We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“after our 3rd trip, one of our favorites” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alchemy Restaurant - Baltimore - CLOSED

Alchemy Restaurant - Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Roland Avenue
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“after our 3rd trip, one of our favorites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

VERY knowledgable servers, great food, many creative selections, lovely ambiance where you can actually hear conversations, and good prices. Can't wait to go back - the lovely pastry chef lady is so sweet - and the limoncello cream cheese frosting on the carrot cake is alone worth the trip!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Baltimoretraveler615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    31
    13
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Maryland
Level Contributor
333 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Some Hits & a Big Miss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

First:
Our food was excellent, beautiful in presentation.
Hits:
Salmon
Onion Soup (WoW!)
Stuffed Portobello
Lamb Chops
The Big Miss:
What was with the kitchen?
On a Sunday night with a less than 1/2 full house, the kitchen was very slow.
Gotta do better guys, I want to like your place.
When the waitress comes out and apologizes for the kitchen delay, something is wrong.
Excellent for food,but, poor for service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank studebhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Intrigue and Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

I was meeting a friend for dinner--decided on Alchemy, as the name intrigued me!
The setting is serene and chic--the service is outstanding.
However, the highest rating goes to the intriguing and delectable menu offerings!
You will not be disappointed; something for carnivores and vegans alike!

It is conveniently located on "the Avenue" in Hampden--fun and intriguing in its own right.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bmore4Sure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great food, service and setting.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

I have nothing but good things to say about the food, service and interior. All excellent. My one complaint, trivial as it may be, is that they don't take American Express. If you want to charge top dollar, you better be willing to take Amex. Your business customers will appreciate it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KSP-HHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Alchemy -- turned Brunch into Gold!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We live in Baltimore, and my husband has lunched there a few times, so we decided to go for Sunday Brunch. It was wonderful -- and having brunched a few weeks before at the Cafe Hon (blechh -- Gordon Ramsay needs to come back incognito!), I was ecstatic that for basically the same price as my lousy Brunch, I could have a great meal.

I had the Chorizo Burger which was just the right amount of spice -- and it came with a spicy aoli, if you like a little more spice. The accompanying house-made chips are thinly shaved potatoes that make little ribbons of chips!

My husband had the Avenue Eggs Benedict, which were perfectly done.

But - the star of the show was a basket of scones (Sunday's were cinnamon) -- with whipped butter and clotted cream. Worth every calorie and carb (and I don't say that about many things!)

Overall, we had a lovely meal, and terrific, attentive service. We will definitely be back!

(And no, the owner's are related to us, friends of ours or anything!)

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SkippinWork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alchemy Restaurant - Baltimore also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing