first floor, and a good price for the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAZ485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We live in Westminster MD (45 mins away in MD) and I grew up near Baltimore but we've stayed at this courtyard, for a few years in a row. We love Harbor East. The Harbor East area is outstanding. From the hotel you can walk to Fells Point, the harbor and Camden Yards. The hotel is perfect, rooms are great. We plan to visit again this September.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyinburrito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickMcmanus, General Manager at Courtyard Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
I would like to thank you for being a loyal repeat guest of our hotel and for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay. Harbor East is a very exciting neighborhood and we are lucky to be located right in the middle of it. Camden Yards is about a 30-35 minute walk from our hotel, but you can also take the free Charm City Circulator which will get you just a few blocks from the stadium. We look forward to seeing you again in September.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Little Italy
Baltimore Marriott Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little Italy
Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#3 of 67 in Baltimore
1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor

Property: Courtyard Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor
Address: 1000 Aliceanna St, Baltimore, MD 21202-4341
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Little Italy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#17 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#20 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new state-of-the-art lobby at Courtyard Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests. This Inner Harbor hotel features our new lobby with inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard™. The highlight of our new lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.™which provides guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. This hotel near downtown Baltimore is also conveniently located near the National Aquarium and one and a half miles from the Baltimore Convention Center. We offer a well-equipped fitness center, indoor pool and whirlpool. A 24-hour business center and boarding pass printing service is also available. Your stay at Courtyard Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor is sure to be more comfortable, more productive and more enjoyable than ever before! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Baltimore Downtown / Inner Harbor Hotel Baltimore
Baltimore Courtyard
Baltimore Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing