We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memorable and Meaningful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Brexton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Brexton
Ranked #29 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Memorable and Meaningful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

The Hotel Brexton is a slice of old Baltimore sprinkled with all the amenities and conveniences of new Baltimore. Great location in the heart of Mount Vernon. All the history you could want and just enough of the familiar you will need. A perfect distance from the inner harbor, but look around the neighborhood for a priceless experience of museums, local street art, and food. You will love the Hotel architecture (spiral stairwell is unforgettable) and the 24/7 coffee bar is my personal fav. The rooms are an ode to making the most out of old world spaces (Nate Berkus is taking note). I highly recommend it and tell Ester at the front desk, "Kevin and Stephanie sent you!"

Room Tip: The higher up you are, the better the view. Take the stairs and give yourself a turn of the century...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinEarlColbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at our hotel. We could not agree more with your generous thoughts of our amazing hotel. Ester and all of the staff truly enjoyed having you as our guest and cannot wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    108
    32
    17
    22
See reviews for
60
195
50
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Large room and large bathroom. Friendly and helpful staff. Good location - the free bus to Inner Harbor was only a short walk. Good breakfast (various cereals and breads and lots of bananas). We were lucky and were able to park in one of the few spots directly outside the l. Hotel has interesting history. A very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
We are all so proud of the effort our staff makes each and every day. Your kind words will go a long way to keep our team motivated. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We were so very excited to stay here and hoping for a great time, however it will not be possible. We too ( like traveler below) purchased a Living Social deal with almost the exact scenario. As soon as we purchased, we contacted the hotel and they said to call back tomorrow between 8 and 5 to talk to manager. We immediately email and called the following day to find out he had already gone home for the day at 1PM! The employee was so quick to get off the phone not concerned with working anything out. The only option she gave after being prompted was for us to pay an upgrade fee.

Hospitality lesson 101: Make arrangements to make the customer happy. This is a weeknight which will more than likely have vacancy, fill it and gain a lifelong customer!

CLEARLY, they do not care, because even after prior complaint, no arrangments were offered.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MooreTraveling4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
I sincerely apologize for this situation. Please know we are implementing a better system for Living Social Deals so this does not happen again. We hope that you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

I purchased a Living Social voucher on 7/15/2013 the voucher arrived promptly. I visited the hotel online reservations and there were rooms at this category available. I then contacted the hotel reservation office. they told me that I needed to talk with the manager who would not be in until 8:30 the next day. I called the hotel the next day at 9am and was told that the manager was at a meeting and I should email him instaed of calling. I did that immediately with all the details.I did not hear anything from the hotel. i called again at 5:30 that day and was told that the manager was ill all day and no one was responding to the emails. Then they said that all of the rooms were booked for the day I was requesting. The reservation agent was less then useful. This is the absolute worst booking arrangement I have experiened in over 40 years of booking hundreds of rooms in the US and abroad. There is undoubtedly a problem with the management of this hotel. This is experience was horrible. you should not deal with this merchant.

Frequent DC traveler

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveler60A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
I sincerely apologize for your recent experience with making a reservation at our hotel. This is very unacceptable, and we are currently implementing a better system so this does not happen again. I hope to be able meet you on a future visit to our hotel if you'll give us another opportunity to prove to you our award-winning service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

So many things went wrong with my stay at this hotel that I'm not sure where to start.

First, my reservation was not honored as booked. I had reserved a king room over the phone in a conversation with the manager, and received email confirmation for it. On arrival I was given a queen room. The agent at the front desk assured me this was my mistake despite my confirmation in hand. There were no king rooms available. Ordinarily I would have left for another hotel but it was very late at night. The agent arranged to move me to a king room for the second night, so I agreed to stay. She handled this change of room very well, which I appreciated, and is the only reason I'm rating my stay "poor" rather than "terrible"

Later, it emerged that the manager had in fact booked me a queen room with a "free upgrade" to a king room -- even though I had specifically requested a king room, at the king rate, and had not requested any discounts (other than inquiring about whether they participate with AAA).

When I received the bill, I had been overcharged. I had to sort this out (along with the above issue) via email with the manager after the fact. As an apology for my trouble I was offered a 50% discount on my next stay -- though I was clear, there will be no next stay.

The rooms themselves were not very nice. The building is old but not much historical detail has been preserved in the renovation. It all feels like new, cheap, Home Depot stuff.

There were also numerous bugs (silverfish) in both rooms.

The free breakfast, as other reviewers have noted, is nothing beyond cereal and stale bagels, and is served in a small, cramped, and unwelcoming basement room.

Truly, a disappointing experience from beginning to end.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JiraMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Pets: USD per day. Yes, 4 nights cost USD 200,-.
No lounge area; nowhere to hang out for a few hours.
Limited parking facilities, breakfast meagre.
Pretty far from downtown and at the edge of Mt Vernon.
Only plus: rooms are large and clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andries W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
We are truly sorry for your experience at our hotel. Our pet fee covers the cost to clean our guest rooms so they are thoroughly cleaned for the next guest. Our boutique hotel is limited on space, but there are plenty of dining options in the area. We hope that you will give us a second chance on your next visit to Baltimore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Recently stayed here for one night to see David Byrne at the Meyerhoff. From check-in to out, staff and hotel could not have been better. Free espresso drinks, free limited parking, and stylish, comfortable room. And it's an easy 5 minute walk to Meyerhoff. Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itchyfeetVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
We truly enjoyed having you as our guest as well! Thank you for taking the time to share this wonderful review. We can't wait to have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Downtown
Hotel Indigo Baltimore Downtown
Downtown
Lord Baltimore Hotel
Lord Baltimore Hotel
#17 of 66 in Baltimore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
The Ivy Hotel
#1 of 66 in Baltimore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Fells Point
Admiral Fell Inn
Admiral Fell Inn
#5 of 66 in Baltimore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brexton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brexton

Property: Hotel Brexton
Address: 868 Park Ave, Baltimore, MD 21201-4863
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Brexton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome you to the Hotel Brexton in Mount Vernon, a Designated National Landmark Historic District and a Baltimore Cultural District. Hotel Brexton is a 29-room Queen Anne style boutique hotel, originally constructed in 1881 and beautifully restored in 2010. It is certainly one of Baltimore's Most Unique Historic Hotels and appropriately situated a short walk from Baltimore's finest museums, art institutes, restaurants, night life, antique shops, colleges, symphony and theatre, galleries, and public transportation (train, light rail, and free City bus!). Escape the ordinary and immerse yourself in first-class service and accommodations in this boutique hotel located in the heart of Baltimore, just North of the Harbor and the perfect Hop from NY, Philly, DC or abroad. Rich colors and a trendy atmosphere set the tone for a luxurious experience. The charming and historic hotel offers business and leisure guests the ultimate in comfort and style. Come reacquaint yourself with dedicated service on an intimate scale, recapture the romance of travel and delight in the art of individuality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Brexton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing