We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Great Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Talara - CLOSED

Talara
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Little Italy
Cross street: Fleet Street & President Street
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
337 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Another Great Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

Talara is a bit too pricey for us to be a regular customers. In fact, both times we have eaten there we used a Travelzoo promotion. Last night I had some of the following:

- The Harbor Eastside Cocktail, made with Rye, Licor 43 and Kahlua. It was very strong an enjoyed.
- The Blood Orange Margarita. Wonderful.
- "Fire and Ice" seviche with tuna. Wonderful. Tastes just like its name. An explosion of wonderful, complementary flavors and temperatures.
- Sweet Potato seviche with salmon. Wonderful. Scooped up with sweet potato crisps.
- Avocado and Crabmeat Tian. Perhaps not enough crab, but delicious.
- Crabcake Chile Relleno. Perhaps a bit over-fried. Could have used a bit more queso sauce. Rice/bean mix could have had more seasoning. However, still a tasty dish.
- Short Ribs: Delicious
- Sopapillas w. three kinds of gelato. Wonderful. Could have used a couple more sopapillas (they are small and light).

Service was friendly, attentive and helpful. Atmosphere is casual and a bit noisy. Not a big place, so reservations recommended.

If I could afford it, I would eat here often. This was one of the tastiest meals that I can remember having in a while.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank westernfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    57
    12
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere & very good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

This place has a fun high energy feel to it and has an original, health conscious menu.
I went with a friend and shared tapas--avocado & crab (essentially guacamole w/ crab, which was great) served w/ tortilla chips, bistec (beef, caramelized onion, mushroom served on flatbread), ahi tuna sushi, chipotle ceviche (tuna w/ cilantro, tomato, chipotle served with dried plantains). These were all fantastic, with the exception of the sushi, which was so-so. The service was great, staff very friendly and we had a wonderful time at this fun little spot! The price was reasonable and appropriate for this type of food in this locale.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jjb8172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockeysville, Maryland
Level Contributor
171 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise all around!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Four of us ate here on Sunday, in the middle of the snowfall. We were a little worried as the waitress told us they were out of a number of things....BUT they still had a lot to offer. The food was very good! For appetizers, we shared four between us: Apple Cranberry Ceviche (Excellent!), Vegetarian Sushi, Shortribs and Kale Salad (all very good), also tried 4 different entrees: The Crab Relleno and Crispy Duck were excellent (especially the rice with coconut and nuts). The carne asada and arroz con pollo were good. We had one of each dessert - all were superb - Tres Leche Cake, Sopapilla (three kinds of fried dough with great gelato/sorbet) and the apple turnover. Prices are reasonable for the portion size and quality. They only have french press coffee (no capuccinno or american). A+ for service as well.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cdemet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ever had a foodgasm?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

My girlfriend and I first visited Talara this summer to experience their happy hour and haven't stopped raving about it since. The food was phenomenal and the drinks were delicious. Since we live in Woodbridge, Va, we can't eat here every week like we both agreed that we could easily do but it is well worth the drive. The seafood is so fresh and Chef Hamilton is adventurously creative with his entire menu from appetizers to desserts. He should seriously go on The Taste. We had dinner on a Travelzoo voucher this past weekend. Nothing short of amazing. A few honorable mentions: The Bistec appetizer is tender and flavorFULL. The Fire and Ice Ceviche with jumbo lump crab is an experience. The shrimp and polenta is so well balanced. You could try anything on the menu and never be disappointed. Can you say foodgasm? Thanks to our server, Stephanie, for being so knowledgeable, friendly and awesome :-)

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunstress4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great mussels and mojito's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Wanting a change of pace in dining the wife and I decided on Talara. It was a snowy day so the restaurant was not overly crowded. Our server Nora was very pleasant and made us feel right at home. She explained the different options on the menu and answered any questions we had. We started off with the mussels, a first for me and I was not disappointed. They were very tasty. Their mango mojito is a must try for mojito lovers like myself. Both our entrees were delicious. We even had the pleasure to meet Chef Jeff. He was very engaging and extended an invitation for one of his specialties when we visit again. One thing, during cold weather asked to be seated away from the revolving door. All in all excellent meals and service.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Garry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing