We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great deal”
Review of Envy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Envy Hotel
Ranked #55 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
“great deal”
Reviewed January 19, 2012

I stay at the hotel for one night. This might be the cheapest rate we got in downtown Baltimore, however the service is very nice. Frontdesk is friendly and helpful, we got free breakfast and wifi which we didnot expect. the hotel is close to inner harbor, convention center. Great Experience! Definitely come back again.

Room Tip: What ever you want, just ask the frondesk. They are very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henry882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Envy Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
 Thank you for taking the time to compliment our staff and hotel the BEST WESTERN Plus Envy Hotel. We look forward to hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    43
    81
    43
    80
See reviews for
47
77
22
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Very nice and good customer services! Will come back and recommended to others.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Qnhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

My room was pretty small, felt like a closet, had a little musty smell, the furnitures looked nice as did te amenities in the bathroom, but for something that was renovated in 2010, it had some marks around the switches and some on the walls. Breakfast was some eggs, sausages and english muffins. The staffs were friendly & courteous. Parking is a pain, although the hotel claims it has parking, it is actually a nearby (about 1/2 block) paid underground public parking.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rub41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We booked this hotel at the last minute. The staff was helpful through each step; very pleased to have a fridge! Note: the crowd at the entrance was for the bus.

We were horrified with the room. We were initially distracted by the colorful background lighting above the bed, until we realized the room was freezing COLD. The heater was not on. It was 55 degrees. The heater was loud and took a long time to heat; it finally peaked at 71 degrees, perhaps because of the draft coming from the window. It intermittently came on all night. (My husband and I kept bickering about who should call the front desk about extra blankets. Neither of us would give in, so we resorted to snuggling to get through the night.)

This wouldn't have been too big an issue if there had not been hair all around the sink area. At 1100pm at night, with poor lighting, it was still very visible. The final straw was the urine on the rim of the toilet and the floor in front of it. There were other minor things, like un-wiped bedside tables and greasy fingerprints on the clock, and 12x12 square for night pillows.

If not for the late hour and our long travels, rationale would have made us call the front desk for another room. Fatigue definitely played a part of our dissatisfaction but I am sure that is common for many guests. We should not have to do quality checks on cleanliness of hotel rooms.

Room Tip: Make sure the room is clean before getting settled in. No matter how tired you are, contact the fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LSA23320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Envy Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2012
We’re always working to improve our product and services and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences. There is no excuse for the housekeeping issues that occurred during your stay. We have been working with our staff to ensure these matters are corrected. Thank you for the distinct service you have provided us by sharing your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

I stayed here for the first 2 nights of my trip to Baltimore This hotel is new, and very modern. I really liked the rooms and the boutique feel to the place. This is not what I expected from a Best Western. Great staff, too. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Envy Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
We are always glad to hear from our guests and are pleased our hotel the BEST WESTERN Plus Envy Hotel met all your needs. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Aside from the entire front desk staff being incredibly incompitent, rude, & unprofessional. I was charged for 2 additional nights 2 weeks after my stay. It took me 25 days to get a credit & I was repeatedly "schooled" by the staff as to what happened and that they were positive I had already recieved a credit. Never once an apology. Absolutely horrible.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Envy Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. I was disappointed to learn of the incorrect billing and lack of customer service you experienced, as both are unacceptable and certainly not in keeping with our service goals. I will appropriately follow up with our Front Office Manager. I apologize and hope to have a future opportunity to regain your confidence and goodwill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

I spent 3 nights at this hotel in July 2011 and I was surprised to see clean and modern accommodations in a vintage stone building. While the neighborhood can seem a little rough around the edges at night, safety wasn't a big issue for me (as a female travelling alone). WiFi was free, front desk was friendly, and prices were great. They do not offer parking, but there is a lot a block away. Breakfast wasn't anything special, but the location was ideal for walking to many bars and restaurants. For adventurous walkers, the Edgar Allan Poe grave, Mt. Vernon, and The Brewer's Art are all within walking distance as well as other Baltimore points of interest. There are bus stops right outside, too. The bed was comfortable and the writing desk was convenient. Bathrooms were okay, but could use a little update (low water pressure). Checking-in and out was very prompt. I'd stay here again. 3.5 out of 5.

Room Tip: Neighborhood can be a little bleak at night for solo female travelers, but building is very safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MissFranberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Envy Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
We are glad to hear your 3 night stay with us at the BEST WESTERN Plus Envy Hotel was a good one. Thank you for your great review and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Baltimore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Downtown
Baltimore Plaza Inner Harbor
Baltimore Plaza Inner Harbor
#56 of 66 in Baltimore
276 reviews
Downtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Baltimore Downtown
Mount Vernon
Midtown Inn
Midtown Inn
#53 of 66 in Baltimore
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Radisson Hotel Baltimore Downtown-Inner Harbor
Downtown
Lord Baltimore Hotel
Lord Baltimore Hotel
#16 of 66 in Baltimore
1,094 reviews
Downtown
Hotel RL Baltimore Inner Harbor by Red Lion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Envy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Envy Hotel

Property: Envy Hotel
Address: 22 E Fayette St, Baltimore, MD 21202-1706 (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Envy Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Envy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing