We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love love love Max's”
Review of Max's Taphouse

Max's Taphouse
Ranked #44 of 2,025 Restaurants in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Native American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Stocks nearly 200 beers on tap
Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love love love Max's”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Max's is one of the best bars I've ever been to and that's why I keep coming back. Greatest beer selection you could ask for and some of the nicest bartenders I've ever met. If you don't know what craft beer you want they will gladly help you decide based on the type of beer you typically drink. It's also a good place to watch sports with all the TVs they have! Check out Wednesday nights where they have a featured beer and you get to keep the glass. Happy hours on Fridays are a great deal too. If you are a beer lover you have to make a stop during a visit to Baltimore.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank girlontheshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    92
    32
    3
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Schuylkill Haven, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food-below average atmosphere”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Max's was a very strange experience. We were there on a Saturday night, obviously a busy time. The lines at the bar were 6-7 people deep in some places. Ok whatever.

However, the food situation was very bewildering. We had read rave reviews online about how good it tasted yet it didn't seem to exist. There were no waitresses, no menus, no menu boards. My husband, after waiting ten minutes at the bar, said politely "Do you guys serve food here?" The bartender barked at him "Yeah-you have to ask for the menus." Ummmm. Ok then.

So after getting menus, my husband again asked how to order, and apparently you give your order to the bartender, who will then make sure it will be delivered to your table.

We ordered, and in a little while this little woman came out of the kitchen carrying our food and wandered around this huge place until she found us, where she put the food down and scurried off. We couldn't even give her a tip! It all seemed weird and shady. The food, however, was honestly delicious. I just don't care for places that make me feel awkward for actually wanting to be a patron.

Plus the music was the loudest I've ever heard in a beer room. The clientele ranged in age from 21-60ish, and the blaring music was Def Leppard and Motley Crue. Why are they BLASTING it? Who's the target audience here?

Overall I would suggest going at a slow time, just because they have such a nice beer menu. Otherwise I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“So many beers so little time!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Max's is a great place to stop for a drink...or two...or three. They have over 100 beers on tap and a great menu to help decide what to get. Their menu tells you the name of the beer, the flavor that it has along with the alcohol percent so you know what you are getting. Prices are reasonable, beers are great, what more could you ask for.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BubblesDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very interesting place!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Los of beers on tap but more limited number of brewers than would expect. Very eclectic interior with different rooms and an odd assortment of artifacts. Definitely worth stopping in to check out and have a beer.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jackie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trier, Germany
Level Contributor
98 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great beer selection”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

If you enjoy beer, any kind of beer, here is where you'll find it. They have over 100 different beers on tap at least several hundred in bottles. They come from micro breweries and from all over the world. Pictures don't show it all!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Max's Taphouse also viewed

 

Been to Max's Taphouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing