We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Improvement”
Review of Envy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Envy Hotel
Ranked #53 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Westampton, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Needs Improvement”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The hotel does not have any parking, nor does it have a place to unload your luggage. There is a bus stop located directly in front of the hotel doors. You have to park in public parking at least two city blocks down the street. The entire hotel was very hot. The lobby, hallways and elevator was stiffling. The breakfast was located in the basement and it was about 86 degrees and smelled mustly, I couldn't even eat anything. The hotel advertises a "Full breakfast" which we found was not true. There was no milk for cereal or butter/peanut butter for toast or waffles. There was an individual sitting downt there fanning herself and she didn't speak english at all. When asked if they had any butter, she pointed to the toaster. The front desk receptionist was less than pleasant. The room was uncomfortable due to the heat and humidity.

Room Tip: Look for a room closer to the Inner Harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    43
    80
    42
    78
See reviews for
47
75
22
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valley Stream
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Typical Downtown Area with Downtown Problems... Lobby was 100 degrees on check in at 445 in the afternoon. Horrible Room sizes. A/C was intermittently working. Room was always humid and uncomfortable sleeping. Parking was $36 for 2 nights and it was 2 1/2 blocks away, although secure. Bed was average. Pillows were comfortable. Outside windows were filthy. Refrigerator was nice and cold. Elevator was pretty shady to go into. Hallways weren't vacuumed all weekend. Wifi didn't work all weekend. Overall: don't waste your money or let the low price fool you like it did me. Best western should be ashamed to have its name attached to this disaster.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCF513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo,NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

truthfully, the hotel has a 2 door opening along a block which is also a bus stop. Very hard to park and beat the busses to the curb and unload your belongings.Parking is an underground public lot which you must walk to down the road 3 blocks.
We are not big city travelers much, but the room was very small, cramped and not very clean. the bathroom has an outside entry door for its door with a deadbolt to close it. (only way it stays closed is to use it). The neighborhood is very seedy at night .. sirens we going most of the first night we stayed , and the outside window were filthy. You can walk to the harborfront (uphill climb to get back to hotel) , but suggest you are back before dark. Staff was friendly, but not exceptional. Breakfast in the "cellar" of 95 degrees had 4 small tables to eat at, and was sub-par at best. I would suggest a stay at Fells Point for a "safer feeling"

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJTrackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2013

When I arrived, the room they gave me was very smelly, in fact, it was so bad I had to ask the guy to come up and do something about it. After he sprayed some freshener in the room, it was a little better, but being smelly should not have been an issue in the first place. Then the air conditioner didn't work. I set the thermostat for 72 but the room temp never dipped below 78º. It was late June and I was roasting in the room. After not being able to sleep, I complained to the front desk until they finally gave me another room, which was decidedly better; no stink, and the air worked. However, the next day I got no Housekeeping service despite hanging a request on the door. The curtains in the second room were falling from the window and the staff, though good intentioned-left much to be desired.

Room Tip: There is no restaurant or pool and there is this strange "mood" lighting that flashes red...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RalfieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Basic hotel: quiet and clean room, nothing memorable. The neighborhood is questionable and I didn't feel comfortable walking here from downtown after dark, especially given the odd characters hanging out right in front of this hotel's entrance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Run down and needs to be shut down. Unsanitary and falling apart. Scary people standing outside the entrence and a unconserned managment. Checked into the room because it was late and we thought the lobby might be decieving (maybe the room would be nicer then the lobby?- wrong!- it was worse).

Room Tip: Go to the Days Inn a few blocks away... we walked there after leaving this place. The rooms were spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

The hotel wasn't like the photo online and the breakfast was bad. The room was ok but the hotel location was terrible, one night when my husband and I was coming in we saw a host of rats right on the side of the hotel. I was afraid and we vowed never to come back. The staff was good but I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone unless they used to living among rats. There are plenty hotels on the harbor for more money, go there it's worth the extra money.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetp69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Downtown
Baltimore Plaza Inner Harbor
Baltimore Plaza Inner Harbor
#54 of 66 in Baltimore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Downtown
Radisson Hotel Baltimore Downtown-Inner Harbor
Downtown
Hotel RL Baltimore Inner Harbor by Red Lion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Delta Hotels by Marriott Baltimore Inner Harbor
Mount Vernon
Midtown Inn
Midtown Inn
#51 of 66 in Baltimore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Downtown
Brookshire Suites Inner Harbor, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Envy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Envy Hotel

Property: Envy Hotel
Address: 22 E Fayette St, Baltimore, MD 21202-1706 (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Envy Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Envy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing