We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Brexton - clean, courteous and close to the action.”
Review of Hotel Brexton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Brexton
Ranked #28 of 67 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
York, PA, USA
1 review
“Hotel Brexton - clean, courteous and close to the action.”
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Hotel Brexton was clean, courteous and close to the action. We attended the New Year's celebrations and were looking for a safe way to enjoy the holiday. The hotel facilities were clean and within an one block walking distance of the clubs and restaurants. We were able to park and enjoy. I know we will return.
Thanks,
J. Williams
York, PA

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willijam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    112
    35
    18
    24
See reviews for
66
208
55
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hawthorne, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Recently reopened after a complete renovation, the Brexton is a welcome surprise. The hotel is spotless and pleasant. Continental breakfast is acceptable, but could be changed to a European breakfast with ease. Secure parking is several blocks away, but the hotel staff says there have been no incidents with street parking. We were pleased with our room and its contents.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2010

The Hotel Brexton does a fabulous job of taking care of its guests. The rooms are well appointed and decorated, the bed very comfortable, the continental breakfast more than adequate, and the staff extremely customer-oriented. I will be staying here for my third time in June 2011 for 8 days and really looking forward to it. The location of the hotel is very convenient to Baltimore sights and has a number of good restaurants in close proximity. It is a great value for the money. I have no negative comments about the experience of staying at the Brexton. Also, the cleanliness of the property is superior.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerry021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Brexton. It is in a historic part of Baltimore, which is great to explore and our room was lovely. Most importantly, the staff were fantastic, so helpful and friendly and made us feel very welcome. We loved staying there.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aroha-Aotearoa33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Brexton on 11/30/10 for just one night. [Our teenage son was auditioning for the Berklee College of Music program at a nearby jazz institute]. The hotel desk clerk cheerfully greeted us and swiftly booked us into our room...a nice size with two queen size beds. This renovated hotel was charming, crisp and clean. Everything appeared brand new and smelled fresh. A rare treasure in the hotel business. The only downsides and I hate to even point them out are, first, the shower stall was tiny and hard to maneuver in even for my 5"2' frame, and, secondly, our room faced the street and at times during the night it got a bit loud. Also, the hotel does not offer free Wifi. Expect to pay about $10 to check your email. More good points however included free parking and a very simple but acceptable continental breakfast. The front desk clerk made a great dinner suggestion--the City Cafe--that was in easy walking distance. All in all, we were quite happy with the Hotel Brexton and highly recommend it to travelers.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KTra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 30, 2010

This hotel is located in the Mount Vernon area of the city and what a gem! Beautiful newly refurbished building, convienient parking, a very warm reception, nice continental breakfast choices and secure building. Paul greeted us and made us feel welcomed, offered us a second night at a discounted rate. The 4th floor room was very clean and quiet and the bed was so comfortable. A very good deal! I look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VaGenteelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2010

We loved this place! The service at the front desk was helpful, courteous and friendly. The room was lovely, nicely appointed, spacious and very clean. The location was perfect, we liked the fact that we were in town but didn't have the normal street sounds, it was very quiet.

Only thing negative is that when we got to our room I did smell cigarette smoke. Like the last reviewer, I told the front desk since we didn't want to be charged the $250.00 fine for smoking. The smell wasn't enough to make us change our room - which they offered to do but it was clear that someone had smoked in that room in the past. They also offered to spray the room and we declined. Hmmm...seems to be a common problem...we were on the 2nd floor. Even with that minor issue, we still would stay at the Brexton again when we are visiting Baltimore.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boufie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Downtown
Hotel Indigo Baltimore Downtown
Downtown
Lord Baltimore Hotel
Lord Baltimore Hotel
#17 of 67 in Baltimore
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Baltimore Downtown
Fells Point
Admiral Fell Inn
Admiral Fell Inn
#7 of 67 in Baltimore
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brexton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brexton

Property: Hotel Brexton
Address: 868 Park Ave, Baltimore, MD 21201-4863
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 67 Hotels in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Brexton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome you to the Hotel Brexton in Mount Vernon, a Designated National Landmark Historic District and a Baltimore Cultural District. Hotel Brexton is a 29-room Queen Anne style boutique hotel, originally constructed in 1881 and beautifully restored in 2010. It is certainly one of Baltimore's Most Unique Historic Hotels and appropriately situated a short walk from Baltimore's finest museums, art institutes, restaurants, night life, antique shops, colleges, symphony and theatre, galleries, and public transportation (train, light rail, and free City bus!). Escape the ordinary and immerse yourself in first-class service and accommodations in this boutique hotel located in the heart of Baltimore, just North of the Harbor and the perfect Hop from NY, Philly, DC or abroad. Rich colors and a trendy atmosphere set the tone for a luxurious experience. The charming and historic hotel offers business and leisure guests the ultimate in comfort and style. Come reacquaint yourself with dedicated service on an intimate scale, recapture the romance of travel and delight in the art of individuality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Brexton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing