We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Envy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Envy Hotel
Ranked #51 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

Very nice and good customer services! Will come back and recommended to others.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Qnhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    43
    79
    41
    78
See reviews for
46
75
22
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

My room was pretty small, felt like a closet, had a little musty smell, the furnitures looked nice as did te amenities in the bathroom, but for something that was renovated in 2010, it had some marks around the switches and some on the walls. Breakfast was some eggs, sausages and english muffins. The staffs were friendly & courteous. Parking is a pain, although the hotel claims it has parking, it is actually a nearby (about 1/2 block) paid underground public parking.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rub41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

We booked this hotel at the last minute. The staff was helpful through each step; very pleased to have a fridge! Note: the crowd at the entrance was for the bus.

We were horrified with the room. We were initially distracted by the colorful background lighting above the bed, until we realized the room was freezing COLD. The heater was not on. It was 55 degrees. The heater was loud and took a long time to heat; it finally peaked at 71 degrees, perhaps because of the draft coming from the window. It intermittently came on all night. (My husband and I kept bickering about who should call the front desk about extra blankets. Neither of us would give in, so we resorted to snuggling to get through the night.)

This wouldn't have been too big an issue if there had not been hair all around the sink area. At 1100pm at night, with poor lighting, it was still very visible. The final straw was the urine on the rim of the toilet and the floor in front of it. There were other minor things, like un-wiped bedside tables and greasy fingerprints on the clock, and 12x12 square for night pillows.

If not for the late hour and our long travels, rationale would have made us call the front desk for another room. Fatigue definitely played a part of our dissatisfaction but I am sure that is common for many guests. We should not have to do quality checks on cleanliness of hotel rooms.

Room Tip: Make sure the room is clean before getting settled in. No matter how tired you are, contact the fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LSA23320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Envy Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2012
We’re always working to improve our product and services and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences. There is no excuse for the housekeeping issues that occurred during your stay. We have been working with our staff to ensure these matters are corrected. Thank you for the distinct service you have provided us by sharing your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

I stayed here for the first 2 nights of my trip to Baltimore This hotel is new, and very modern. I really liked the rooms and the boutique feel to the place. This is not what I expected from a Best Western. Great staff, too. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Envy Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
We are always glad to hear from our guests and are pleased our hotel the BEST WESTERN Plus Envy Hotel met all your needs. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

Aside from the entire front desk staff being incredibly incompitent, rude, & unprofessional. I was charged for 2 additional nights 2 weeks after my stay. It took me 25 days to get a credit & I was repeatedly "schooled" by the staff as to what happened and that they were positive I had already recieved a credit. Never once an apology. Absolutely horrible.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Envy Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. I was disappointed to learn of the incorrect billing and lack of customer service you experienced, as both are unacceptable and certainly not in keeping with our service goals. I will appropriately follow up with our Front Office Manager. I apologize and hope to have a future opportunity to regain your confidence and goodwill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, California, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

I spent 3 nights at this hotel in July 2011 and I was surprised to see clean and modern accommodations in a vintage stone building. While the neighborhood can seem a little rough around the edges at night, safety wasn't a big issue for me (as a female travelling alone). WiFi was free, front desk was friendly, and prices were great. They do not offer parking, but there is a lot a block away. Breakfast wasn't anything special, but the location was ideal for walking to many bars and restaurants. For adventurous walkers, the Edgar Allan Poe grave, Mt. Vernon, and The Brewer's Art are all within walking distance as well as other Baltimore points of interest. There are bus stops right outside, too. The bed was comfortable and the writing desk was convenient. Bathrooms were okay, but could use a little update (low water pressure). Checking-in and out was very prompt. I'd stay here again. 3.5 out of 5.

Room Tip: Neighborhood can be a little bleak at night for solo female travelers, but building is very safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MissFranberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Envy Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
We are glad to hear your 3 night stay with us at the BEST WESTERN Plus Envy Hotel was a good one. Thank you for your great review and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Baltimore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

The location of this hotel is great with great restaurants nearby and accessible to everything else. The room was clean and nicely decorated. The hotel did not have a microwave which I found lacking. Otherwise decent value for the money

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Maverick182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Envy Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Our location is very important to us and are glad to hear you liked it.  Thank you for taking the time to review us, the BEST WESTERN Plus Envy Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Downtown
Baltimore Plaza Inner Harbor
Baltimore Plaza Inner Harbor
#52 of 66 in Baltimore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Downtown
Radisson Hotel Baltimore Downtown-Inner Harbor
Mount Vernon
Midtown Inn
Midtown Inn
#55 of 66 in Baltimore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel RL Baltimore Inner Harbor by Red Lion
Downtown
Brookshire Suites Inner Harbor, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Envy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Envy Hotel

Property: Envy Hotel
Address: 22 E Fayette St, Baltimore, MD 21202-1706 (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Envy Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Envy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing