We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn at The Black Olive
Ranked #41 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Carleton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful.”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The Inn at The Black Olive satisfies all your senses. The Inn is VERY clean. I loved the style...simple yet artistic. The rooms are very spacious and quiet. I rarely heard anyone. At one point of our stay I thought we were the only people staying at the Inn. I was wrong. It is very peaceful. It is located right between Fells Point and Harbor East. I was able to walk everywhere. The area is safe. There is always someone at the concierge desk to assist you with any need. The food is excellent. You can experience wonderful greek cuisine. Everything is organic and healthy. You can go to the Agora Market on the 1st floor, The Olive Room on the 5th floor, or just take a quick walk around the block to The Black Olive Restaurant. You just feel healthier when you stay here. Also, I learned a lot about food in relation to our health. We stayed for two weeks because my 6 yr old daughter receives rehabilitation from Kennedy Krieger Institute. This Inn is also handicap accessible. I have never experienced a "hotel stay" like this... The Spiliadis Family really care about their guests and I personally experienced this.. We are going back to Baltimore this summer. There is no other place we would stay! I truly felt like family when we stayed there.... Thank You Dimitris! You went above and beyond for us... Chris & Joseph your spectacular!!
~Dory

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dory J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    39
    15
    12
    18
See reviews for
60
179
25
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed February 12, 2013

There are not enough positive things I can say. When we arrived the desk staff was friendly & gave us a tour of our room & all of its eco features. We went out on the town and arrived back in the wee hours of the morning, but felt super safe, as there was ample lighting surrounding the inn & a staff member was present at the desk. The bed was heavenly with ample pillows in various sizes, although i would have favored a heavier comforter. The bathtub was much needed in the morning and when paired with the fair trade roast from Zeke's coffee (local) I was eased back to life. It was too cold to go on the terrace, but the view was nice. We didn't use the TV or mini bar, but it seemed to be appointed with sparkling water & wine (and now an unopened bottle of vodka that i accidentally left in it). The only criticism I could possibly issue would be when our phones went dead there was no in room docking station. We called the front desk and the concierge lent us his- yet another example of amazing service.
I would have love to have stayed longer, as it truly felt like an oasis for our staycation.
thanks again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed February 9, 2013

The Inn at the Black Olive is a gem. I have never written a review, but this hotel deserves praise for its unique approach to hospitality. My first criteria is cleanliness and the beautiful, spotless accommodation surpassed my expectations. On check in we were asked what temperature we would like our room to be and it was set to our request. Once we opened the door to the room, we were surprised by the spaciousness and ambiance of the living area and bedroom. The bed was supremely comfortable and the organic philosophy of the entire hotel made us feel extremely good about our environment.
Our purpose for this stay was to receive treatment at Johns Hopkins. The location is extremely close to the hospital, yet in a fabulous location to explore Fells Point by foot. We enjoyed walking around the neighborhood and only used the car to drive to the hospital. We were so impressed that we will be back again. Thank you for providing us with such a welcoming experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonny p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwynn Oak, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Just spent the last couple days at what must be Baltimore’s best-kept secret “The Inn at the Black Olives.” OMG the service was 2nd to none. Every thing was so elegant but yet not over done. Organic sheets, towels and furnishings with a spa Jacuzzi bathroom that was superb and stocked with organic bath salts, lotions and creams. Just minutes from the harbor, valet parking too!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

I think I have a different experience than most but, none the less, important. I found the Inn at the Black Olive because I needed a place to stay while my husband had major surgery at Johns Hopkins. To say that this was just what the doctor ordered is an understatement. This is an Inn where the philosophy is twofold: when you walk through this door you are part of the family; and the health of our planet and ourselves is paramount. Everyone on the staff went out of their way to ensure that we were comfortable. Though there was difficulty with the thermostat, there was never a shrug of the shoulders. They kept trying to get the air conditioning working (it was the end of January!) and they did.

It was also restaurant week in Baltimore. After a grueling day at the hospital, all I wanted was comfort food; not a price fixed menu. When i explained what i wanted the response i heard was "don't worry, we will make it happen". The chef checked off all the dishes he could make for me off menu and I was able to have delectable lamb chops, yummy couscous and baklava.

My husband's discharge date was uncertain, and though I explained this with the understanding that if the discharge was late in the day we would pay for the room, the response I received was "we are not concerned with charges only of your comfort and well being". I know this would not have happened at a chain hotel.

The amazing thing to me is that The Inn is less than two years old. Yes, there are kinks that need to be worked out, but the kindness is overwhelming. We look forward to our next visit (this time for pleasure).
Thank you Dimitris...Alyse and Steve

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank fallingtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris S, Owner at Inn at The Black Olive, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Falling Tree:

First, on behalf of the my family, we send our best wishes and prayers for the continued recovery of your husband. We feel like all of our guests are like family to us. Our families dream to marry fine food and fine lodging in the tradition of our ancestors is what keeps us going. This also includes forming the personal relationships with guests to provide a service that is different than all the "box" hotels.

It is an honor to serve people during their times of need. We are here to partner with our wonderful medical institutions to make Baltimore a welcoming place for the recovery of patients and their families. We are honored to be located next to one of the greatest Hospitals in the world.

If we can assist you with anything in the future please don’t hesitate to contact us at concierge@theblackolive.com. Our customer service dedicated team is at your service 24 hours. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours in Service,

Dimitris Spiliadis
Managing Partner

E:dimitris@theblackolive.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Checked in early and was told our room was ready and that wine is chilling in the refridge. Got to the room and the door was hanging open, refridge was hanging open with a cleaning cloth on top. No wine, missing pillow cases in bed room and toilet seat sitting up. Clearly not ready for us. Staff did get everything taken care of until we heard the smoke detector in the bedroom chirping. Staff once again took care of everything and was apologetic. Tried to call down to the front desk in the late evening for room service, but our room phone was completely dead. Had to use our cell phone for room service and to order our breakfast in the morning. The room and amenities were great. Price was good and breakfast was good. Poor attention to details made the stay frustrating. Would like to stay again in hopes of things going better the next time, but would only be willing if there would be a buy one night get the next free. Would not want to pay for the same situation again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris S, Owner at Inn at The Black Olive, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear David:

Thank you for visiting The Inn at The Black Olive and spending your stay in historical Fells Point with us. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your stay and sharing your thoughts and experiences with the TripAdvisor Community. Our guests have voted us one of the top Small Hotels in the Country. For this, we are very grateful. Our families dream to marry fine food and fine lodging in the tradition of our ancestors is what keeps us going.

Feedback that is not the best is very helpful for us to get to the level of customer satisfaction that we have. I would like to assure you that we have reviewed with all of our staff the importance of checking before a check in and trying to communicate about the preparedness of rooms so that customers do not experience your frustration even during an early check in. We put in place a battery replacement schedule to avoid such inconvenience of a customer hearing a low battery alert. We also apologize for the outage of the phone. The phone issues were an extremely rare outage of our T1 line. We are truly sorry for any inconvenience you may have gone through. This is our public response. We will also reach out to you personally to confirm that you realize the importance we place on every guest and their feedback good or bad. We look forward to serving you again and incorporating your helpful feedback into the best hotel experience that we can figure out how to deliver!

If we can assist you with anything in the future please don’t hesitate to contact us at concierge@theblackolive.com. Our customer service dedicated team is at your service 24 hours. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours in Service,

Dimitris Spiliadis
Managing Partner

E:dimitris@theblackolive.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We recently returned to Baltimore for a weekend getaway--we stayed at the Inn at the Black Olive. The service was outstanding. Demitris, the owner, was an amazing host. The design, food, and service were all "top-shelf. " Even though the wine and breakfast were complimentary, nothing was held back. The presentation and quality were very impressive!

The environment was comfortable and relaxing and very clean. The experience in the Black Olive restaurant was equally as welcoming and the food is excellent. We lived in Baltimore for many years and now we are delighted that when we return to the area from New York, we have a great place to stay that is organic and refreshingly comfortable. The artwork in our room was fantastic--it was available for purchase and was reasonably priced.

The location is excellent for sight-seeing, shopping, walking or getting your morning run in without the crowd!. And, the walk to the Inner Harbour only takes a few minutes.
Great place to relax and enjoy.
Christine and Irv'

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great. The whirlpool is an added feature in each room. The suites are large --t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris S, Owner at Inn at The Black Olive, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Christine:

Thank you for visiting The Inn at The Black Olive and spending your stay in historical Fells Point with us. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your stay and sharing your thoughts and experiences with the TripAdvisor Community. Our guests have voted us one of the top Small Hotels in the Country. For this, we are very grateful. Our families dream to marry fine food and fine lodging in the tradition of our ancestors is what keeps us going.

You and your wonderful husband have been the joy that keeps one in this grueling business, and with a smile. To provide service to gracious brilliant people like you is an absolute pleasure!

If we can assist you with anything in the future please don’t hesitate to contact us at concierge@theblackolive.com. Our customer service dedicated team is at your service 24 hours. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours in Service,

Dimitris Spiliadis
Managing Partner

E:dimitris@theblackolive.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Fells Point
Admiral Fell Inn
Admiral Fell Inn
#5 of 66 in Baltimore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
Little Italy
Courtyard Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor
Inn at Henderson's Wharf
#2 of 66 in Baltimore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#3 of 66 in Baltimore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Pier 5 Hotel
#10 of 66 in Baltimore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at The Black Olive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at The Black Olive

Property: Inn at The Black Olive
Address: 803 S Caroline St, Baltimore, MD 21231-3311
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Fells Point , Little Italy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at The Black Olive 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Inn at the Black Olive is Baltimore's Premier Boutique Organic Hotel. From the building materials to the Organic materials and ingredients are the focus.* Cozy Pure Certified Bed, organic bedding, and organic towels* Balconies with harbor views * 800-1000 Square foot rooms with separate dining/living area, bedroom and large spa bathroom with with Sanijet Aqua-therapy tub/Separate walk in shower*Sony Google Internet LED Television with netflix and satellite*Complimentary WIFI and wired broadband*We are ideally located on the boarder of Fells Point and Harbor east along Baltimore's historic waterfront, within walking distance to the convention center, sporting arenas, and the Inner Harbor. We are 14 Blocks south of Hopkins Hospital and all rooms have a view of the Baltimore's harbor. 24 hr Concierge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Inn at The Black Olive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing