We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”

B&O American Brasserie
Ranked #50 of 2,026 Restaurants in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: West Baltimore
Transit: Charm City Circulator, Purple route: Fayette Street stop
Description: When you inherit a space as magical as the historic former Baltimore & Ohio Railroad headquarters, you've got to do it justice. We kept our building's most stunning architectural features intact while updating the space with contemporary design elements and nostalgic touches, like chairs and table lamps from original B&O dining cars. Our practices are distinctly 21st century, though, from selecting the best local produce at the farmer's market to serving cutting-edge craft cocktails to maintaining a steadfast commitment to sustainable business practices. If only train passengers from the early 1900s had it so good!
Dover DE
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Breakfast was ok. The waitress was very nice in the morning. The bartender in the evening seemed a little condescending.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank schwammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    143
    57
    23
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed in the Hotel Monaco and needed a meal after a long day of travel. It happened to be restaurant week in Baltimore and I got a great three course meal for $30. Dishes were creative and expertly prepared. I was very impressed. The bartender was friendly and attentive. The space has been nicely renovated. Very chic. I would definitely eat here again. It looked as though they had a good happy hour menu.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zelig15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDGarner, General Manager at B&O American Brasserie, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review of B&O American Brasserie! We are so very happy to learn that you had a great expereince with us! We hope that the next time you're in town that you join us again. Looking forward to serving you again soon! - Marcus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Speak easy vibe. Horrendous food and service.”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

This place is an utter disaster. Cold food. Slow service. Undercooked chicken. I'm sure only survives be because its attached to hotel. Would not return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsDALH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDGarner, General Manager at B&O American Brasserie, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. I am very sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your visit. We hope to learn from your critique and improve on things each and every day. We hope that you do in fact return so we can get the chance to turn your previous experience around. Thank you, once again, we hope to see you again in the near future. - Marcus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reisterstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
177 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“A great choice in Baltimore”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We had a great dinner tonight. I wouldn't say it was an outstanding experience because some dishes we tasted could use some more flavor but still it was a memorable experience.
Food was flavorful, plentiful and beautifully presented.
Service was friendly, attentive and very professional.
Ambiance is "old times" elegance and cozy with comfortable seats and just right lightning. The best thing you don't have to dress up too much in spite of it's Hotel Monaco restaurant. But some people who were under dressed ( tees and shorts were really a soar in the eye in that nice ambiance)
Value of the meal was outstanding (after 5 small plates, 2 beers, 2 desserts, cappuccino and port we were very full, and satisfied paying only $125 total). Highlights: Burrata, Grilled Wild Boar Terrine, Roasted Garlic Sausage, Yellow Tail Snapper Crudo and Strawberry Rhubarb Cobbler).
Parking: $5 valet which is very good for Sat. night around the area.
Finally we've found Baltimore restaurant which is close to New York, Philadelphia standards of New American, farm to table dining and very affordable. We recommend this restaurant highly and will be back soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pyatachok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDGarner, General Manager at B&O American Brasserie, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your review! It makes us very happy to learn that you enjoyed our food and service upon your visit! We truly appreciate the comments about our standards and eagerly anticiapte your next visit. Thank you so much! - Marcus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pekin, Illinois
Level Contributor
405 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Good food reasonable price.”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I had an excellent cold avocado/pea soup and salad for dinner. Reasonable price. Historic building on Charles Street not far from the aquarium.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pippadude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDGarner, General Manager at B&O American Brasserie, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your review! We hope you get the chance to return to B&O very soon! - Marcus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed B&O American Brasserie also viewed

 

Been to B&O American Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing