We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet Breakfast Spot @ Admiral Fell Inn” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tapas Adela - CLOSED

Tapas Adela
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Fells Point
Description:
Shenandoah Valley, VA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Quiet Breakfast Spot @ Admiral Fell Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

I'm not sure why the Admiral Fell Inn doesn't promote Tapas Adela as a good breakfast spot connected to the hotel but after much winding around and finally asking about it and getting an escort, we found it. Breakfast service was in a small charming dining room that was flooded with sunlight and was set with linens and nice china. Menu was about 8 or 10 choices but plenty of variety: oatmeal, French toast, eggs, etc. I had poached eggs which are hard to find these days, bacon, toast, and fried potatoes. All arrived hot and even the OJ was good. Husband had Belgium waffle and enjoyed it as well. Service was very good and I appreciated a quiet, tasty, unhurried breakfast, all at the generosity of a $25 gift certificate from the Admiral Fell Inn. As we walked though the lobby afterwards, a gentleman approached us asking if we knew of a breakfast spot since he could smell hot food but had no idea where it was. The hotel offers only a few muffins and coffee in the lobby, clearly not an exciting breakfast to the nose or taste buds.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tellitlikeitis2_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    45
    31
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A lovely spot for a light bite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

I come here often in the summer. Usually I'll be strolling Fell's Point, and if I see a table open outside I'll take it. The food is good, simple and many light choices at a fair price point. They are small portions, but comfortable for sharing between two people. Sitting outside provides some great people watching, as there's a lot of characters, and this is a busy street when the weather is nice weather. I haven't eaten inside so I can't say much to that effect.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CulinarySlut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

A place made for those who like to eat casual and lite. Food flavor, scallops, Spanish omelet, wonderful choice. Wine list average. Price appropriate. Service outstanding.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Radiante123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
220 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Almost Like Being in Spain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

We were a party of five on a week night for dinner. Four of us had been in Spain together a year ago and greatly enjoyed the tapas experience there. We have previously failed to recreate it here in Baltimore, despite the popularity of the format (Tapas Theatro, Pazo). Adela nailed it. The dishes were delicious and the atmosphere was warm and welcoming. The plates kept coming and each was a delight. The patatas brava (please excuse any spelling errors) were firm and not smothered in sauce. The eggplant was terrific as was the shrimp and the peppers. I would highly recommend the sampler appetizer with the chorizos and serrano ham. The sangria was also quite good. We sat by the front door near the bar area, which was perfect. We had a great view of people walking by and felt the energy from the groups at the bar. The service was attentive without being overbearing.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rugbyroadster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Average food and selection, excellent service, decent prices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

In their defense, Jose Garces does set the bar pretty high for tapas and after eating at Amada in Philly, it's hard not to judge others against Amada. That said, we had a pretty good meal, excellent service and the prices were extremely fair. We've been to one other tapas restaurant and our experience at both locations was a fairly extensive menu. Our party had no trouble finding dishes to our liking, but I would have liked to see some more challenging offerings from the chef. I do look forward to seeing what's on the menu the next time we are in town. Perhaps we'll give Adela another shot.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing