We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but overpriced”
Review of Hotel Brexton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Brexton
Ranked #32 of 67 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend for a night. Nice location and beautiful historic building. The price tag, however, was far too high to deal with the room noise, the infrequent cable connection and the peeling paint on the room wall. Would return for a stay if the price was cut in half. Bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aprilhman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you felt out hotel was overpriced. Our prices vary according to demand and special events in the area. Please contact us soon and we will work with you for the best possible rate for your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (476)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 476 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

The hotel room was overall clean, and was different then most hotel rooms you stay in which was nice. However, the hotel advertises they have free parking, which in Baltimore is a big deal but they do not tell you until you arrive that they only have 5 parking spots for the entire hotel. Once those five spots are filled, your stuck paying a meter. The inner harbor is not as close as you would think. On very hot days there is no chance you want to walk there which means you end up driving and paying 26 dollars to park for the day. So the hotels location is very in-convent. The breakfast they advertise is in there basement, which is not pleasant. Overall, our stay was fair but I will not be choosing hotel brexton again in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthonywright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The Brexton is a renovated historic hotel that falls short overall. The front desk staff frequently disappears and there's no bell on the counter so you just yell "HELLO" until someone eventually appears. The rooms are comfortable and updated but walls are paper thin so you hear everything going on next door. The hotel features the smallest and slowest elevator ever, so ask for a first or second floor room to avoid long waits. A member of our group cut her foot badly on the bottom of the sharp metal shower door (be careful!). I went to call the front desk and my room phone was dead. Really.

All in all, a very mixed experience. I wanted to like the hotel more but I truly believe you can find a better property with more amenities and better staffing.

Room Tip: Get a first or second floor room to avoid the painfully slow elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tobeginwith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

We apologize for your recent experience at our hotel. We are looking into each and every matter in your review to be sure this does not happen to another guest. We hope that your friend's foot is better, and we can assure we have repaired the bathroom that had this issue. We hope that you will give us a second chance soon to prove our award winning service to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

An historic, architectural jewel of a building has been modernized on the interior to make it a perfect delight for the contemporary traveller. Part of the big appeal is the unexpected. The rooms are not simple squares, rectangles, or any traditional geometric shapes. The space preserves the original design, respecting its integrity rather than reducing it to humdrum conformity. Another delight were the windows, which retain their original dimensions and settings. Modern amenities are provided in a thoughtful and convenient manner, including an effective individual climate control system. The staff are an inn keeper's dream. Welcoming, gracious, knowledgeable, efficient and thoroughly reliable. Taxis arrived when requested, boarding passes were printed and produced in a timely fashion, and the dining and activity suggestions were
excellent. Concierge services at their most outstanding level!
One small downside is the location. Although the neighborhood is safe, clean, and has interesting small shops and darling row houses. It is also rather far -like too far to walk easily- away from many attractions, including the inner harbor. Visitors to the Johns Hopkins facilities will find the location quite convenient. A plus to being away from the major tourist areas is that street
parking is available and secure.
The Brexton was a complete delight!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had a great overnight stay at Hotel Brexton. We arrived in the morning prior to check-in and our room was already ready. We had a King room which was so nice, high ceilings, beautiful bathroom. Everything was clean and modern and the staff was very accommodating. This is one of the,ore affordable hotels in the area compared to the chains on the Inner Harbor and its just a short cab ride away to those main attractions. Also the conteintenal breakfast was nice, typical smaller items. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank getupk8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for your kind recommendation and review of our hotel. We could not agree with you more that our hotel is a much better option from the big chains. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Overall it's a good hotel to stay. For the money I paid, $99 per night, the historically renovation hotel room is okay, with a nice city view. The room is clean, the bed is comfortable to sleep on but I found a dirt spot on the blanket which is unacceptable.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joystar11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the room and view. We apologize for the dirt spot, and we will be sure to inspect all of our blankets. We hope that you will join us again soon for another stay in Baltimore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I had a recent stay at the Brexton. The room was noisy, they stuck us next to the elevator control room and we constantly heard the motor squeal every other minute during our stay. Rarely had a pair of wash cloths, didn't replace toilet paper also had to beg for a an extra towel on one day. They do give you about 8 bed pillows but I have no idea why.

I found some of the staff friendly, others were clueless. The manager Paul is worthless and I caught him red handed in a lie. We booked a 4 night stay and my wife rolled her ankle on their deathtrap spiral staircase. We decided that it would be best if we leave after three days because she could not walk to and through the museums. The heartless and smug manager Paul M told me he could not issue me a refund. I found that to be a lie. The booking service said they can reimburse but it is at the discretion of the hotel manager. He tried to give me discounts off of future stays (have it on tape).
I also have pics of the deathtrap spiral staircase. I will share it with those who want to see. Stay away. I should think about suing this hotel. I cannot recall ever seeing a staircase without a handrail in a public place. Very shady management. I asked to speak to Paul's boss, but Paul said he is as high as it gets. I actually like the location and would have come back in 6 weeks for the Egypt exhibit. Four of us will come back for three nights and book two rooms, obviously it will be in a different hotel thanks to Paul. I am telling you the absolute truth.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

We are sorry for your recent experience at our hotel. We hope that your wife's ankle is better. We do have an elevator in our hotel for our guest's convenience. The staircase is part of our historic charm, but guests do not have to use it. As for a refund, we did show you that your Expedia reservation was non-refundable so that is why we offered you a discount on a future stay instead. We hope to have you and your wife as our guest again soon to prove our award winning service to you. After all, your wife wrote a wonderful review in our guest book about how "beautiful the city is and how lovely our hotel is."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Downtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Baltimore Downtown
Downtown
Hotel Indigo Baltimore Downtown
Downtown
Lord Baltimore Hotel
Lord Baltimore Hotel
#16 of 67 in Baltimore
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Brookshire Suites Inner Harbor, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brexton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brexton

Address: 868 Park Ave, Baltimore, MD 21201-4863
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 67 Hotels in Baltimore
Price Range: $108 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Brexton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome you to the Hotel Brexton in Mount Vernon, a designated National Landmark Historic District and a Baltimore Cultural District. Hotel Brexton is a 29-room Queen Anne style boutique hotel, originally constructed in 1881 and beautifully restored in 2010. It is certainly one of Baltimore's most unique historic hotels and situated a short walk from Baltimore's finest museums, art institutes, restaurants, night life, antique shops, colleges, symphony, theatres, galleries, and public transportation (train, light rail, and free City bus!). Escape the ordinary and immerse yourself in first-class service and accommodations in this boutique hotel located in the heart of Baltimore, just North of the Harbor. Our charming and historic hotel offers business and leisure guests the ultimate in comfort and style. Come reacquaint yourself with dedicated service on an intimate scale, recapture the romance of travel and delight in the art of individuality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Brexton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing