We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient to Show Venues”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Alewife

Alewife
Reserve with OpenTable
Alewife is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #416 of 2,006 Restaurants in Baltimore
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Woodbine, Maryland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Convenient to Show Venues”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Slow service, disorganized staff and so-so food. Reservations highly suggested if going before a show. And even with this, give yourself plenty of time.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MommaMyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    80
    34
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
103 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Cool, funky place with great beer and interesting food.”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Went on week night and got a table without difficulty. The service was good and got our choice of beers promptly. The menu was interesting for serving several invasive species. I love the idea of turning some negative into a positive.

Go here for awesome beer, interesting food, and cool atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NMfore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worst service by owner ever!”
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

walked in on busy Friday night, no reservation, expect a wait, no problem. But multiple parties with no reservations come in after us and get tables. I dont do Vegas Club BS, you are a burger joint w/ craft beer. Dont try to be something you aren't. By far the worst service from a host staff & owner ever. Get over your pretentious pompous 'tude. Too many other places to drop my dime.

Helpful?
3 Thank 33kk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good food & nice beer selection”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We ate here during the middle of the week and there was a decent crowd, so it appears to be a popular place. I had the "smoke burger" which was cooked to perfection and delicious. It came with "duck fat fries" which were equally tasty. The atmosphere is sort of gothic with dim lighting. It is a neat place with great food. I only wish the beer prices were a little lighter on the wallet.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
91 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great choice for a pre-theater dinner”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

The food here is very good and you cannot beat the beer selection. The menu choices are great. The wait staff seemed a bit overwhelmed the night we went but it was very busy and they did a good job. It is about the only place that is within walking distance to the theater so it is very crowded with theater patrons. but allow yourself enough time and have a great meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alewife also viewed

 
Baltimore, MD
 

Been to Alewife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing