We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attending a conference nearby”
Review of Envy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Envy Hotel
Ranked #55 of 67 Hotels in Baltimore
Haifa
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Attending a conference nearby”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I sepnt 5 days at the hotel while attending a conference in a walking distance.
The good thing about the hotel was the friendliness of the staff - very nice and helpful.
The hotel was OK, no more than that.
The room I stayed in was very long and dark - was it once a part of an apartment that was converted into a hotel room?
It looks like the door of the room and the shower need to be fixed, as well as the hotel's elevator.
All in all, staying there was OK - if you do not expect much/plan to stay in the room

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tsvi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    43
    83
    43
    81
See reviews for
48
79
22
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Balto, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Property is run down and in disrepair...staff is very helpful and kind...location is good if you do not mind very noisy...price is on the lower side for the area. Burger king next door and bus stop in front. Close to waterfront attractions.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Seth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Within walking distance of many attractions, friendly staff and comfortable bed. I would stay here again if I was to return to Baltimore, MD. I would recommend to others staying in Baltimore. Worth the money! We do recommend taking a taxi to places though or walking in couples/groups given the number of people waiting for the bus outside the hotel on a daily basis.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Mercedes I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2014

This hotel's name is deceiving. I do not envy others who stay here. Our room smelled of old smoke as we walked in, and that smell stayed on our clothes and other items even after the trip. The lobby is in need of an update. The hotel is in an unfortuante location by a very busy bus stop, so at nearly all times of the day (630am, 10am, 2pm, 5pm, 7pm, 1030pm) there are large crowds gathered outside the hotel front door, making it difficult to enter/exit, even as a single person. The hotel staff also struggled with our arrival, since we needed to split the bill onto two cards (for work.) It took far longer than usual to complete what is always a simple transaction at other chain hotels. I was very disappointed, and am very glad I did not pay more than I did for this stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Eileen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The ambiance of this hotel is certainly one that is of dreams, and by dreams, it is often a mix of the nightmares you face regarding hotel amenities. First, the entire hotel smells of the suckling aroma of chlorine. Yet, the true fun in this fact is that a pool doesn't actually exist. Actually what you are smelling is an intense mix of bleach and ajax in the air.

The hotel has the most unusual walls within the rooms. One wall is an odd version of white oceans waves with a neon back lighting similar to a small town, gay bar in the middle of western Kentucky.

The walls are a beautiful yellow. But beautiful would be that of baby food. Also, these yellow walls have odd white stains existing on them. But lamps are provided, and you are allowed to call Heather for a good time. Her name, number, and some inappropriate activities are written on the inside of your room's lamp shade- this could be helpful to those customers seeking some compassionate in the greater Baltimore region.

The views of the room are great. Great being defined as enjoying looking at cement walls.

Basic bathroom needs are not met here. If you enjoy only being allocated two towels, and when you ask for more being told "we are out" is an appropriate response, then this is the hotel for you.

The free breakfast is one to skip, luckily there are other places around the corner. That smell of chlorine fills the air as you smell microwaved eggs and waffles, along with yogurt that is oddly close to the expiration date. Also, where the staff lacks additional service, they make sure to have one staff member continually obsess over the waffle maker. Ensuring the waffle maker is the cleanest aspect of this hotel.

Even today as I write this review, I could hear the faint sounds of screaming. As I went outside my room, I discovered an overzealous woman screaming that the elevator had converted itself into a Tower of Terror, continually rising and falling the six flights of the building. So much so, that I was able to interact with some of Baltimore's finest...the fire department.

Another fun tidbit about this hotel is the game you can play. The game is "how many strange hairs can you find in the room." I love coming back to a freshly made bed with a 2 foot strand of black hair, and looking at the two inch blonde hair person in my mirror's reflection.

Also, the doors of this hotel are certainly one's for the record book. Our first room we had a bathroom door that sounded as if a small baby elephant was awaking at the zoo. At loud, screeching sound, that was then supplemented by the aluminum step entering into the actually bathroom. Then, our attention must turn to the locks. The locks are similar to the interactions between the Real Housewives. They rarely work together, and it requires more effort to keep the door closed then to even open it.

...also, there are drips of blood in the stairwell.

I humble request, that you avoid this hotel. Although I try to sound eloquent in this response, I hope my humor did leave you to avoid this and never to live in horror.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

That's the name of the building it occupies, and it suits it well. My girlfriend and I came into town to see the city and this hotel killed the trip. There was nasty hair all over the bed. The floors were so gross we couldn't take our shoes off. So we left. MGMT wouldn't and will still not refund us our money eventhough we didn't stay. We left to another hotel and were treated very well by them.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Johnacharles93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

The staff were wonderful. They were extremely helpful and kind. The elevator did not have an inspection sheet present, which was alarming and made me not want to use it (but I did!). Despite being next to a bus stop, I experienced no problems from those waiting outside the doors.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Arianna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Downtown
Baltimore Plaza Inner Harbor
Baltimore Plaza Inner Harbor
#56 of 67 in Baltimore
277 reviews
Downtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Baltimore Downtown
Mount Vernon
Midtown Inn
Midtown Inn
#53 of 67 in Baltimore
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Radisson Hotel Baltimore Downtown-Inner Harbor
Downtown
Hotel RL Baltimore Inner Harbor by Red Lion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Envy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Envy Hotel

Property: Envy Hotel
Address: 22 E Fayette St, Baltimore, MD 21202-1706 (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 67 Hotels in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Envy Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Envy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing