We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint but cute”
Review of Hotel Brexton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Brexton
Ranked #32 of 67 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2014

What a wonderful find. Amazing renovation of a very significant old structure. Clean nice sized room. Comfortable bed. Smashing staff. Eboni is super helpful and highly recommended. Lucky to get one of the parking spaces right outside the Hotel. Breakfast is adequate, especially if you know you are going to have a huge Brunch shortly. The Hotel is close enough to the free Circulator bus that you can leave your car at the hotel when you go downtown. Wonderful wonderful place.

Room Tip: If you can get it, ask for the King Edward Suite on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Thank you for such a kind review. We take great pride in our dedication and outstanding customer service. We truly enjoyed having you as our guest and we look forward to your return to the Brexton!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (476)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 476 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014

Arrived at late evening,, room was there but everything was not good- couch in room was old and tattered, elevator rickety and most importantly heat was not working. In addition, the heat is controlled by the front desk and not by the guest. It was so cold in room, I couldn't take off my winter coat. i informed front desk that i couldnt stay. The receptionist said heat would go on in a few minutes-well it didnt. At midnight the hotel arranged for me to be transferred to another hotel-that gives them one star and no more.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank aen1563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob G, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2015

Hello,

I am Bob, the GM for Hotel Brexton since the end of April 2015 and I'd like to take this opportunity to apologize for your experience as you described it in your March 2014 posting to tripadvisor.

Your frustration was clear and you deserve an apology. I'll be honest with you, I saw posting shortly after taking the position as GM and opted to refrain from responding until I was able to observe our practices, policies and customer service standards first hand.

I will not make excuses for what occurred in February of 2014. But can assure you that as far as I am able to see, what you experienced at that time is not what is typical of Hotel Brexton now and hopefully was an isolated issue with an employee or circumstance at that time.

It is true that we have a small elevator, though it is not typically rickety; and we have replaced some furnishings as needed over time. In fact, on a positive note... one of my opportunities with Hotel Brexton is that I am upgrading rooms not out of need, but rather so that we are able to provide 29 rooms with distinct personalities. The lobby is already transformed (photos are available on our Facebook page) and a few of the rooms already boast new furnishings and are slated for historic paint colors.

As for the temperature, Baltimore experiences some very cold nights in the winter as you know from living in New York. And the historic beauty of our building includes features like high ceilings and original single-pane historic windows on the lobby level. We have worked through some of the "old world charm" issues and are further implementing improvements that should correct what you described.

I know that is not all great news for your visit to Baltimore at that time. But I encourage you to give us another opportunity to show you what now I am able to state as GM is our standard. Please feel free to contact me personally at one of the numbers below to discuss a possible future stay with us.

And again, I am sorry that no one provided an appropriate apology to you before now.

Sincerely,
Bob

HOTEL BREXTON
"the place to stay when you choose to be out and about in Baltimore"

Robert (Bob) Glock, General Manager
868 PARK AVE., BALTIMORE, MD 21201
443-677-0245 (c) / 443-478-2100 (p) / 443-478-2199 (f)

Mount Vernon is both a Designated National Landmark
Historic District and a Baltimore Cultural District

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised based on some not so great reviews I read online. Stayed here for only one night and wished e could have stayed longer. The room (301) was very big but cozy. I felt very at home. There was a mini fridge and the bathroom was very modern. The bed was comfortable. We checked in at night and immediately left for a concert and ate at the Harbor so we did not spend much time in the hotel neighborhood. The next morning it was so hard to get up to check out. There was also complimentary wine in the lobby when we checked in. Thank you for a wonderful Valentine's Day!

Room Tip: Room 301 was very big! not sure what other rooms look like but i was happy with this one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased to know we could provide you with a Valentine's getaway. Room 301 is one of our favorites as well. Please stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Brexton for just one night. We found it to be a very nice surprise. It was a lovely old hotel and had a lot of charm. From our first encounter at the front desk,to our cozy room .We found this hotel to fill all our needs and more. It was clean and up to date. We liked that we could ride the bus to the harbor for free as well park are car for free. The continental Breakfast was just enough. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank renew25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post such a kind review. We take great pride in these comments. We hope that you will join us again soon in Baltimore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

A good experience that could have been great with attention to detail. A friendly (if slow) staff, a clean (if slightly shabby) room, and a great area (with a view of an ugly building across the way).

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you for your review. We value all of our guests opinions, and we hope that you will stay with us again to prove our award winning service to you. We promise your next visit will be "great."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

I spent the past week at the Brexton while my condo' s bathroom was being renovated. I'd never heard of it, found it on the app Hotel Tonight. It was less than a mile from my home. The staff couldn't have been nicer, the room was very clean, and they are pet friendly. It's so close to City Cafe which is a fav. I will definitely have friends and family stay there when visiting me.

Room Tip: I liked the layout of the 04 rooms 204 being my fav
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ccbeachbum2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

We truly appreciate your kind words, and we are so pleased to be your home while you are renovating. We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

The hotel was lovely. What a delightful boutique hotel with the right mix of turn of the century aesthetics and modern conveniences. It is walking distance from the train station or a 5 minute cab ride. The neighborhood
has such a incredible array of restaurants. A five minute walk or less
will take you from Ethiopian to Afghan to Indian fare. Besides these nice
bonuses, I have to call out Milton and Paul who worked during the days I was staying. They were so attentive and proactive with brilliant suggestions of where to eat (how I found out about the aforementioned) to helping with rental-a-cars (challenge on a FREEZING morning at 8 am). All their help, and suggestions of the entire staff was done with such warmth,
I was quite swept away. Last but not least, for those business travelers
looking for a different option to the mega sky rise chains, SUPER FAST WIFI!! Woop! Overall, an outstanding experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Thank you so very much for your kind words. We truly enjoyed having you as our guest, and we look forward to seeing you again soon. We could not agree with you more, we are an excellent option for outside the big chain hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Downtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Baltimore Downtown
Downtown
Hotel Indigo Baltimore Downtown
Downtown
Lord Baltimore Hotel
Lord Baltimore Hotel
#15 of 67 in Baltimore
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel RL Baltimore Inner Harbor by Red Lion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brexton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brexton

Address: 868 Park Ave, Baltimore, MD 21201-4863
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 67 Hotels in Baltimore
Price Range: $107 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Brexton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome you to the Hotel Brexton in Mount Vernon, a designated National Landmark Historic District and a Baltimore Cultural District. Hotel Brexton is a 29-room Queen Anne style boutique hotel, originally constructed in 1881 and beautifully restored in 2010. It is certainly one of Baltimore's most unique historic hotels and situated a short walk from Baltimore's finest museums, art institutes, restaurants, night life, antique shops, colleges, symphony, theatres, galleries, and public transportation (train, light rail, and free City bus!). Escape the ordinary and immerse yourself in first-class service and accommodations in this boutique hotel located in the heart of Baltimore, just North of the Harbor. Our charming and historic hotel offers business and leisure guests the ultimate in comfort and style. Come reacquaint yourself with dedicated service on an intimate scale, recapture the romance of travel and delight in the art of individuality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Brexton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing