We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Historic, Charming, Convenient, and Comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Brexton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Brexton
Ranked #28 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level Contributor
153 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Historic, Charming, Convenient, and Comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Travelled to Baltimore for a concert and planned to stay the night as a mini-vacation. Hotel Brexton was literally a few minutes walk from the Lyric Opera House, the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, and several restaurants. We were able to park in a reserved space beside the hotel, which was very convenient in downtown Baltimore. The rooms were uniquely shaped, clean and comfortable. We appreciated the attention to detail (lots of organic coffee, a Keurig, extra blankets) and enjoyed reading about recent renovations that restored this historic property. Staff were very friendly. A continental breakfast was included, but we did not participate. We did, however, enjoy the 24-hour coffee, espresso, and cappuccino. Already planning a return visit!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MegtheHealer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing your kind words. We all take great pride in knowing you had such a wonderful experience at our hotel. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    107
    31
    17
    22
See reviews for
60
191
50
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Nice old house with a sense of history. Well located, nice crew, clean room, simple but good free breakfast. Had to do a lot of internet work and connection was always good and front desk personnel ready to help with printing support as well as transportation coordination

Room Tip: Corner suits are nice and have good views; try to get a room with street view, in any case
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ealv21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Our front desk staff works hard to provide the best customer service in Baltimore! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend for a night. Nice location and beautiful historic building. The price tag, however, was far too high to deal with the room noise, the infrequent cable connection and the peeling paint on the room wall. Would return for a stay if the price was cut in half. Bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aprilhman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are sorry you felt out hotel was overpriced. Our prices vary according to demand and special events in the area. Please contact us soon and we will work with you for the best possible rate for your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

The hotel room was overall clean, and was different then most hotel rooms you stay in which was nice. However, the hotel advertises they have free parking, which in Baltimore is a big deal but they do not tell you until you arrive that they only have 5 parking spots for the entire hotel. Once those five spots are filled, your stuck paying a meter. The inner harbor is not as close as you would think. On very hot days there is no chance you want to walk there which means you end up driving and paying 26 dollars to park for the day. So the hotels location is very in-convent. The breakfast they advertise is in there basement, which is not pleasant. Overall, our stay was fair but I will not be choosing hotel brexton again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthonywright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
78 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

The Brexton is a renovated historic hotel that falls short overall. The front desk staff frequently disappears and there's no bell on the counter so you just yell "HELLO" until someone eventually appears. The rooms are comfortable and updated but walls are paper thin so you hear everything going on next door. The hotel features the smallest and slowest elevator ever, so ask for a first or second floor room to avoid long waits. A member of our group cut her foot badly on the bottom of the sharp metal shower door (be careful!). I went to call the front desk and my room phone was dead. Really.

All in all, a very mixed experience. I wanted to like the hotel more but I truly believe you can find a better property with more amenities and better staffing.

Room Tip: Get a first or second floor room to avoid the painfully slow elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tobeginwith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
We apologize for your recent experience at our hotel. We are looking into each and every matter in your review to be sure this does not happen to another guest. We hope that your friend's foot is better, and we can assure we have repaired the bathroom that had this issue. We hope that you will give us a second chance soon to prove our award winning service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
Level Contributor
243 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

An historic, architectural jewel of a building has been modernized on the interior to make it a perfect delight for the contemporary traveller. Part of the big appeal is the unexpected. The rooms are not simple squares, rectangles, or any traditional geometric shapes. The space preserves the original design, respecting its integrity rather than reducing it to humdrum conformity. Another delight were the windows, which retain their original dimensions and settings. Modern amenities are provided in a thoughtful and convenient manner, including an effective individual climate control system. The staff are an inn keeper's dream. Welcoming, gracious, knowledgeable, efficient and thoroughly reliable. Taxis arrived when requested, boarding passes were printed and produced in a timely fashion, and the dining and activity suggestions were
excellent. Concierge services at their most outstanding level!
One small downside is the location. Although the neighborhood is safe, clean, and has interesting small shops and darling row houses. It is also rather far -like too far to walk easily- away from many attractions, including the inner harbor. Visitors to the Johns Hopkins facilities will find the location quite convenient. A plus to being away from the major tourist areas is that street
parking is available and secure.
The Brexton was a complete delight!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had a great overnight stay at Hotel Brexton. We arrived in the morning prior to check-in and our room was already ready. We had a King room which was so nice, high ceilings, beautiful bathroom. Everything was clean and modern and the staff was very accommodating. This is one of the,ore affordable hotels in the area compared to the chains on the Inner Harbor and its just a short cab ride away to those main attractions. Also the conteintenal breakfast was nice, typical smaller items. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank getupk8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind recommendation and review of our hotel. We could not agree with you more that our hotel is a much better option from the big chains. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Downtown
Hotel Indigo Baltimore Downtown
Downtown
Lord Baltimore Hotel
Lord Baltimore Hotel
#17 of 66 in Baltimore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
The Ivy Hotel
#3 of 66 in Baltimore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Pier 5 Hotel
#11 of 66 in Baltimore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brexton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brexton

Property: Hotel Brexton
Address: 868 Park Ave, Baltimore, MD 21201-4863
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Brexton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome you to the Hotel Brexton in Mount Vernon, a Designated National Landmark Historic District and a Baltimore Cultural District. Hotel Brexton is a 29-room Queen Anne style boutique hotel, originally constructed in 1881 and beautifully restored in 2010. It is certainly one of Baltimore's Most Unique Historic Hotels and appropriately situated a short walk from Baltimore's finest museums, art institutes, restaurants, night life, antique shops, colleges, symphony and theatre, galleries, and public transportation (train, light rail, and free City bus!). Escape the ordinary and immerse yourself in first-class service and accommodations in this boutique hotel located in the heart of Baltimore, just North of the Harbor and the perfect Hop from NY, Philly, DC or abroad. Rich colors and a trendy atmosphere set the tone for a luxurious experience. The charming and historic hotel offers business and leisure guests the ultimate in comfort and style. Come reacquaint yourself with dedicated service on an intimate scale, recapture the romance of travel and delight in the art of individuality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Brexton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing