We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 12 Baltimore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We decided that we needed to escape reality for a bit, so we booked a night at Rachael's Dowry in Baltimore. Norman was absolutely great to deal with. I had let him know that we wouldn't be arriving until after 6pm, but that wasn't a problem.

When we arrived, he gave us a quick tour of the house and showed us to our room. I highly recommend the Ella Virginia Suite. A very comfortable King Size 4 poster bed, and of course the separate soaking tub in the bathroom make for great accomodations!

Norman had recommendations for places to eat, but we already had reservations at Gertrude's.

Next morning, we were treated to a good breakfast and told to just leave our car in the parking lot for the day if we wanted too. This worked out great as we walked from Rachael's all the way to Inner Harbor (maybe 1 mile), and then on to Fells Point, back to Inner Harbor, around to the expensive condos behind the Rusty Scupper and then back to Rachael's.

Rachael's would be a great place to stay if you are going to an Orioles game. You can almost throw a baseball from Rachael's parking lot and hit Camden Yard!

Room Tip: The Ella Virginia Suite has a soaking tub and walk in shower. And a king size 4 poster bed.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DougM1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (452)
There are newer reviews for Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 452 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast is only a block and a half from the Baltimore Convention Center & the large convention hotels so it is a perfect short walk from the quiet, serene brownstone neighborhood to the busy hustle of the city. The sidewalks are safe and there are local restaurants that have good menus nearby. I discovered that the B&B can host small conferences catered by the deli next door so that will definitely be part of my 2014 planning as I intend to return! FYI the decor and ambience is wonderful, the bedrooms comfortable and breakfasts delicious! I highly recommend Rachael's Dowry for location, comfort and cuisine.

Room Tip: I was on the street side but heard no traffic noise. Very thick walls that have withstood the ages!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank goddess2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed here along with some colleagues for a convention at the nearby Convention Center, which is within easy walking distance. Tish was our host for the 4 night stay, and was very friendly and helpful. The decor throughout the place was done in a tasteful historic manner, not overdone at all. I really enjoyed the small library/sitting room. Hope to be able to come back with my wife some time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Departure77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast was wonderful, each room has its on personality. Our room was so comfortable and the furnishings made you feel like you were back in the era when the home was built. Friday when we arrived the weather was cold and windy. Tish knew we were coming from Florida and not use to the cold so when we arrived she had a heated blanket for us and the fireplace on in our room. "What Service!" Each morning I looked forward to breakfast and was never disappointed. Tish was able to direct us to all of the sites we wanted to see and spoke about her city with pride, certainly an asset for the city of Baltimore. Without a doubt Rachael's Bed and Breakfast is a 5+ Star Resort. Marilynn & David

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marilynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast was a awesome place to begin our get away weekend in Baltimore MD. The accommodations we outstanding, beautiful furnishings, relaxing surroundings, and quaint setting made you feel like you were in a 5 star Resort. The staff were friendly and food excellent. I would highly recommend a stay at this very convenient beautiful B&B.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roberta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

After two nights at a chain hotel (for work) near the convention center in Baltimore, my boyfriend drove down to meet me and we stayed two nights at Rachael's Dowry--what a breath of fresh air! The house is a true gem and Tish was friendly and completely accommodating of dietary restrictions. The library is full of books on local architecture and history, gardening, you name it. The neighborhood is adorable (small brick rowhouses--the B&B is one of the larger buildings) and easy walking-distance to restaurants, shopping, and public transportation. The parking lot is a great convenience also.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S_M46531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We have just returned from our second memorable stay at Rachael's Dowry. This delightful B&B has been lovingly restored and decorated and deservedly earned its 2011 Baltimore Heritage Historic Preservation Reward. Situated downtown, it faces a series of row houses which transport you back to the time of its construction in 1796. Our first stay, on the third floor, was in the lovely Randolph Room, overlooking the back courtyard and its ancient heritage magnolia, with a small but serviceable bath. Our recent stay was in the second floor Letitia Mae Suite, with charming accommodations, a large newly renovated bathroom and a balcony overlooking the courtyard. Both rooms have fireplaces and hold family heirlooms. The library and front parlor are comfortably appointed and relaxing after a busy day. Breakfasts, which were tastefully presented, varied and sufficienty filling to keep us content until dinner, were served in an inviting dining room conducive to sharing experiences with fellow travellers. Tish and Norman are gracious and knowledgeable inn keepers with many suggestions for area dining, sights to see and places to visit. We found the location, with its available parking, to be but a short walk to the Convention Center where we attended the American Craft Council Show. It is also within walking distance of the Inner Harbor and public transportation. One will rarely find such a gem within an inner city. It could easily become a home away from home.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 2tidytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at Henderson's Wharf
#2 of 67 in Baltimore
990 reviews
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#3 of 67 in Baltimore
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast

Address: 637 Washington Blvd, Baltimore, MD 21230-2210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Baltimore
Price Range: $184 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Downtown B&B across the street from Oriole Park,close to Convention Center, M&T Stadium and the Inner Harbor. Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast is the premiere Bed and Breakfast in Baltimore, MD. The highest quality lodging or inn option. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing