We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Baltimore Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn at The Black Olive
Ranked #45 of 67 Hotels in Baltimore
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Beautiful new green building. Amazingly comfortable beds. Great views for the top floor bar area. Peaceful and quiet. We enjoyed the stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrequentTraveler16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 369 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2011

I spent 2 glorious nights at the new Inn at the Black Olive in Baltimore, close to the Inner Harbor. It is a small new boutique hotel with fewer than 15 guest suites. Arriving at the inn the first night was as if I had been transported magically to the Mediterranean coast and was staying in a lovely private villa. The textures, colors and decor (including the vibrant soft handmade carpets) of the inn are natural and restful and soothe away all stress. The bed, linens, towels and other accoutrements are of the highest quality and wrap the guests in a bubble of luxury, comfort and peace. The bathroom is on a par with a spa with an enromous whirlpool bathtub and even larger shower. The flat screen tv did everything but jump off the wall and dance around the room. And of course the complimentary bottle of wine from the region after which your suite is named was most welcome.
And then there was the complimentary breakfast which was specially prepared with perfect eggs, with homemade fresh warm toast, homemade marmalade, goart cheese, strawberries and blueberries. To find such a feast with such attentive personal service at a hotel is remarkable in itself. That it was included in the room charge is amazing.


This is a hidden gem and very close to Johns Hopkins Hospital if you are visiting there.

Room Tip: The owners work at the hotel so don't hesitate to speak with them directly and say what you woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LCVWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed here along with another couple on a mini vacation. Our room was the vip corner suite which was beautiful, the room our friends had was a slightly smaller suite, but still had all the same amenities. The wine was very good, and the selection was both large and interesting. Prices were surprisingly low for what i felt was great quality. The free bottle in your rooms was a nice touch. The location of the hotel is great, as it is right next to the fells point area for shopping and nightlife, but not smack in the middle of it. The best part of the stay was the staff. I have traveled a lot and normally stay in higher end hotels and suites, this was by far the most attentive and genuinely concerned staff I've ever dealt with. where i stay is very important part of my trips, and i hate starting with boring disinterested check in personnel. every employee we talked to was very helpful and a pleasure to deal with. I will stay here every time i am in the harbor area from now on.
I think the only thing i wasn't completely happy with was the balconies. there were 2 in our room, one from the bedroom and one from the sitting area. I had pictured something a little larger. These were more of small lookout areas. To be clear, I wasn't promised anything about the balconies, just pictured something different,. Still, it wasn't so bad having 2 balconies to look out over the harbor from. :)
We did not have the opportunity to try the restaurant in the Hotel unfortunately. but we plan to on our next trip.
The Inn at the black olive is exactly what you would want from a hotel, and if you travel to the Baltimore inner harbor or fells point area, I promise you will be disappointed if you stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: All of the room in this hotel are suite types. there arent a ton of rooms so make sure to book early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jehramie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We are three women with an adventureous spirit who braved Hurricanine Irene to stay at the Inn at the Black Olive. We were in the VIP suite( where Woody Harrellson stays),plenty of room, great views of the City and Storm! The Chef prepared dinner for just the guests in the Inn and it was fabulous. Dimitri can really make and Organic drink, and Ryan is a sweetheart. Breakfast was delicious - I think we tried all the choices! I especially liked the greek yougurt and the hand squeezed orange juice. They took very good care of us and we learned much about the green building and organic foods. Sure the service was slow - but it's dinner . . . why rush ! Dimitri went out on the deck of the 5th floor to gather fresh herbs for our drinks and dinner. The baby yellow and red tomatos in the Bloody Mary were to die for - we asked for more and got them!

Sparkling Clean, Dining Room Table, Full size stainless steel frig, washer dryer combo (with Eco-detergent) automatic lights, Google TV, WI-FI, and fab towels, robes and slippers. Huge shower and jacuzzi tub - what more could you ask for - oh - the best most comfortable bed!

The staff called cabs for us, and even came out to help with the packages.

Less than a mile walk to Little Italy - and a beautiful promenade along the harbour that begins right across the street from the hotel. We'll go again for sure.

Room Tip: Talk to Ryan or Dimitri - see what's available for a short notice stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lrmdell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris S, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at The Black Olive, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for coming across The Inn at The Black Olive, Baltimore Maryland and spending your stay in historical Fells Point with us even during the presence of Hurricane Irene. Also we want to extend our deepest gratitude to you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. It is imperative to have candid reviews like your representing us.

Furthermore I am thrilled to read that you would recommend our hotel, and I do hope we will have the occasion to welcome you again.

If you need anything in the future please don’t hesitate to contact me at Ryan@theblackolive.com


Yours in Service,

Ryan M. Salamon
Director of Customer Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

The Inn at The Black Olive has got to be one of the most eco-elegant hotels in America. The attention to detail in building the inn to a high sustainable standard is unmatched and at the same time the comfort and amenities are uncompromisingly high. The neighborhood was quiet but at the same time within walking distance of Baltimore's Inner Harbor. Parking was easy and the service was amazing. It will be a regular stop when I am in Baltimore.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ecotraveler526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

$500/night was joke. The are not able to run a hotel. No one at front desk. No one at restaurant. Room service for breakfast took over an hour for two eggs on a plate and nothing else. The room was decorated like a college dorm room. This place could have had huge potential given the building, location and reputation of the Black Olive restaurant. Very disappointing!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bvanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris S, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at The Black Olive, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2011

Dear Valued Guest:

We want to apologize again for the inconvenience you went through when you came to our inn and hope you can let us rekindle our relationship by coming back to see us again. We have made great strides to improve the inn and feel as though we would live up to your expectations. Several attempts have been made to contact you and we do hope you respond. Below are some of the improvements we have made and if you would like to see other reviews other guests have posted you will see the continued improvements.

Thank you

Ryan M. Salamon
Director of Customer Relations
Email: Ryan@theblackolive.com

- We have outfitted the rooms with artwork from local artists, Persian carpets, and live plants to help with the décor. The artwork is labeled accordingly by artist, name, and price, and in turn 15% of sales goes towards a scholarship The Black Olive has set up with MICA.

- We have added additional personnel from overnight concierge to an additional concierge during peak hours to ensure all guests get proper attention

- In regards to breakfast, a talented breakfast chef is now part of our team who artfully garnishes all dishes ; room service timing has been perfected by adding breakfast hangtag menus with time slots for accurate delivery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emile1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Fells Point
Admiral Fell Inn
Admiral Fell Inn
#11 of 67 in Baltimore
1,316 reviews
Inner Harbor
Pier 5 Hotel Baltimore, Curio Collection by Hilton
Inn at Henderson's Wharf
#2 of 67 in Baltimore
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little Italy
Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#3 of 67 in Baltimore
1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at The Black Olive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at The Black Olive

Address: 803 S Caroline St, Baltimore, MD 21231-3311
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Fells Point , Little Italy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 67 Hotels in Baltimore
Price Range: $200 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at The Black Olive 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Inn at the Black Olive is Baltimore's Premier Boutique Organic Hotel. From the building materials to the Organic materials and ingredients are the focus.* Cozy Pure Certified Bed, organic bedding, and organic towels* Balconies with harbor views * 800-1000 Square foot rooms with separate dining/living area, bedroom and large spa bathroom with with Sanijet Aqua-therapy tub/Separate walk in shower*Sony Google Internet LED Television with netflix and satellite*Complimentary WIFI and wired broadband*We are ideally located on the boarder of Fells Point and Harbor east along Baltimore's historic waterfront, within walking distance to the convention center, sporting arenas, and the Inner Harbor. We are 14 Blocks south of Hopkins Hospital and all rooms have a view of the Baltimore's harbor. 24 hr Concierge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at The Black Olive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing