We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite Baltimore B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 12 Baltimore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Tampa, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our favorite Baltimore B&B”
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Great location - easy to walk to the Harbor. Parking is a huge plus. Each room is unique and comfortable. Staff friendly and accommodating and the chocolate chip cookies are the best. So interesting hearing about the history of the house and all the years of work it took to making this B&B a place that we would want to come back to when staying in Baltimore.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank diverfromFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
51
248
19
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2010

A wonderful place, full of history, early american charm and gracious hosts. The food was delicious, served timely and elegantly. The room was beyond expectations, esp. for people who love early American decor. We are planning to make this our one and only accomodation when visiting our family in Baltimore.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank balooRochester_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2010

If you're looking for a great place to stay within walking distance of all the important Baltimore sights, Rachel's Dowry is the B&B to pick. This elegant Federal Period home has been fully restored by owners who love the city and can provide all the history lessons you want. The light rail goes right from BWI airport to Camden Yards, which is a 5 minutes walk to the front door. There are many sights in Baltimore, our favorite was the waterfront, aquarium and historic ships.
Our elegant room was quiet, spacious and comfortable. Breakfast (one day eggs, one day great pancakes) was excellent.
Having owners who really know the city and the restored home was a plus. We didn't need the on-site paking lot, however it would have been nice had we driven our car.
Highly recommend Rachel's Dowry B&B for anyone visiting Baltimore.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank South13th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2010

I came to Baltimore with my husband, who was on business, and I on pleasure and thoroughly enjoyed the ambience of the oversize house. The breakfast was excellent and all the staff both helpful and very friendly. Roaming around the three-story house was extremely interesting. A library provided reading material along with games such as Parcheesi and the like which were available to take up to your rooms. Outside an Irish bar awaits about one block away and the hidden neighborhood market lies just down the street. We enjoyed every minute of our stay and would recommend Rachel's Dowry to anyone looking for a excellent time in Baltimore that is off the beaten track.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1rancher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robesonia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

WOW! Where do I even begin? Tish very sweetly welcomed us to the B&B. We got a great tour of the house. The fresh baked chocolate chips cookies were heavenly. The bedrooms were decorated very nicely. The B&B is in a great location. You can walk to many different places. The breakfast was delicious. We will for sure stay here again!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ktlee706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moline, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Spent several nights here and loved every minute of it! The hosts were wonderful and very helpful. The breakfasts were amazing (especially the scrapple!). The rooms were beautiful, very comfortable and extremely clean. We hardly moved the car as you can walk to many attractions in 15 minutes or less. If you want to be in the center of Baltimore, there is no reason to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mjhet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckley, West Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

We came to Baltimore for medical testing. We were pleasantly surprised and pleased to find this wonderful inn just two blocks from the University of Maryland Medical Center. We were able to walk to the hospital as well as the Inner Harbor, the Baltimore Ravens stadium, and the Baltimore Orioles stadium. Upon arriving, we were warmly greeted by Tish who made us feel immediately at home. The room was beautifully decorated and the breakfast was simply delicious. When we need to return to Baltimore for more testing, we are planning to stay at this bed and breakfast inn again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank webowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#3 of 66 in Baltimore
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast

Property: Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast
Address: 637 Washington Blvd, Baltimore, MD 21230-2210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Downtown B&B across the street from Oriole Park,close to Convention Center, M&T Stadium and the Inner Harbor. Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast is the premiere Bed and Breakfast in Baltimore, MD. The highest quality Lodging, Inn, Motel, Hotel, Bed Breakfast, Country Inn, Travel, Bed and Breakfasts & Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing