We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated and overpriced but decent HH specials”
Review of 13.5 Wine Bar

13.5 Wine Bar
Ranked #306 of 2,049 Restaurants in Baltimore
Price range: $6 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner
Description: In Hampden section of city
baltimore, md
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overrated and overpriced but decent HH specials”
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Their food is skimpy and overpriced. More like tapas... Rocket to Venus down the street has a lot of the same beers for about $1 cheaper so we really only go for wine HH specials. They do $2 off every wine glass some nights and no corkage fees another night which saves you $8 / bottle

Also, if we drink a bottle of wine we try and sit in the back on the couches because the bar stools are uncomfortable. Service is always good.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank beanerbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    30
    15
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Posh but Pricey”
Reviewed September 9, 2011

13.5% is located in the funky and fun neighborhood of Hampden. The urban chic decor fits the neighborhood perfectly. The menu, posted outsided, had a lot of variety and many things that looked interesting so we decided to give it a try. From the beginning, the waiter stressed the small size of the portions, so much so that we became concerned that we would leave hungry. However, the prices were not "small plate" prices. The spinach salad (very good, but not a generous portion) was $8. We each got a salad and split a tomato & mozerrella pizza reasonably priced at $12 but really only enough for one and very light on the toppings. With our drinks (one tap beer and one 1/2 price glass of wine) the tab, with the tip, was over $40. As the waiter predicted, we left hungry.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wakefantwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great wine list and great small plates....”
Reviewed August 14, 2011

13.5% is a terrific place in Hampden, right on the main drag(and parking can be a drag too, but keep looking, you'll find something)...they have a lovely, well-priced wine list which also sells retail. Small plates include some killer pork belly sliders, the bread plate comes with olive oil and roasted garlic-yum, lots of heirloom tomatoes when in season, unusual cheese selection, and delicious small pizzas. You can get a great meal here, without spending a fortune. Service is usually very good...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hamiltonshabitat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“I love it here!”
Reviewed August 7, 2011

The staff is so friendly and the small plates are excellent to pair with a bottle of wine split between friends. I always leave with a smile and a good feeling! Great for a quiet night of conversation.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kburks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
“A little bit of everything... and each fabulous”
Reviewed May 17, 2011

A friend and I stopped by this lovely place to have a knosh and some wine. We practically ate our way through the tapas menu ordering no less than 7 dishes. Each one was absolutely perfect. Our wait staff was knowledgeable and easy (came when we needed, stayed away when we didn't) and made it a comfortable evening. We bought a bottle and did not rush. Soon the place was packed and feeling guilty about keeping the table, we departed, perfectly satiated and ready to return.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank avaloncliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 13.5 Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to 13.5 Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing