We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room and staff - location not my favorite”
Review of Envy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Envy Hotel
Ranked #56 of 67 Hotels in Baltimore
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The room was lovely and very clean - the bed ultra comfortable. The staff was most helpful, professional yet friendly. We enjoyed our stay. The only drawback was that our flight was delayed and we arrived very late. The location is inner city, a couple of blocks from the Convention Center. The entrance was much smaller than average - just a small doorway. Parking is public, so you have to park and then walk about a block back to the room. Like any large city, it can be a little spooky after midnight. But the staff kept our luggage while we parked and walked back. They delivered the bags directly to our room, so when we got back we were grateful to not have to carry them up. The daytime felt much more friendly around the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
There are newer reviews for Envy Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

181 - 187 of 268 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2013

If you wish, they keep your luggage even after you checkout for no extra fee. They keep it in the smallest of closets, though, amidst brooms and vacuum cleaners.

They change your towels daily, but sometimes you find your bed almost as you left it in the morning, barely made.. Plus, they don't vacuum every day. Actually, they never do. First time I stepped into my room, there were dustbunnies in a corner - they were still there when I left four days later.. I've definitely slept in both better and worse hotels, but at least the price is proportioned to the services offered.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guidocorona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Initially, I thought the location was great, a few blocks from the Harbor and the Raven Stadium. However, the quality here is lacking. The "continental" breakfast was awful, stale and packaged baked goods. I had a room without telephone service, The walls are paper thin if you unfortunately have a loud neighbor. The second room I tried, the television did not work. I checked out several days earlier quite dissatisfied but I must say I was refunded half the charges which I did not expect so I hope they do a better job ....they really could do so much better

Room Tip: Choose another hotel....I went to the Tremont instead.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TreadShornCanvas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Vincent M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

The bathroom door very hard to lock & doesn't stay shut on it's own. It is an old entry door with peephole and card slot. Elevator smelled of garbage. Room was extremely cramped and we listened to the tv from another room all night through the walls. Qianti at the front desk was most helpful, very welcoming & a fantastic asset to the hotel!! For business I would stay again due to the low rates but would never stay here for a family trip.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Tammy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Just stayed here the other night and our stay was less than perfect. Our room was so dimly lit that I found it difficult to get ready to go out. None of the furniture or appliances match. The bathroom door was an old room door. There were random metal screws on the floor. The room and sheets reeked of cigarettes. However, I was scared to open the window since there was a creepy landing right outside. The door to the hotel is by the bus stop with some interesting characters standing outside. I will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank MOIRA Q
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Downtown
Baltimore Plaza Inner Harbor
Baltimore Plaza Inner Harbor
#57 of 67 in Baltimore
278 reviews
Downtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Baltimore Downtown
Mount Vernon
Midtown Inn
Midtown Inn
#55 of 67 in Baltimore
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Radisson Hotel Baltimore Downtown-Inner Harbor
Downtown
Hotel RL Baltimore Inner Harbor by Red Lion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Envy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Envy Hotel

Address: 22 E Fayette St, Baltimore, MD 21202-1706 (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 67 Hotels in Baltimore
Price Range: $81 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Envy Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Envy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing