We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn at The Black Olive
Ranked #43 of 67 Hotels in Baltimore
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We loved this visit. Excellent, accommodating staff and lovely, comfy accommodations. The decor and furniture are a typical for a hotel but that's what we loved about it. Everything is simple and comfortable and so clean.

They brought us a lovely bottle of organic white wine and we loved the organic bath products too. We had a great view and an overall lovely experience. We also dined at the cafe which was great. Thanks!!! We will be back!

Stayed: December 2013
2  Thank thelizardfest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 369 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013

I got one of the suites on the second floor with two bedrooms and two bathrooms. It was ridiculously large. This hotel room was larger than my condo at home, but it was very minimalist in decoration. There are painted walls and floors with no art on the walls and very little warmth or decoration. There were some quirks like the curtain was kind of broken, no hangers in the closet or hand soap in the bathroom and the bedroom light didn't work properly. The staff was excellent and eager to do anything to be helpful.

Room Tip: The lights are on a motion sensor. Call the front desk to change your room temperature. My default s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank savann8h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

I was not impressed by this hotel. You can see what this hotel is trying to do, but it just misses the mark.
1. It looked like a 23 year old graduated from college, got an apartment (albeit a large one), painted it funky colors, and sparsely furnished it. The hotel is trying to be hip and minimalist (I think), but really, paint and Ikea-like furniture does not do it. There was something missing, and staying in a place like this is not worth $250-300 per night.
2. It was NOISY! Both noise from indoors and outdoors. I had to turn on white noise to more than double the usual volume. Did not sleep well due to the noise.
3. The website brags about Netflix and internet on the TV. But the Netflix didn't work when we got there. They fixed it, but then the next time we tried to watch, got a message that too many users were on it, so we couldn't watch. And the internet on the TV was painfully slow, so that we couldn't use it at all.
4. For all the hype about this being an organic hotel, I would have thought that there would be more and nicer bath products. The only products were shampoo and conditioner. No soap, no lotion.
5. The spa tub was nice!
6. The staff was nice and helpful.
7. The complimentary bottle of wine and spring water was nice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DLMEST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

The rooms are spacious and the bathrooms are handicap accessible. The bell staff was attentive and all .of the workers seemed ready to take charge from the restaurant to the rooms. I loved the food there which was some of the best and creative cuisine in Baltimore, and I've eaten at almost every major restaurant in this city. I plan on being a regular visitor. It seems like a young and growing boutique business but their service is so personable that you feel like you live there when visiting.

Room Tip: I'm sure whatever you ask for, they will accommodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zeke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

This was such a unique hotel! Our suite was huge, with high ceilings, floor-to-ceiling windows and really interesting art and furnishings. It was so old-world feeling but with really modern fixtures and organic furniture. We were visiting Baltimore for our anniversary and I wish we could have stayed longer. The bed was really comfortable and brunch was delicious. It was also really quiet, I never heard any other hotel guests. So my only complaints are I wish there was a TV in the bedroom, and I was impressed that they advertised complimentary Netflix but it wasn't working while we were there. These things were not big deals though, especially for being there for one night. I loved this place because it was so different from chain hotels but just as large and exclusive and clean and tastefully furnished. While the price was not bad, I wish breakfast had been included.

Room Tip: The California suites have really cool green windows, and a balcony, still with large showers and wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashandkyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed here after reading so many good reviews. I must say it is not your big chain hotel - the reception area is small and a "healthy" restaurant is adjacent.(But if you're looking for a beer and a burger after your trip, this is not the place.) This family-owned establishment takes pride in its unusual suites, furnished with Turkish rugs and all very "green"....I would stay here again - it's nicely situated near Fells Point with lots of shops and restaurants nearby....the staff did everything possible to make our stay memorable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank ArlingtonFluffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

You must pay a 50% deposit for your room charges when you book in advance of your stay. Our stay was for one night on a Thursday checking out on Friday. We parked in the Caroline St. garage next to the Inn for $13 (max charge under 24 hours). If you stay more than 24 hours, you will be charged more. We parked for 23 hours, 12 minutes on the roof of the garage and got our moneys worth (nice view by the way).

Upon our arrival to the Inn we were greeted by the concierge and checked in. The concierge then escorted us up to our room and gave us a personal tour of all its amenities and features. This was a first for us.

We stayed in the California Spa Suite on the 4th floor (Room 41-Malagousia suite) for a phenomenal value. At time of booking, I asked for a Corner Spa Suite room, normally $236.55/night. However, I mentioned that we were staying for our anniversary and I suppose we were upgraded to the California Spa Suite (normally $299/night) for only $215. Another first for us. How sweet is that value! Thank you guys!

Our upgraded room came with a California king sized bed, a full green SCHOTT insulated glass window wall in living room, and a full corner porch with table and 2 chairs. The green window in the living room was cool. It gave the room a green tint during the day and provided a privacy tint from outside spectators. We enjoyed it. The porch was nice, but it was a little too cold and windy to use it. The lighting in the suite took a little while to get used to since it was all motion activated lighting. There was a half refrigerator with a complimentary bottle of Greek wine and another large bottle of water. We had some of the wine, but weren't big fans of it.

We watched a Netflix movie on the Sony LED Google TV provided in the living room (a 2nd bedroom TV is only provided in the VIP Corner Spa Suite). We couldn't figure out how to get to the Netflix app on the TV so we called the concierge late at night and he walked us through the process. It was so late and we were so tired that we didn't even use the Sanijet tub, but it looked like it would be soothing.

The bed was, if not the most, one of the most comfortable beds I've ever laid in. It was like pure heaven. I did not want to get out of it come morning. The shower stall was huge and came with one of those separate handheld shower heads in addition to the overhead shower head. His/Her bath robes were provided along with plenty of towels. There was even a stacked washer/dryer in the bathroom closet that we had no need for from a one night stay, but it was there if we needed it.

The location is very good as it's on the southwest end of Fell's Point so you can walk to anything in the Fell's Point neighborhood as well as to Harbor East, Little Italy, and even the Inner Harbor. If you don't want to walk, you can catch a free ride on the Charm City Circulator (bus) or pay a fee to catch the Baltimore Water Taxi.

A couple odd things we found - the closet by the front door had a rod in it but no hangers so we had to use the closet in the bedroom to hang up our coats instead. Two, the dresser in the bedroom only had one door that opened to put clothes in. The rest didn't open and were only for show apparently. No complimentary mouth wash is provided so remember to bring your own.

Our stay at this 100% organic Inn definitely came with a lot of first times we've never experienced anywhere else before, but that's a good thing. It was refreshing and unique, and we felt healthier having stayed here even if it was only for just one night.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeoWasHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Fells Point
Admiral Fell Inn
Admiral Fell Inn
#13 of 67 in Baltimore
1,301 reviews
Inner Harbor
Pier 5 Hotel Baltimore, Curio Collection by Hilton
Inn at Henderson's Wharf
#2 of 67 in Baltimore
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fells Point
Sagamore Pendry Baltimore
Sagamore Pendry Baltimore
#4 of 67 in Baltimore
246 reviews
Little Italy
Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#3 of 67 in Baltimore
1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at The Black Olive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at The Black Olive

Address: 803 S Caroline St, Baltimore, MD 21231-3311
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Fells Point , Little Italy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 67 Hotels in Baltimore
Price Range: $200 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at The Black Olive 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Inn at the Black Olive is Baltimore's Premier Boutique Organic Hotel. From the building materials to the Organic materials and ingredients are the focus.* Cozy Pure Certified Bed, organic bedding, and organic towels* Balconies with harbor views * 800-1000 Square foot rooms with separate dining/living area, bedroom and large spa bathroom with with Sanijet Aqua-therapy tub/Separate walk in shower*Sony Google Internet LED Television with netflix and satellite*Complimentary WIFI and wired broadband*We are ideally located on the boarder of Fells Point and Harbor east along Baltimore's historic waterfront, within walking distance to the convention center, sporting arenas, and the Inner Harbor. We are 14 Blocks south of Hopkins Hospital and all rooms have a view of the Baltimore's harbor. 24 hr Concierge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Inn at The Black Olive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing