We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best crab cakes, ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thames Street Oyster House

Thames Street Oyster House
Ranked #3 of 1,999 Restaurants in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Fells Point
Napa, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best crab cakes, ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We just had a fabulous dinner. Everything was delicious. This is a fun and lively restaurant and a must for wonderful food in Baltimore.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rockcreekvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,010
    297
    55
    22
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Freehold, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Wonderful atmosphere - just the right combination of fun and slick service we wanted.

Unfortunately we were unable to get a reservation on the day of - but the wonderful person who answered my call (Helen?) was enthusiastic and implored us to explore the bar area on a first come/first served basis which also serves the restaurant's full menu.

We had an a la carte selection of oysters and oysters Rockefeller as apps and the risotto and char for mains with Lobster Mac 'n' Cheese as a side. It was a wonderful taste and texture combination - perfectly cooked. The char in particular was wonderful.

We capped things off with a salted chocolate tart: splendid.

The cocktails are pretty amazing, and very strong - but no complaints here!

Highly recommended on all fronts.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LetsGoRangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
112 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fresh Oysters!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Oysters can be ordered depending on the states they were from. A bit pricey but very good. I also ordered lobster roll. Service is impeccable. Ambiance is bar type.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank moistfruitcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great casual seafood bar in the middle of fells point.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

My son and I stumbled across this place last year walking around looking for a lunch place. We ordered oysters which were delicious and shrimp and lobster wedge salad. All was delicious and we highly recommend this place for a casual lunch or dinner. Have been back several times since and everyone I brought loved it as well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dziner27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, FL
Level Contributor
107 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Taste buds still "tingling!!!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Where oh where to begin?!! I'll start by saying that growing up in the Midwest, I was never exposed to such fresh fish. Take the freshness and superior quality of the fish and have award winning chef, Eric Houseknecht, use his culinary skills in it's preparation.. and POW... simply decadent?! We began by selecting the oysters we wanted to try.. and there were SO many to choose from? Each and every oyster offered a different flavor, clearly explained on the oyster menu, and each one was amazing. Then.. to the menu.. choices, and more choices? We decided to order the "specials" of the day.. one including the Mako Shark that was prepared to melt in your mouth.. not over-cooked as most often the case. We took bites of each other's food to gain the most of this dining extravaganza, and each and every bite of ANYTHING was simply over the top!! Desserts, you ask?! I've had dreams of the strawberry shortcake and chocolate tart (in a macadamia nut crust) from the "new" dessert menu and could honestly justify traveling 1200 miles back just for that, or about anything on the menu.. and that should speak volumes?!! If I had to pick my last meal.. Thames Street Oyster House would be the place!!!!! Run.. don't walk.. you won't be disappointed!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank spoiledtravelers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thames Street Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Thames Street Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing