We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprised the heck out of us”
Review of Talara - CLOSED

Talara
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Latin, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Little Italy
Cross street: Fleet Street & President Street
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“surprised the heck out of us”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Family of 4 ate hear while staying at the homewood suites. Happy hour specials are great, even with kids. They liked the black bean quesadilla and ribs. Wife had the crab cake rellano which was amazing. Bacon wrapped scallop was great but small, chicken tostadas was good but not what i was expecting from a tostada, and Crab Tian was good. Everything we got was good,and a lot of it was on the happy hour special. (plus cheaper wine and beer!)

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank truprunbike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    57
    12
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Spicy Drinks and Delicious Ceviche”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We've eaten at Talara 5-6 times over the years and we're always delighted by the Fire & Ice ceviche. I like it with grill octopus. In our group of four we got to try some other things this time. It was all good--the avocado and crabmeat tian, ahi tuna tartare, Jimmy Roll. Entrees were also delicious and very large portions--I had the crabcake chile relleno, which was an inventive twist on a traditional relleno. Carne asada and braised short ribs were the other dishes on the table. Don't miss the spicy blood orange margarita with house infused jalapeno tequila. It has just the right kick.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WAOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa OK USA
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Expensive for what you get”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

I ate dinner here one night while staying at the Homewood Suites. The restaurant is actually in the same building. Started with the hummus and chips. The hummus was outstanding, but the chips were extremely greasy, to the point that I could only eat a few. They make them onsite, but they would be better off just getting a bag of tortilla or pita chips from the grocery store.

The kale salad was extremely tasty and nicely presented, but quite small, more like a side salad than an entree salad which is fine, but for the price charged, I expected a good size salad. I was a good thing I had had a couple of appetizers at a reception prior to coming for dinner.

I would eat here again to try a few different things. The food tasted fine (except for the chips).

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Feistyrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

The food is amazing! My husband does not usually care where we eat, but this is the one place he requests we return to over and over again! I've been here several times due to the many travelzoo vouchers I've bought. The prices may be a little steep without the vouchers but the service and food may make it worth it.
My favorites are the crab and avocado tian appetizer and the glazed sesame ribs appetizer and the crispy duck entree. For dessert, the apple turnover is good but extremely small in portion making it not worth it...barely enough for one person! The flaky pastry with the different ice cream flavors is wonderful! The ice cream flavors change all the time so each time you get this dessert it May have something new to try! The drinks are amazing too! Look for a voucher before you go! Cool atmosphere and location!

Helpful?
Thank lspellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great food, small portions.”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Went here with some friends, and had a great time. We tried a little bit of everything amongst our group (ceviche, cooked fish, steak, etc.), and were not disappointed by the quality or execution of any of the food. Our only complaint was that for the prices they are charging, which are relatively high, you don't get very much food for your money. Most of our group were still hungry at the end of the meal, despite spending approximately $25-30/person on just food. The drinks that we tried were all quite tasty and very well crafted; we highly recommend the cucumber gin mojito. We would definitely come back, but would hope for larger portion sizes.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talara also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing