We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay at this hotel”
Review of Envy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Envy Hotel
Ranked #57 of 67 Hotels in Baltimore
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Was in town for a baseball game and had 3 rooms. Upon our return to the hotel on Saturday evening around 10:30 there were numerous large rats running around outside the hotel. When we told the front desk clerk about them he stated he was aware that they were there.

None of the soda machines on any of the floors had any soda in them.

The hotel fact sheet states the following:
Complimentary full breakfast, choice of breads, cereal, fruit, hot eggs, hot breakfast meat, other hot items, yogurt, juice and coffee.

What it really is:
The complimentary full breakfast was served in a stuffy hot room in the basement. On Saturday morning there were no eggs, butter or milk for the cereal. The apple juice was rancid. When we asked the woman working the breakfast where the eggs, butter and milk were all she said was "No". On Sunday morning there was a stick of butter that was still in the paper wrapper melting on the table with no refrigeration.

The hotel fact sheet states the following:
Restaurants:
Ban Tahi, on premises, bar/lounge, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner
Sabatino's Italian Restaurant, on premises, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner

What it really is:
Neither of the above mentioned restaurants on site. In fact there is no restaurant on site. When we asked the front desk person about Sabatino’s we were told that Sabatino’s is actually in the Little Italy section of Baltimore.

Each room had issues.
One room had the following issues:
The air conditioner was not working, it ran constantly but never cooled the room. The room had a musty smell.
The refrigerator was not cold even though it was on the maximum setting
Only provided one small bar of soap. Normally one would expect a bar for the sink and a bar for the shower.
There were only two towels and one face cloth in the room so I requested 2 additional towels. After 2 hours when I still didn't have the additional towels I called the front desk and was told that there were no towels available. I did eventually receive the additional towels but it took about 4 hours to get them.
There were pubic hairs in the tub

Second room had the following issues:
There were chicken bones left in the room from the previous guests
The room had a musty smell.

Third room had the following issues:
The towels in the room at check in appeared to have been used. Requested new towels but were told there were none available at that time.
The air conditioner did not cool the room
The room had a musty smell.

Room Tip: Only tip I could offer is don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
5  Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

168 - 174 of 270 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
5  Thank Max S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I was on a two day baseball package ,Simple do not stay at this hotel, A.C. does not cool below 75 degrees , Front doors opens to skid row. Has no place to load & unload luggage, parking two blocks away. Clerk was rude at check-in.. Hotel was dirty did not feel safe eating the breakfast they served.. Would sleep in my vehicle before I stated there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
4  Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I've stayed at many Best western plus before this property is outdated compare to others. Upon arrival I noticed that the lamp shade is cracked. From the room window i can see trash. Location is not Family Friendly at all. I have stayed there with a pre-paid reservation and few days ago after staying there i noticed an Extra charge on my card. Overall, Management at this property is poor and owners need to upgrade the Place. I will never stay at this property again !

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JimmyMac_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Just one sentence to describe. DON'T STAY HERE.

Checked in at 12:00AM. Shower door was broken. They shifted to another room. Shower door again broken. When informed its broken too was asked it will be fixed in morning. Could not take shower in the night.

All the room stuff is old broken.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JackAtNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Entered room to flashing black light over head of bed.
Sink was dirty. Did not use shower because of globs of hair in drain and in corners of tub.
Air conditioning did not work properly.
Stepped in something gooey on the floor.
Very outdated and musty.
Slept horribly due to such discomfort. No rooms available to change to.




Felt very outdated n musty.
Did not sleep well because of discomforting room.
7Th floor room n elevator did not work.
We did not dare go into basement in the morning for breakfast.
Manager gave us a discount. Moved to new hotel in morning asap.
Very very disapointed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My wife, 2 kids and I stayed here for only 1 night, Thank God! I chose this hotel becasue it was cheap and close to the Inner Harbor. The hotel had no parking, had to park at a parking garage a block away ($26). The staff in the lobby were nice but the one night stay wasn't. The room was small and out dated. The air conditioning unit was loud, the air smelled and it didnt get any cooler than 76 degrees. The matresses need to be change since they were so soft, that your most likely will have a sore back the next morning. NO HOT WATER!!! It was luke warm and very low water pressure! Water barely came out of the shower and sink! The elevators button didnt always work so we had to use the stairs a few times. Soda machine on our floor were all sold out. Free Wi-FI didnt work!! Breakfast was ok, it was in the basement and only had three tables with 4 chairs. The hotel ran out of paper plates when our family was eating so we each had to use 4-5 5 small plates to make up for it. Our window view was facing an old, dirty building that was 10 feet away and an shady looking alleyway. Although it's only 4 blocks from the Harbor, the neighborhood was a little scary! We had atleast 10 people asking us for money. We only paid $125 but I would not stay there again even it it was free! You are better off spending a few more $ and getting something that wont ruin your time in Baltimore!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 669fredw669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Downtown
Baltimore Plaza Inner Harbor
Baltimore Plaza Inner Harbor
#58 of 67 in Baltimore
284 reviews
Mount Vernon
Midtown Inn
Midtown Inn
#56 of 67 in Baltimore
150 reviews
Americas Best Value Inn
#49 of 67 in Baltimore
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Baltimore Downtown
Downtown
Radisson Hotel Baltimore Downtown-Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Envy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Envy Hotel

Address: 22 E Fayette St, Baltimore, MD 21202-1706 (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 67 Hotels in Baltimore
Price Range: $81 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Envy Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Envy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing