We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Update on my earlier review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor
Ranked #18 of 61 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Update on my earlier review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I had to review this property again, because even though they were making improvements, my room was completely renovated, and worth me updating what was said earlier. The new rooms are very nice, and reminds me more of a Residence Inn Marriott brand sans the kitchenette. They have done a tasteful job in the updates, and its always good to stay at the Inner Harbor because of the variety of restaurants and attractions!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Acrinc06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    217
    51
    12
    6
See reviews for
118
111
26
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon, MD
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

There are renovations going on here at this hotel, however it wasn't enough to lower my rating. I feel that maybe some might be thrown off, if you were to stay in this hotel longer, but we were only here for one night. We were greeted by professional and friendly staff and check in was a breeze as usual. The front desk explained some places around the area and assisted with our parking (you can either put it on your bill, or pay seperately.....WHICH IS $28.00!!! (AYE AYE AYE!!). That said, we were only there one night so it wasn't too bad on the wallet. The hotel itself is a great value for a nice hotel in the city. The rooms were clean and nicely renovated. We really didn't stay too much in the room as we went out to enjoy the city and the bar at Pazo's (which I totally recommend). The beds are heavenly though, and we slept like babies! There is free wifi, along with their business center - a fitness center and a pool (which were closed during renovations while we were there, but are opening back up soon). Plenty to do, we really didn't even need to take the car because there's so much within walking distance. I can't wait until renovations are complete and to visit again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickMcmanus, General Manager at Courtyard Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. You might not have to wait much longer to come back to our hotel because our hotel renovations are almost done. They should be completed by the end of March, but I was happy to read that they did not disrupt your recent stay with us. Our guests are loving our new rooms and especially the new beds. I am glad you had a peaceful sleep and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The staff were so helpful, friendly and professional. Located in Harbor East with great shops, plenty of fine dining, pub food and a great deli. Walkway along the habor and great scenery. Walking distance to many interesting places in Baltimore or easy access by bus or cab. The king suite was spacious, clean and had a very comfortable bed. We celebrated our Anniversary here and had a wonderful time. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: Top floors southwest side of the hotel has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Salle53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickMcmanus, General Manager at Courtyard Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay at our hotel. I appreciate your comments about the staff and I have shared it with them in our daily meeting. . As you stated, our location in Harbor East is perfect no matter why you are visiting Baltimore. We are close to the Inner Harbor, Little Italy, and Fells Point. There is also easy access to great restaurants and shopping. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Convenient location to local shops and restaurants. The hotel is being renovated so had limited business area and dining opportunities. The staff here was exceptionally friendly and polite. The renovated rooms are clean and bed very comfortable. I'd definitely stay here again

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Brook, New York
Level Contributor
167 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We spent one night at the Courtyard Marriott while in town for a doctor's appointment at Hopkins. The rates were reasonable and the location was good as well. Our room was comfortable and clean. We did miss being able to watch a pay-per-view movie and it would have been nice to have had a mini-frig, especially for longer stays. The free breakfast was excellent (especially for the price) with a good variety. We knew the area having lived in Baltimore in the past, so we didn't need much direction but the staff at the desk were friendly and efficient. We had gotten our reservations through the Hopkins concierge service and the hotel gave us cab vouchers to get back and forth to Hopkins for our appointment. Although the hotel lobby was being renovated during our stay, we weren't at all bothered by this. There is parking (for a fee) in the building and a number of excellent restaurants within walking distance. The Inner Harbor, Fells Point and Little Italy are a few blocks further, but easily walkable in good weather (and not the 20 degree cold snap while we were there). Overall, we were quite pleased with this hotel and would return again. It doesn't merit an excellent rating compared to the luxury hotels where we've stayed but it gives an excellent value for the money!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LotsaTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickMcmanus, General Manager at Courtyard Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
We appreciate you posting your comments on Trip Advisor for other future guests to read. We have a lot of guests who stay with us because of our Hopkins Rate that you mentioned. That rate does include the taxi vouchers and is available to Hopkins patients only as a way to make their time with us a little less stressful. Like you stated, we are offering a complimentary breakfast while our restaurant is closed for renovations which should be completed by mid-March. After that, we will have the new Bistro which will have a wide selection of items to choose from for both breakfast and dinner seven days a week. Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The hotel is just like most other Courtyard's, clean, confortable with a very friendly and professional staff. The hotel is under renovation, but it did not conflict with our stay. We have stayed at this Courtyard before and we probably had a better rate this time because of the renovations. The location is ideal, close to attractions and restaurants and in a safe area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kyamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickMcmanus, General Manager at Courtyard Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments about your most recent stay at our hotel and also for staying with us again. As you stated, we are under renovations and we are trying our best to ensure all of our guests enjoy their stay during this time period. I was happy to read that it did not conflict with your stay. All of our guest rooms will be done with renovations by the end of February and our lobby and restaurant areas will be done by mid March. I do hope you will come back and see our new Bistro and all the new menu items we will have available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This hotel was the worst of our recent trips. The hotel is clean enough but the staff is strangely unhelpful. The woman at the front desk continued eating her sandwich in front of us barely pausing to answer a question, which she didn't have the answer to any way. I understand a lack of service occasionaly - it happens - but must they be rude to you?

They didn't have any good suggestions for local restaurants beyond the tourist fare nearby.

If you are looking for a quick stay in a tourist area then this is sufficient. If you are looking for better, I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TuffLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYHOTELMGR, General Manager at Courtyard Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us and your comments. I am truly sorry that your stay was not a pleasant one and that our staff did not provide you with the level of service that is our standard and what you expect at a Marriott property. I would really like to talk to you further about your experience because this is not something that I normally hear about our staff and I would like to address it and help our staff learn from your comments. If you would like to discuss it, please contact me directly at the hotel. Again I am sorry that you encountered these issues and I hope you will come back and give us another chance to show you what a wonderful hotel and staff we truly have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Little Italy
Baltimore Marriott Waterfront
Inner Harbor
Pier 5 Hotel
Pier 5 Hotel
#13 of 61 in Baltimore
4.0 of 5 stars 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little Italy
Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#2 of 61 in Baltimore
4.5 of 5 stars 1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor

Property: Courtyard Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor
Address: 1000 Aliceanna St, Baltimore, MD 21202
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Little Italy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#17 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#20 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new state-of-the-art lobby at Courtyard Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests. This Inner Harbor hotel features our new lobby with inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard™. The highlight of our new lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.™which provides guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. This hotel near downtown Baltimore is also conveniently located near the National Aquarium and one and a half miles from the Baltimore Convention Center. We offer a well-equipped fitness center, indoor pool and whirlpool. A 24-hour business center and boarding pass printing service is also available. Your stay at Courtyard Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor is sure to be more comfortable, more productive and more enjoyable than ever before! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Courtyard Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Baltimore Downtown / Inner Harbor Hotel Baltimore
Baltimore Marriott
Baltimore Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing