We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK night at the Courtyard Inner Harbor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor
Ranked #18 of 67 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2008

My husband and I decided to take a short break on a Saturday night and booked a room at the Courtyard Marriott. We live in Baltimore so we are familiar with most of the hotels, their rates and amenities. We chose the Courtyard because of its location in Inner Harbor East, where we could walk to Fells Point, the new movie theatre, and to many restaurants and bars. We booked an upgraded room with a whirlpool tub. The room was fine but small and the "upgraded" bathroom was clean but pretty bare-bones (no mini-fridge, one comfortable chair very close to the bed, which made it difficult to get in or out of bed on that side, harsh lighting in the bathroom). The rate, with tax and parking (not included) was more than $300.00, which is on the high side for a weekend night in an Inner Harbor hotel. There is a small breakfast room off the hotel lobby. It did not appear to serve any meal other than breakfast. In other hotels with similar "breakfast rooms," the breakfast was included in the room rate, It is not included here, unless one books a rate with breakfast. The Courtyard should post a notice to that effect at the entrance to the breakfast room because patrons at two other tables were (like us) surprised to be given a bill for breakfast, because they thought breakfast was included. At $10.00 each for a breakfast buffet that was OK but no better than the free breakfasts in similar hotels, we all concluded we would not have ordered had we been aware it was not included.

It's a nice hotel with a good location. However, for a much lower rate, and a much more luxurious room (with a great breakfast included), I would recommend Henderson's Wharf, in Fells Point. There are also two new Hilton properties right around the corner from the Courtyard. We will give them a try next time.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KrMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (523)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

484 - 490 of 523 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2008

Hotel is in the Little Italy section of Baltimore, in close walking distance to the Inner Harbor. I went with my two young daughters and had the Aquarium Package. For the price this was a great value. The girls loved the indoor pool and free breakfast. Also, getting two tickets to the Aquarium and free parking were big savings. We easily walked to the Aquarium and the Maryland Science Center. Girls loved the Science Center (ages 9 and 7) - go early and beat the crowds. The staff were very helpful and friendly. I would stay here again for the price.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3KidsM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2008

This hotel is a great option in the downtown area. The hotel is in convenient walking distance to Little Italy, a movie theatre, great restaurants and the Whole Foods on site is a big plus. There are an abundance of cabs waiting and the hotel has a small lounge that is open late for drinks. The room was clean and comfortable. Parking is $22 a day and you can come and go unlimited with your room key. Great deal super close to the inner harbor.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krenee1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2008

Note: I rate hotels solely based on the quality and irrespective of the price. If ratings were based on both the price and the experience, it would be impossible to discern any useful information, therefore with my ratings, one can determine exactly how good the hotels are and then compare prices separately. Generally, the more expensive hotels are better, but not always.

I would rate the Courtyard Marriott as a fairly nice hotel, although the room was somewhat small. The room was new and clean. There is wireless Internet access, and there were supposed to be fridges/microwaves available for free, but they had run out the night I requested one. My only complaint was that there was a speaker on the wall that emitted a continuous very soft staticky noise which was tremendously annoying when I was trying to fall asleep. I only noticed it after turning off everything else in the room, so if you have extremely good hearing it may be bothersome to you and I ended up turning on the fan to help drown out the noise. I am not sure what the purpose of the device is, maybe it acts as a fire alarm. The hotel is expensive, which I think is more due to the location than the amenities, and there is an additional maybe $15 of taxes on top per day, due to Baltimore state tax.

There is a Whole Foods store inside of the same building which you can go to for groceries and they also sell a hot breakfast which is cheaper than the one in the Courtyard restaurant. Ask at the front desk how to get there. There are taxis waiting outside continuously for your convenience. There do not seem to be any places to go to within walking distance of the hotel, however.

Overall, I was pleased with my stay, but not the price.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mar32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2007

As a fairly frequent visitor to Baltimore (known as Fenway South) during Red Sox vs Orioles games; this location and Courtyard was a great find! I had stayed in inner harbor (YIKES$$$$$) times before and had decided to stay cheaper close to the airport for the weekend - but found this location days before the weekend and was psyched I did!

First - I'm a rewards memeber so I stay at lots of Marriotts (at all levels) and are seldom disappointed - but being a city person I know the "location" can be the "make or break"in a city - especially in Baltimore which definaitely has a "gritty" side/feel to it (not necessairly a bad thing - but a consideration for safety).

This location in Harbor East was excellent. We (two females) felt perfectly safe walking in area both to and from Inner Harbor, and Fells Point in both day and night. We walked and took the water taxi ($8.00 for the day - great value and just two blocks to this hotel from the landing). I really liked that on this side of the harbor you had both the conveience of walking to all inner harbor has, and in the other direction (about four blocks) you were in Fells Point with all it's shops, restaurants, local Foodie Market (like Lexington Market in Philly and so many other cities) and bars (local and touristy) galore. We ate a "Angie's" in the open market (local counter service and you can't beat a great down home lunch for most under $5.00!) Note: there are also two water taxi stops in the Fells Point Area (from inner harbor) so you have that option too and then you can easlity walk back to hotel.

The hotel itself is new, clean, spacious. Restaurant on site for breakfast buffett (not complimentary) - we didn't partake - not with great local breakfast joints so close - but buffet looked pretty good. Service was pleasant (and it was a very busy weekend) and responsive. All the usual amenities of a Coutyard and even more so - several computer to use free of charge, had a small bar and nice sit down areas with flat acreen TV's, couches, tables etc. One late night after game we got take-out from a inner harbor restaurant - took the water taxi back and ate in this "living room" area (not to stink up the room) - it was great. Others were having wine and beers another section watching TV. Nice touch.

The best thing though for this "inner harbor" convenience and to be so close to Fells Point and Little Italy area (which is just another few blocks north of the hotel (save that for next time!) was that the cost was extremely reasonable ($179.00 AAA rate for Sat). All other hotels in the inner harbor (and the Marriott Inner Harbor which is a block next to this Courtyard) were in the $300-$500 range. To stay at the airport (Springhill Suites I had booked was $139.00) and to have to take the light rail to and from this inner harbor area for the difference of approx $40.00 was a no-brainer! You were right in local inner harbor area - great deal!

My choice for all future trips to Baltimore - can't beat the quality and certainly the location. Also for those of you whom drive - parking garage is right next to entrance - reasonable for a city.
And also - Whole Foods in same block of buiidling - great take out eats, good stuff for picnic etc and a new Starbucks right around the corner opening very soon.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank kasey363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2007

Hotel was decent, but staff was not very friendly. I dont know, it seems that front desk clerks are miserable these days. Maybe it depends on what city you go to.

The room was kinda small, but clean. Pool was clean, which was a plus for my kids.

It was great to have a Whole Foods in the same building.

Stayed: September 2007
3  Thank JDK5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2007

Hotel was booked by a company that is located in the same complex as the hotel. I expected a business type hotel/room but was very surprised at how large and comfortable the hotel, especially because it is a Courtyard facility which to me is more a motel hotel ( located on the highway). Service was very friendly but looked as though they used young, inexperienced people, still in the learning stage, but nothing that made the stay uncomfortable. Breakfast was good, well priced. Location is excellent - in the midst of the Inner Harbor development, close to the Baltimore Oriole's Camden Yards, restaurants, cafes, bars, etc. Definitely an upscale area and appeared safe to walk around at night. Only spent one night, so do not have a lot of info on the area spots.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank IrvingPlace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Little Italy
Baltimore Marriott Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little Italy
Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#3 of 67 in Baltimore
1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor

Address: 1000 Aliceanna St, Baltimore, MD 21202-4341
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Little Italy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#17 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#20 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range: $166 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new state-of-the-art lobby at Courtyard Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests. This Inner Harbor hotel features our new lobby with inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard™. The highlight of our new lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.™which provides guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. This hotel near downtown Baltimore is also conveniently located near the National Aquarium and one and a half miles from the Baltimore Convention Center. We offer a well-equipped fitness center, indoor pool and whirlpool. A 24-hour business center and boarding pass printing service is also available. Your stay at Courtyard Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor is sure to be more comfortable, more productive and more enjoyable than ever before! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Baltimore Downtown / Inner Harbor Hotel Baltimore
Baltimore Courtyard
Baltimore Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing