We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting location and decor but limited menu”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Mr. Rain's Fun House - CLOSED

Mr. Rain's Fun House
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Federal Hill
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Interesting location and decor but limited menu”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Mr. Rain's Fun House is a nice restaurant with a distinct feel. Its menu is limited and eclectic. To most diners, it will be hit or miss. This is not to say that the food isn't good or nicely prepared, because it was. The service was also very friendly and not rushed.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Evon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    18
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Funhouse Funtastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Stellar meal! I've been for lunch a few times and it was good but our dinners were all excellent! Started with pickles- they were varried- carrots, turnips, radishes, cucumber tho not plentiful. I had the hanger steak- fine cut the whiskey sauce really added to flavor w/out being overwhelming. Very ample portion, especially with ample side of potato- au' gratin(ish) and Brussel Sprouts which were pretty plain. Others in the party had the trout, shrimp w/ Kimchi and lamb. Again, all delicious and ample. Shared the Sangria Sampler- refreshing, unique & flavorful. No desserts- only had two listed I believe- planned to go elsewhere although I'm sure they were delicious. Service was attentive, engaging but not intrusive. Wonderful!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoaminInItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Extraordinarily Eclectic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

This restaurant is terrific. Located on the third floor of Baltimore's American Visionary Art Museum (which is itself fun- check out the giant Pez dispenser collection across the hall from the restaurant), Mr. Rain's Fun House is unique in my dining experience. The menu is extremely imaginative doing riffs on contemporary American cuisine by combining ingredients from the various cultures that make up this country in ways that I would never have imagined. For example, my entree included clams, mussels, shrimp, black eyed peas, and KIMCHI. Who would have thought that this combination of flavors would be so delicious? Besides a very innovative head chef, the restaurant also has a very creative mixologist who creates hand-crafted cocktails and an on premises pastry chef. The decor is very modern that creates a welcoming feeling of openness and space. I was with a nine-person party and everyone raved about the quality of the food, drink, and friendly service. This is one of the best restaurants I have ever had the pleasure to eat at. I cannot recommend it more highly and cannot wait to return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikelmask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Three strikes and out”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

The last 3 times I have gone to the Visionary Arts Museum, I have eaten at Mr. Rains Fun House, because of the convenience and the hope it will have improved. It has just gotten worse. I had lunch today with some family and I will not go back. My daughter and niece ordered a burger well done and they got a totally burned piece of meat. Pretty inedible. I had the trout sandwich and they had burned stripes on the bread where they had put it on the grill. Nothing tasted good except the french fries and the pretzel appetizers. And the prices are way out of line for the quality. The place has potential but can't seem to live up to it. The owners did a much better job when they ran Sputnick Cafe in Annapolis.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnapolisTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
132 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Mr Rain's NOT so fun house-- a stormy experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

To celebrate a family birthday, we made a reservation for 5:30pm on a Sunday for 13 people, with kids. It was a very disappointing experience overall.

It took 15 minutes just to get water, and after another long wait the drinks began to arrive, but the server only brought 2 at a time, with a long lag time in between. A $9 Martini had a baffling charge of $2 added to it, the $11 Manhattans also had $2 additional charges on them. The drinks were expensive and tiny portions for that price. It took 45 minutes before our order was taken.

The tuna tartare and the home made pickle appetizers were very good and innovative but were unable to compensate for the rest of the meal. The children's grilled cheese dinners were brought out promptly but the bread was burnt on one side. We had to request the bread for our table and when it came out, it was a laughably tiny basket for a party of 13 people. To be fair, our server did bring us more bread eventually, but she had to be asked. She was barely attentive to our needs, although she did communicate to the kitchen the allergy concerns from some members of our party.

The entrees were disappointing: the carrots were burnt on the chicken dish, the "horseradish" sauce on the underseasoned prime rib was nothing more than flour and water. Requesting salt and pepper shakers resulted in bowls of salt and pepper being brought to the table after another inexplicably long delay. We joked that they had sent someone to Lexington Market to get salt and pepper, and asked for the check before dessert was even offered.

After we had received our check the manager came out to apologize. It was much too late to bring complimentary glasses of champagne, since half of our party had abandoned the table and gone home by then. There was nobody left to celebrate a birthday with. No reason to ever go back there again. Drinks, dinner (without dessert) took 2.5 hrs for $500 before any tip was added.

I love the AVAM for showcasing untrained artists' work but showcasing an amateurish attempt at restaurant service is inexcusable.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BmoreStyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. Rain's Fun House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing