We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very nice people”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Baltimore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Baltimorean Apartments
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not very nice people”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

old matress, they charge you for the A/C, TV and microwave. No help at all. Not nice. I don't reccomend it. The only good thing is the location. The efficiency is too closed so if you cook smell wil NEVER go away

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltapts, Manager at Baltimorean Apartments, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
This apartment had a brand new mattress, which was installed in the apartment shortly before this person's arrival. The AC, TV and microwave are an extra fee, as was explained to the tenant before their arrival, as well as on our website and advertised rental rate listings. This particular apartment has plenty of windows and had a window air conditioner installed, so any cooking smells could have easily been taken care of by either opening the windows or by filtering through the AC unit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    2
    4
    7
See reviews for
1
2
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

The only reason I stayed at the Baltimorean was because of its convenient location. Their prices are competitive, but what you get is what you see. Be sure to take a tour before signing the lease. The building itself is very old, the elevator is frequently out of order, the pipes make loud clanking noises, and the studios have really dirty floors with ratty carpets. Since it's an old building, they have lead issues. The paint peels easily so it gets a little scary. They do offer to re-paint so notify them immediately when you see peeling paint. The management office is never open the entire duration of their operating/"open" hours so it's hit-or-miss when you need to talk to someone. My main problem with the Baltimorean is the spotty and often rude management. The bottom line is, once they get your money, they don't really care anymore. Their communication is terrific when they want to remind you of bills to pay, but when you need maintenance or have other questions, don't expect to hear back from them soon. They like to take their sweet time when you need help most. Don't count on getting your security deposit back.

Read everything they give you extremely carefully. There are fees for all kinds of things.

Room Tip: Read everything they give you EXTREMELY CAREFULLY
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank herbery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltapts, Manager at Baltimorean Apartments, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
New tenants are always given a tour of the apartment before the lease is signed. If there is a problem with the apartment at that time, the tenant has the option not to move into the apartment or we can resolve whatever the issue is. Yes, the building is old (it was built in 1927) and all buildings built before 1950 contain lead paint. We are following the lead paint regulations required by the State of Maryland and have lead inspections/dust wipe tests completed between tenants. The apartments do not have peeling paint when tenants move in, since it would not pass a state inspection if it did. If the paint starts peeling later, the tenant should notify management and the problem will be taken care of as soon as possible. The elevators are old, however, they are well maintained and are not frequently out of order. The building does have an old radiator heating system and some of the pipes will make some noise while the steam is going through them. We do everything we can to minimize this issue. The apartments have original wood floors, which are cleaned prior to the tenant's arrival. In the main living area, we use area rugs to help protect the floor and reduce noise for the tenant's living underneath that unit. We replace these rugs whenever necessary. Our normal business hours are Monday-Friday from 9 am to 4:30 pm, however, there are times when no one is in the office during part of the day, due to showing apartments, picking up supplies, running errands, lunch, etc. but this is not usually for extended periods of time. We are also available by email at anytime. We are not rude to our tenants and we always respond promptly to any maintenance requests or questions. There is an online maintenance request form that goes directly to our email or a tenant can send an email directly. There is also a mail slot on the office door for written requests. We do require that all maintenance requests are in writing unless it is an emergency. Non-emergency maintenance requests are usually resolved the next business day. We have a 24 hour answering service available for emergencies and we take care of these problems right away. Any questions by tenants can be taken care of by email, telephone or by coming to the office during our business hours. All emails are responded to within 1 business day of receiving it. For security deposits, we follow Maryland State law, which requires the deposit to be returned within 45 days of the tenant moving out. We are also required to provide a written list of any deductions and add 3% interest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Baltimore hotels

Providence, RI
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2010

We stayed here for my daughters graduation from Johns Hopkins. The place is very convenient to JHU and the rooms are large, but other than that, there isn't much good to say about it.

The Baltimorean Apartments (as the name implies) is primarily an apartment complex. However, they set aside several apartments to offer as guest rooms.

We arrived at 3:35 pm to claim the room we reserved several months ago. The front door was locked and no one was in the lobby. After a few calls to the number posted on the door, someone arrived and told us our room would be ready at 4pm, claiming that's when our "appointment" was for. Okay, no big deal.

We took the elevator to our 4th floor room opened the door and were met with the smell of gas. I was able to figure out that the 2 pilot lights on the stove were out. I was able to relight them and solve the gas problem.

The next morning we pressed the elevator button but no elevator responded. Eventually a sign appeared on the elevator door in the lobby that the elevator is broken and the repairman has been called. The sign remained there for the duration of our 2 day stay.

Upon checking out I complained about the elevator issue arguing that we didn't bargain for a 4th floor walk-up and requested a partial refund. The response: ":No. we have a lot of residents who are leaving this weekend, and it's a lot worse for them". I suppose it was.

Residents of the complex told us that the elevator breaks regularly.

In sum, The Baltimorean Apartments are very convenient to Johns Hopkins and to the Baltimore Museum of Art. Otherwise, there is not much to recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank garyLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltapts, Manager at Baltimorean Apartments, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
The Baltimorean Apartments is an apartment building, however, we do offer short term rentals, as well as guest rooms. Yes, we do require appointments for viewing apartments, as well as moving in. The room was still in the process of being cleaned and was cleaned by 4 pm, which was the appointment time. The person who was cleaning the apartment normally would have been in the office that day, but the previous guest left the same day and this was the only time available to clean the room. The pilot lights sometimes go out in the process of cleaning the stove and the person cleaning the stove may not realize it. This is easily resolved by simply relighting the pilots. Yes, the elevator did stop working during this person's stay. This was a major repair and did require the elevator to be down for several weeks. This is very unusual.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Radisson Hotel at Cross Keys
#27 of 66 in Baltimore
602 reviews
The Ivy Hotel
#1 of 66 in Baltimore
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Indigo Baltimore Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baltimorean Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baltimorean Apartments

Property: Baltimorean Apartments
Address: 2905 N Charles St, Office, Baltimore, MD 21218-4056
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Baltimore
Number of rooms: 66

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing