We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovey” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at The Black Olive

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Inn at The Black Olive
Ranked #42 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

We visited from Washington DC just to get away for our 15 th wedding annaversary and it was a great choice, 2 days of loveliness . Front desk people very nice, Alisha and Ryan excellent at making us feel at home. The rooms are more like suites, or mini apartments, bed sooooo comfortable!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank giofo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at The Black Olive, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Greetings giofo!

Thank you for visiting The Inn at The Black Olive and spending your stay in historical Fells Point with us. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your stay with us!!! I was very happy to read that your stay was so lovely and that you felt so welcome, this is another one of our main goals is to make a guest feel like they are not in a ordinary hotel.

If you need anything in the future please don’t hesitate to contact me at Ryan@theblackolive.com. We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Yours in Service,

Ryan M. Salamon

Director of Customer Relations

E:Ryan@theblackolive.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    39
    15
    12
    18
See reviews for
60
179
25
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weston, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

This hotel is a dream, literally! We loved he wholesome sensibility of the owners and management. From the bedding to the furniture and decor, to the bath products, and even the coffee in the room, the focus is on supporting local sources, with wholesome intentions. It is comfortable, with over-sized suites, including huge bathrooms, some with their own mini washer/dryer! Great neighborhood, a short walk to some of Baltimore's best restaurants, beautiful views from the hotel restaurant, which is also a wonderful experience. All around, I would highly recommend this unique hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a mini washer/dryer, you'll love having it! The in-room organic breakfast ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at The Black Olive, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear Paula K!

Thank you for visiitng The Inn at The Black Olive and spending your stay in historical Fells Point with us. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your entire stay with us!!! I was delighted to read that your stay was a dream and so enjoyable we do truly strive for excellence and glad you appreciated everything.

If you need anything in the future please don’t hesitate to contact me at Ryan@theblackolive.com we are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Yours in Service,

Ryan M. Salamon

Director of Customer Relations

E:Ryan@theblackolive.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

The first LEED-rated hotel we've ever stayed in - everything from the walls to the bed is eco-friendly. This is not your typical hotel: floors are polished concrete with area rugs. Huge living room (with exercise bike) and bedroom - looks more like a condo than a hotel room. Large bathroom and shower, and a whirlpool tub I could've stayed in forever. Very helpful staff - Hey, Ryan, thanks again! - and nice rooftop outdoor restaurant for breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank will279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at The Black Olive, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Greetings will279!

Thank you for visiting The Inn at The Black Olive and spending your stay in historical Fells Point with us. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your entire stay with us!!! I was thrilled to read that our Inn was the first LEED-rated building you have stayed in and glad you were satisfied and thought our concept was “very cool.”

If you need anything in the future please don’t hesitate to contact me at Ryan@theblackolive.comwe are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Yours in Service,

Ryan M. Salamon

Director of Customer Relations

E:Ryan@theblackolive.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

My significant other and I had the good fortune to stay at The Black Olive recently. We had a corner spa suite, which was spacious and simply wonderful. There was such attention to detail and guest comfort...even to the supportive mattress on the bed. Strictly top-shelf! We ate at their new roof-top restaurant and the food was strictly Five Star. The view, of the nighttime sky, was incredibly romantic too. Picture perfect. I can't say enough good things about this place other than one can really feel at home at The Black Olive. Can't wait to return again!

Room Tip: Get a room that faces the street and is at least two floors up for a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at The Black Olive, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Greetings Patrick O!

Thank you for visiitng The Inn at The Black Olive and spending your stay in historical Fells Point with us. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your entire stay with us!!! I was thrilled to read that your stay was perfect and romantic. Your kind accolades on the Spa Suite and roof top restaurant are greatly appreciated and we are very happy you and your significant other were able to have such romantic experience.

If you need anything in the future please don’t hesitate to contact me at Ryan@theblackolive.com we are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Yours in Service,

Ryan M. Salamon

Director of Customer Relations

E:Ryan@theblackolive.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

Beautiful place and very kind service. In fact, I probably would have missed my flight if the gentleman at the front desk had not come up when i didnt answer the wakeup call and knocked on my door to tell me my taxi was there at 5am. Above and beyond!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ForTheLoveOfAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at The Black Olive, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Greetings ForTheLoveOfAway!

Thank you for visiting The Inn at The Black Olive and spending your stay in historical Fells Point with us. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your stay with us!!! I was thrilled to read that your stay was above and beyond your expectations and you felt as though you were in a luxury apartment.

If you need anything in the future please don’t hesitate to contact me at Ryan@theblackolive.com. We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Yours in Service,

Ryan M. Salamon

Director of Customer Relations

E:Ryan@theblackolive.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

The Inn at the Black Olive is a great location--near the Inner Harbor and Fells Point--but far enough from them to be quiet. The rooms are clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated. The luxurious bathroom (bigger than some NY hotel rooms) has premium fixtures, hydrotherapy tub, and a huge shower. The complimentary hot breakfast (eggs, meats, homemade pastries, and freshly squeezed OJ) is delivered to your room. You won't find service and accommodations like this at any of the big name hotels in the Inner Harbor. The only negatives were a coffee maker that fails to keep coffee hot and the lack of an ice bucket or ice machine.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobS28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris S, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at The Black Olive, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Greetings BobS28!

Thank you for visiitng The Inn at The Black Olive and spending your stay in historical Fells Point with us. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your entire stay with us!!! I was thrilled to read that your stay was enjoyable.

If you need anything in the future please don’t hesitate to contact me at Ryan@theblackolive.comwe are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Yours in Service,

Ryan M. Salamon

Director of Customer Relations

E:Ryan@theblackolive.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

I have been to the Inn at The Black Olive twice now and I will NEVER stay anywhere else again. So much care and detail has been put into making this place a truly relaxing and well rounded Green experience. I actually learned a lot about healthy living as the staff is well informed about the benefits of this lifestyle. Staying here is not just sleeping somewhere.. it's an EXPERIENCE. The food in the restaurant upstairs is AMAZING. Coming from NYC, we have everything here and it's rare to find such delicious fresh organic food. The view and the sunlight in the restaurant and in the rooms are amazing. Also, the first time I stepped into my room I felt as if I could breathe again. The air quality in the building is purified and even the water is filtered through their own filtering system so you are taking a bath in pure water. Even the feathers in the pillows and mattresses are organic. There are so many little details in this place that amaze me. The owners did not cut any corners in bringing this experience to life. Definitely the ONLY place to stay in Baltimore. I hope they open up more around the country soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BusinessGirl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris S, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at The Black Olive, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Greetings BusinessGirl7!

Thank you for visiting The Inn at The Black Olive and spending your stay in historical Fells Point with us. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write such a detailed review about your entire stay with us!!! I was thrilled to read that your stay was so amazing because that is exactly what we strive for with every guest that stays with us, we want it to be a very memorable relaxing experience.

If you need anything in the future please don’t hesitate to contact me at Ryan@theblackolive.comwe are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Yours in Service,

Ryan M. Salamon

Director of Customer Relations

E:Ryan@theblackolive.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Little Italy
Courtyard Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor
Fells Point
Admiral Fell Inn
Admiral Fell Inn
#5 of 66 in Baltimore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
Inn at Henderson's Wharf
#2 of 66 in Baltimore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#3 of 66 in Baltimore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at The Black Olive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at The Black Olive

Property: Inn at The Black Olive
Address: 803 South Caroline St, Baltimore, MD 21231
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Fells Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at The Black Olive 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Inn at the Black Olive is Baltimore's Premier Boutique Organic Hotel. From the building materials to the Organic materials and ingredients are the focus.* Cozy Pure Certified Bed, organic bedding, and organic towels* Balconies with harbor views * 800-1000 Square foot rooms with separate dining/living area, bedroom and large spa bathroom with with Sanijet Aqua-therapy tub/Separate walk in shower*Sony Google Internet LED Television with netflix and satellite*Complimentary WIFI and wired broadband*We are ideally located on the boarder of Fells Point and Harbor east along Baltimore's historic waterfront, within walking distance to the convention center, sporting arenas, and the Inner Harbor. We are 14 Blocks south of Hopkins Hospital and all rooms have a view of the Baltimore's harbor. 24 hr Concierge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Inn at The Black Olive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing