We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would go back”

Thames Street Oyster House
Ranked #3 of 2,039 Restaurants in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Fells Point
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Would go back”
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

We went here because of ratings on trip advisor. We were not disappointed!! We had lobster and shrimp from the raw bar. My wife had the lobster salad. I had their chowder and a shrimp sandwich. For dessert we had the cinnamon crumb cake. Everything was very good.
The restaurant itself is located in a very nice ."Fells point??"

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ddali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,528 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,106
    321
    61
    24
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
maryland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“really expensive oysters”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

really expensive, doesn't mean really good. i have to admit, we got there after the kitchen was closed, so we didn't get to order hot dishes. we got a dozen raw orsters and $3 an oyster and they weren't any better than the 50 cent oysters, i had yesterday, at mike's, in pasadena, yesterday. the service was so so. so.....if you want to pay for the location, and pay a lot, go to thames. not sure what the fuss is about.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank winelover21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, PA
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Trip Advisor Slam Dunk Again!”
Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

We visited due to the Trip Advisor recommendation and were not disappointed. We felt a 4.5-star rating would have been ideal and debated the five-star rating before going with it. Great service, excellent neighborhood and reasonable prices for the quality of the food were all highlights. Very minor issues with the food were not enough to keep this from receiving a top-flight review.

Helpful?
1 Thank A_and_B_from_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Raw Heaven!”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Anniversary dinner - we ordered the Crab and short rib soup which was very good but the best part of the dinner was the Tower. The tower included some of the freshest oysters and clams I have had in a very long time, along with a split lobster tail and Jonah crab legs. Unfortunately, the crab legs were mushy and flavorless. Staff was wonderful and having a great night in light of the Ravens win!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank palmtre2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent dining”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

It's as good as all the reviews say-the oysters, monkfish you name it are delicious. The service is outstanding. Upstairs is full of charm & less noisy than downstairs--perfect for a dinner. Try it-it's worth it but get reservations--it's always booked.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gotosleepy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thames Street Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Thames Street Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing