We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool space”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Alewife

Alewife
Reserve with OpenTable
Alewife is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #408 of 2,007 Restaurants in Baltimore
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cool space”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

If you are looking for a place for a beer or cider, RUN to this place. Cool building, old bank. One of the tables is in an old vault. The food? Don't believe the hype. Enjoy the drinks and just let the food be what it is: something to soak up the alcohol.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank K R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    80
    34
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food and beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

I've been to Alewife several times and have always loved the food and beer. They have 40 taps that are updated regularly, so there's always a lot to choose from. Alewife is convenient to Camden Yards, so you'll see a lot of Orioles fans there before games. Plan to get there by 5:15 to have time to eat before a 7:05 game. If you go early, you should be fine, but service can be a little slow. From other reviews it looks like you have to be more careful if you are doing theater.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank limegreenchalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unbelievable mussels, great service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Went here because it was the venue for a Paint Nite we registered for, but would return just for the food and drink! Fantastic service, and we loved everything we ordered... beer, peach schnapps with sprite, mussels, pork sandwich, burger. (All that for less than $70.) The mussels were INCREDIBLE. Would return just for those. GREAT fries, too. Nice atmosphere, and we were able to watch some of the World Cup on the big screen. Went upstairs and out on the patio for a bit, too. Very nice! Reasonable prices. A hit!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HillysHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odenton, Maryland
Level Contributor
373 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great beer, did I mention great beer!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

We have been here several times, so when we were taking friends to Baltimore we decided a stop by Alewife was a must to start the day! Yes, start the day at 11 with a nice cold beer. The bartender let my friends taste a beer two prior to deciding and then we ordered some duck fat fries and enjoyed a cool respite before braving the inner harbour.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dgbg100106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Bar Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Obviously you go here for the variety of beers on tap. The blue catfish fish tacos are fantastic. And sports are on TV. If there are only a few of you, try cooling off in The Vault.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank non-native-angeleno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alewife also viewed

 
Baltimore, MD
 

Been to Alewife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing